jump to last post 1-9 of 9 discussions (18 posts)

Problem with my cats

1. GoGranny profile image81
    GoGrannyposted 6 years ago

Hello fellow hubbers! I am at my wits end with my two cats, Bonnie and Clyde. They are 10 year old sister and brother. They were abandoned, and then rescued by a friend of mine as kittens. For 7 years they were the pets at our nursing home, but never really warmed up to the idea of interacting with the residents. So I brought them home 3 years ago. I grew up with many cats...they were always outdoor cats on the farm, but I loved them! So I am not a novice with them.
    Anyway, Bonnie and Clyde have driven me nuts since I brought them home. Primarily urinating everywhere despite having a huge litter box I made from a 24'x30'x24'storage bin. I have had to throw out two couches, 3 boxes of stored items, clothes, shoes and rugs. I have spent hundreds of dollars I really can't spare on cleaning products and replacing stuff. The vet says they are physically fine and thinks they are just nuisances! He suggests putting them down. No help there!
    I have had to close off my living room and bedroom just to protect them from these cats! I keep the box cleaned pretty good, bought toys for them to play with, and try to spend cuddly time with them daily. They get dry food and canned food and have fresh water. I can't seem to make them happy.
    I am feeling guilty because my mind says "get rid of them", but my heart says "keep trying" - nobody is going to want them and the SPCA will probably put them down. I don't know what to do......HELP!

1. 0
      QuincyDaWonderDogposted 6 years ago in reply to this

haves they been spayed and neutered? I heard dat unspayed and unnuetered pets will spray and mark places more dan ones who have been "fixed" neutral

GoGrannyposted 6 years ago in reply to this