jump to last post 1-2 of 2 discussions (4 posts)

How To Paint In Oil

1. micadeolu profile image68
    micadeoluposted 6 years ago

Hi all.
    I'm happy to write this hub today because I look back and appreciate the fact that I'm a good painter and art critic. Today I am going to give you some hints on how to paint creatively and ideally.

Yes before I start, let qiuckly introduce you to the concept of art I mean visual art.

Art is the ability, skill, talent, gift, etc you possess to express youself. This definition goes to the novice who wish to become professionals and art gurus. Like God, artist have the ability to convert their ideas to communicate to observers and all.

Art can be divided into three categories:
    1. Visual (Sculpture, graphics, animations, carving, textiles, drawings, illustrations, web designing, etc.)
    2. Performing (theater, singing, dancing, magic, etc.)
    3. Literal (writing, poetry, lyrics, scripting, etc.)

The visual art is further divided into two:
    a. Fine/creative art. (Sculpture, painting, carving, etc.)
    b. Applied/commercial art. (commercial graphics, textiles, ceramics, industrial designing, animations.)

Now to painting proper. Painting is the art of creating and interpreting impressions on any format with the use of colour pigment, oil, acrylic, or any other medium deemed fit for your expression.

Ther are certain things you need to consider before buying your art materials. The uniquness of your proposed artwork. Try and make you art piece something out of common. Some thing completely different from what you yourself have ever seing.

The second thing to consider is the durability. Think of buying a material that will last for many years. Art collectors and critics have a way of knowing which art piece will last for decades. They don't want to buy a master piece that will go to the bin in the next thirty years, but they will bid for a unique art piece that will almost see their tenth generation.