Purina Tidy Cats Pure Natural Clumping Litter - My Review

Two Long Hairs
Two Long Hairs | Source
Plus one Short Hair Equals Three.
Plus one Short Hair Equals Three. | Source
Three share one domed potty box.  Axel was curious about my picture taking.  He never did pee!
Three share one domed potty box. Axel was curious about my picture taking. He never did pee! | Source
Pure Nature Kitty Litter
Pure Nature Kitty Litter | Source
What Pure Nature promises.
What Pure Nature promises. | Source
What Pure Nature Kittly Litter looks like.  It's very light; nothing like traditional clumping litter.
What Pure Nature Kittly Litter looks like. It's very light; nothing like traditional clumping litter. | Source

My Rating of This Product as a Long-time Cat Owner

5 stars for Purina Tidy Cats Pure Nature Clumping Litter


A few days ago I was compelled to write a review of this product (which I never have before!) because it is so phenomenal. Then I remembered Hub Pages is having a product review contest this month. The time is now, there’s no better time than the present and procrastination leads to further procrastination, right? So here I am. I love this product!


I have three indoor cats. Two are long haired, one is short haired. Nevertheless, they all tinkle and poop. And they all share one potty box. I know….. you’re told to have one box per kid, but come on….. Anyway, I scoop the poop and clumps twice, if not three times a day because I love cats, but hate cat stink. Plus they won’t go in soiled potty boxes and I certainly don’t want them looking for other places in my meager 1,360 sq. ft. home to do their business!

Up until now, I have sworn by Tidy Cats Clumping Litter for multiple cats for years. However, lately I’ve noticed I have to replace 14 pounds of the 27 lb box of fresh litter every other week. Not only that, I start to smell cat urine before a week is up, when I normally clean the box and add fresh litter mixed with baking soda. That’s a no no. I pride myself on having a beautiful home that does not smell like cat. Yeah, I have to keep up on the clumps of hair my long hairs seem to think enhance my home’s décor, but cat stink is not allowed!

I clipped a coupon (yes, I’m an avid clipper!) for a new product marketed by Tidy Cats, Pure Nature. I thought I’d give it a try. The first time I brought my coupon with me to the grocery store, the package cost $11.99. I had a one dollar off coupon, and wasn’t convinced so I went with a less expensive brand and was Ok with it. I was a little trepidatious because cats (much like me) do not like change, but it worked out.

The next week I found myself needing to buy litter once again. So, again I carried my coupon – just in case the new product was on sale. It was: $9.99 for a 12 lb. bag. With my dollar off coupon, I paid $8.99 to test the product. The bag clearly states on the front that one twelve pound bag is the equivalent of thirty pounds of Tidy Cat’s clumping litter. For this starving writer, it was certainly worth a try!

Purina Tidy Cats Pure Nature is made of cedar, corn and pine and it clumps! It has only one downfall that I’ve seen: the litter left on the floor once the kitties emerge from the bathroom seems to be more apparent (maybe only because it doesn’t blend with the carpet in the room!). However, the shards will be less hard on the vacuum cleaner than little balls of clay. I keep carpet in my cat/laundry room so as to catch what my cats traipse out of the litter box before emerging into the rest of my house.

All in all, the fact that this litter has a great natural smell, absorbs odors like no other I’ve tried and my cat’s haven’t resisted the change, I will buy this product moving forward. Even when not on sale, the yield far extends anything else I’ve ever tried. I will save money in the long run, you don’t smell cat when you enter my house and we are all happy, happy, and happy!

Bottom line: I highly recommend this product to anyone who has indoor cats. Whether one or several, this product is worth every penny! Oh, yeah….. it’s also environmentally friendly – a huge plus for Ms. Greenjeans! Purina Tidy Cats Pure Nature. Make the change; it’ll do your shnoz good!



Would you be willing to try this product?

  • Absolutely! Just as I want comfy tp, my babies need a nice pee spot!
  • Yes, because I'm a redneck and I've run out of trees and elephant ears.
  • No, my cats don't use a litter box.
See results without voting

More by this Author


Comments 18 comments

billybuc profile image

billybuc 4 years ago from Olympia, WA

I couldn't resist! I had to vote for #2. LOL Great review; here's hoping you make some money with this one.

love you,

bill


bravewarrior profile image

bravewarrior 4 years ago from Central Florida Author

Bill, I don't think I'd expected anything less, but at least you 'fessed up to your vote! You've got me saying goodnight with a chuckle, my friend! Love Ya Lots!

Sha


shiningirisheyes profile image

shiningirisheyes 4 years ago from Upstate, New York

Shauna - First - your babies are beautiful and I could just reach out and hug them. My baby left for Rainbow Bridge about four months ago or I would give this try. It's just as well because my puppy would probably try to eat the litter, since she eats everything else! LOL

Love and fireflies - Beckie XO


bravewarrior profile image

bravewarrior 4 years ago from Central Florida Author

Beckie, so sorry to hear about your baby. I know how heartbreaking it is to lose a pet. I've heard of dogs eating litter, what's up with that?


fpherj48 profile image

fpherj48 4 years ago from Beautiful Upstate New York

Shauna.... I use a really great litter that I happen to come across at a big box store (warehouse-type ....that "buys out" stores that have closed up, gone bankrupt, etc)......They had a huge bin of 20 pound bags....and I grabbed it because the price was right. It turned out to be the best litter ever....I just threw the bag out 2 days ago and need to get more....and do you think I can remember the name of it? No.....I just know where to find it! Big Lots......don't know if you have Big Lots, but I love that store.

I would also like to announce my "NEW" baby!......He is a 4 month old, orange Tabby....named "Tommy-Two" (obviously because I had a Tommy already)......he's playful, loveable, smart and just as cute as can be....! I had to find one....I was so missing my Tommy and grieving terribly........Tommy-Two is healing my heart.


bravewarrior profile image

bravewarrior 4 years ago from Central Florida Author

Paula, as soon as you mentioned a buy-out box store, I knew it was Big Lots! Do you have your customer rewards card? I love that store!

Congrats on your new baby. Kittens are just the cutest things alive! I have an orange tabby who has adopted me, although I don't let him inside. He has a stubbed tail. My son says he lives on the next street over. Apparently, his stubbed tail is the result of some kids torturing him when he was a kitten; they cut off part of his tail! Can you imagine????? Anyway, someone took him in and neutered him. Thank God - I don't need him spraying my house! He's just the sweetest thing. He comes twice a day for food, sun and love and whips me with his stump in thanks. Only a cat lover would understand the whoopin' is cat for hug!

What is the brand you found?


alocsin profile image

alocsin 4 years ago from Orange County, CA

I'll forward your review to cat lovers I know. Voting this Up and Useful.


bravewarrior profile image

bravewarrior 4 years ago from Central Florida Author

Awesome, Alocsin. Thank you so much!!!


Eiddwen profile image

Eiddwen 3 years ago from Wales

Great share her Shauna I am handing it over to my daughter too.

Thanks for sharing and enjoy your day.

Eddy.


bravewarrior profile image

bravewarrior 3 years ago from Central Florida Author

Sure thing, Eddy! Thanx for passing it on.


AliciaC profile image

AliciaC 3 years ago from British Columbia, Canada

Thanks for this review, bravewarrior. I'm always on the lookout for the perfect cat litter. The type of litter that I buy is very important to my three cats - they have definite preferences! I'll get some of this litter and see what they think of it.


bravewarrior profile image

bravewarrior 3 years ago from Central Florida Author

Give it a shot! My 3 were perfectly fine with it.


Phoebe Pike 3 years ago

An awesome review of the product. I love your honesty.


bravewarrior profile image

bravewarrior 3 years ago from Central Florida Author

Thank you, Phoebe. The one downfall with this product is little bits of the litter get tracked through the house. Overall, it's a good product.


AlexTT 3 years ago

BraveWarrior-

Is Purina paying you money to write this review? I see no other reason why you'd give it such a high rating.

This stuff is terrible, and it's surprising that anyone would re-purchase this litter if they care for their cats.

This stuff is combined with some type of Glue, which is why it sticks so much to the Litter Boxes, and in addition, the Instructions warn against flushing the "natural" material down the toilet. You don't see that on true "natural" litter material.

The poor cat's paws are filled with this glue/needle combination, and then the cat begins to clean it's paws from this stuff. Do you know where the remains of this Glue/Needle combination ends up? Inside the cat, because it's eating this stuff when it's cleaning its paws.

Just wanted to warn people NOT to buy this low-grade litter. I highly doubt this stuff is as "natural" as their Marketing Department makes it out to be.

What you want to buy is the Pine pellet chips that turn very soft once they've been used-up inside the litter box. Plenty of companies are making these right now. They are soft, and do not stick to the cat's paws like needles, and sure as heck don't have Glue added, so they won't stick to the inside of the Litter box like this Purina litter material.

This is the first review that I have written in years, but I felt compelled enough by the people in my household who are really fed-up with this type of litter to have our opinion by hear. We bought 2 big bags of this from Stop and Shop, not knowing any better, and we cannot get rid of this fast enough.

We will only be going with the Pine cedar type of litter from this day on. Purina, I highly suggest your re-formulate your current material that you're using, and stick with things that work, like Pine pellets! There are bad reviews on this product on other sites, they are there for a reason. Please fix your product.

I hope this feedback helps people make a wiser decision. If you want the most "natural" litter for your cat right now, Pine is a great idea


bravewarrior profile image

bravewarrior 3 years ago from Central Florida Author

Alex, first off I never flush litter or the clumps down my toilets. Secondly, I was not aware of the 'glue' in this product. It certainly is not listed on the bag. Thirdly, after going thru an entire bag and having it tracked all over my house, I went back to regular clumping litter. At the time I tested this product, it seemed like a great option, but it does not hold up to the litter I used prior to trying it.

Thank you for your honesty, but you might want to curb your judgemental attitude in your future comments. You come off a tad offensive.


Eiddwen profile image

Eiddwen 3 years ago from Wales

A great read and now I am in the category of Cat Lady the subject of cat litter is very interesting and useful. Far more than it was when I first read this hub. Wonderful Shauna and enjoy your day.

Eddy.


bravewarrior profile image

bravewarrior 3 years ago from Central Florida Author

Welcome to the Cat Lady Club, Eddy!

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working