Godaddy Review: Based On Personal Experience

Godaddy logo
Godaddy logo

I purchased my first domain years ago from Godaddy because it was recommended by my boss as the time. I am so scared of internet scams and since you are not getting a tangible service you tend to want to stick with services recommended by people you know.

Over the last ten years or so I continued to use Godaddy for my domain purchases and later migrated to using their web builder and hosting. This review is my honest opinion and overview of their services.

I will try to break down their services into four sections:

  1. Their domain registration
  2. Their website builder
  3. Their hosting
  4. Support/customer service

Godaddy Domain Registration Review

This online registrar is probably the best known for registering a domain. You get a free email address with every domain you register and their domains are very competitive.

It is quite easy to edit your domain zone file and point your domain elsewhere. This way you can host with Godaddy while building your site with another such as Webs, Weebly, Wix, Zoho or any other free website builder or blog.

Godaddy also allows you to recover expired domains. When your domain subscription expires you are given a grace period in which to pay. If you missed your deadline you can recover the domain at a later date but the domain will not be live.

I recommend this service as I have had no problems with their domain registration so far.

What platform do you use to build your website?

See results without voting

Goddady Website Builder Review

You have three options for website builder which comes with free hosting and a free domain. They tend to offer a lot of free stuff to catch the customer but beware when checking out not to be fooled into adding features to your purchase or you may end up paying more than you bargain for.

The good thing is that you can delete stuff from your cart just before paying.

The website builder is drag and drop but tend to get messy if you are not careful. They do not offer login features for your website and their economy account only lets you add five publishable pages.

Though the finished product can look great the features are limited.

I do not recommend this service. If you need to build a website and you are low on cash, choose a free web builder such as Zoho, Yola, Webs, Weebly, Wordpress or Wix, then point your domain there. All you need to do this the services will provide.

Are you satisfied with your hosting provider?

See results without voting

Godaddy Hosting Review

Godaddy offers great hosting packages to suit the pocket. Their ultimate hosting even comes with a free SSL certificate, unlimited domain hosting and unlimited email addresses for your domain.

As I mentioned before they offer a lot of free stuff and the prices are really hard to beat. With the hosting comes the option of installing different kinds of scripts/applications for building your site. Some of these scripts include Drupal, Joomla,Wordpress and more. These three are the most popular and my personal favorites.

However, beware of purchasing Godaddy hosting as they tend to have frequent server errors. They go offline very often and you may not be able to access your site.

Adding domains to your hosting plan is a hassle as well. Though your ultimate plan says you can add unlimited domains your original domain will prevent your other domains from working seamlessly. I found that Hostgator and Justhost function better.

I do not recommend this service. You have several options for using these premium scripts to build your site. You can download the Drupal cPanel to your desktop and build your site yourself then purchase a hosting plan elsewhere, then upload your files through an Ftp client. Or purchase hosting that allows you to install a script so you can build your site live.

I recommend iPage, Hostgator and A2 (recommended by Drupal).


Godaddy Support/Customer Service Review

Customer service and support should be a major factor in purchasing any goods or service. If you are purchasing a service online where you are not getting something you can hold in your hand then it is of utmost importance that you have the best customer support so you in turn can offer great service.

Godaddy has the worst support services ever for any hosting company I have used. They do not reply to some of your query and when they do it's the wrong answer or something totally off topic.It seems to me that the people who offer support at Godaddy have no idea how to fix problems. Oftentimes it takes quite a number of queries and cancellation threats before getting the correct response.

I definitely do not recommend Godaddy for building or hosting your website.

More by this Author


Comments 18 comments

Mhatter99 profile image

Mhatter99 3 years ago from San Francisco

Thank you for this review.


Cardisa profile image

Cardisa 3 years ago from Jamaica Author

Hi Martin, nice to see you. Haven't been around much lately.


Wesman Todd Shaw profile image

Wesman Todd Shaw 3 years ago from Kaufman, Texas

Ah maybe someday I'll have the confidence required to try this stuff....as it is ...I'm just trying to type text into boxes, and hope I can say something someone will want to read :)


rasta1 profile image

rasta1 3 years ago from Jamaica

I have a good time with godaddy. I have never had a high traffic website with godaddy, so I can't really address their reliability. I have also a lamp setup that is a much better option than godaddy but it is not live. It is just for production. A live server at work/home is best.


Cardisa profile image

Cardisa 3 years ago from Jamaica Author

Hey Todd, I love building websites though I don't do it to make money, a lot of people don't know I can build a website fro scratch. I used to use Frontpage and Dreamweaver. I know a little HTML and I can edit a CSS. but since web building has become so easy with the scripts and templates that's what most people use.

I noticed you have a domain that you are not using. If you like I can build a site for you free of cost and point your domain to it. You can log in and add whatever you want to add to it to make your site come alive. Makes no sense paying for something you aint gonna use.


Cardisa profile image

Cardisa 3 years ago from Jamaica Author

Hey Rasta, Godaddy sucks! I have other people who totally agree with me. I was thinking of setting up my own server but I don't have the equipment for that and I don't want to use the computer that I work from.


nisargmehta profile image

nisargmehta 3 years ago from SURAT, Gujarat, India

Hey Cardisa, Thank you very much. I was planning to hire their services for my clients. After reading this hub, I am keen on continuing with my current provider as Server up time is 99.99% and other facilities are also there. Well price is a little higher but I look for my customers' satisfaction. Thanks again for your insightful review.


Cardisa profile image

Cardisa 3 years ago from Jamaica Author

Hello Nisargmahta, you are making the right decision. I am slowly migrating away from Godaddy. Gor your customers satisfaction there are other great options such as Hostgator, iPage (rated #1), Dreamhost, A2 hsoting and Bluehost.


MikeNV profile image

MikeNV 3 years ago from Henderson, NV

I only use them for Domain Registration. A better company for this is NameSilo which is also in Phoenix. You can't really place too little emphasis on 24/7 telephone support when you need it most. Many Registrars only offer email support and that's all fine until a real problem happens and you really wish you had a telephone number to call. GoDaddy plays a lot of tricks with upsells and pricing. It's hard at times to find coupons for renewal but they are out there. NameSilo plays no such games, same price all the time and no ridiculous charges for privacy. The primary reason I don't move everything to NameSilo is diversification in case something goes south at any given registrar. For hosting there is no way I'd use GoDaddy - very restrictive in what kind of scripts you can run and I do not like their custom panel.


Cardisa profile image

Cardisa 3 years ago from Jamaica Author

Hi Mike, I agree with you 100%. I regret being sucked into their schemes. They don't use the standard cPanel which makes it difficult to transfer your site easily to another host with cPanel. They have their own panel which is called Hosting Connection and it sucks. Contacted another host recommended by Drupal which has a great plan and does only hosting but transferring my site would need an FTP client. Had Godaddy used cPanel I could have transferred my site easily. I am going to move all my sites to another host and only buy domains from them.


MsDora profile image

MsDora 3 years ago from The Caribbean

Very thoughtful of you to share your experiences with GoDaddy. The reasons for your opinion are very clear. Voted Up.


Cardisa profile image

Cardisa 3 years ago from Jamaica Author

Thanks MsDora, Godaddy really suck, I really wanted to caution people.


moonlake profile image

moonlake 3 years ago from America

Thanks for all this information. I also built my own site years ago and now I'm having trouble with Blogger. Voted up.


Cardisa profile image

Cardisa 3 years ago from Jamaica Author

Hi Moonlake. Sorry to hear that you are having trouble with blogger. Hope it gets resolved.


rebeccamealey profile image

rebeccamealey 2 years ago from Northeastern Georgia, USA

Thanks for this review. It is always good to hear from someone who has experience with a service like this!


Cardisa profile image

Cardisa 2 years ago from Jamaica Author

Thanks Rebecca. I had to warn people. A lot of persons are thinking of starting their own websites so it's good they know what godaddy offers. :)


KenDeanAgudo profile image

KenDeanAgudo 2 years ago from Tiwi, Philippines

Godaddy is my webhosting company too on my very first site and I just got my 1 year subscription for only $2 which is pretty affordable. I used coupons. Great Review!


Cardisa profile image

Cardisa 2 years ago from Jamaica Author

Hi Ken, that's great! I really hope Godaddy works for you. It didn't work for me but I do like purchasing their domains.

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working