How to become an undercover cop?
If you are looking to become an undercover cop, or a narcotics officer, there are a few things, such as a series of exams that you must complete and pass before you can apply for this kind of position. You see, before you can apply for a narcotics officer position, you must have spent some time on the streets as a patrol officer. Some departments require an absolute minimum of at least 2 years of street experience before you can even attempt an interview to become and undercover police officer, or a narcotics officer / detective. Larger departments however, are more lenient on the time of service required, and only require around one year of experience on the streets, before this is an available avenue for police officers to take.
There are many people out there that believe it is possible to go straight into the drug unit, or narcotics division of a police agency right after the academy, and right after getting hired. This is unfortunately not the case. There are quite a few different functions to lean while performing police work, and if you jump straight into the drug or narcotics unit right after the academy, you will miss out on the very training that can, and will keep you alive. The police department will want to know if you are any good, and will monitor your progress and work ethic while you are on patrol after the first year or two after graduating the police academy. After this time frame, you will be able to apply for a drug or narcotics officer position, so make sure you keep your nose clean and push yourself and show that you are worth it and are also ready to take on this sort of a role.
Below is a list that has been compiled for you of things that you need to complete and pass before you you can attain the rank of an undercover cop or a narcotics officer / detective. I should also mention that the time that you are required to spend on patrol or on the streets usually varies from department to department, but on average it is around 2-3 years for a medium sized police department, and around 1 year for a larger sized department.
- You must pass all departmental approved exams, such as the polygraph and psychological tests.
- You must pass the written entrance exam.
- You must pass the oral board interview.
- You must pass the police training academy.
- You must complete at least 1-2 years on patrol without any negative write ups or infractions.
- Once you've completed, and passed, all department approved exams that have been listed above, you should be able to apply for the drug unit.
- Study, study and study. You will need to prove to your department that you are worth the expense and capable of becoming an undercover narcotics officer. Learn about drugs, the signs, the symptoms, what they can do and what they are capable of when consumed, injected, snorted, or inhaled by individuals.
- Good luck!
I am based out of Las Vegas, Nevada. There are some useful things you should know, that are relatively the same throughout the country, about narcotics and the law.
The impact for a drug conviction charge can be severe, for misdemeanor and even felony offenses in the state of Nevada. With the widespread use of background checks, a conviction can shut many doors, and cause the loss of many, many employment opportunities in your future. Certain fields might be especially thorough when it comes to background checks, which will cause disqualification of individuals with drug convictions. This includes many different health care fields, law enforcement agencies and other local or federal government bodies. Given what is at stake, it is vitally important to understand various drug laws, especially if you are looking to become a narcotics detective in the future, in addition, even some of the best lawyers cannot alleviate a drug charge off of your background and these can be especially hard to fight in court due to their nature.
Currently, Nevada law severely punishes individuals for the possession, manufacturing, cultivation and trafficking of illegal drugs and narcotics. Commonly used drugs in this list include narcotics such as cocaine, heroin, black tar heroin, opium, LSD, ecstasy and a wide variety of other illegal narcotics. Of Nevada law, and the chapter 453 Controlled Substance Act, defines the schedule of drugs, offenses and penalties of the state, some of the defined offenses are, but not limited to the following; (NRS - Nevada Revised Statute)
- NRS - 453.316 - Maintaining a place for unlawful sale, gift or use of a controlled substance.
- NRS - 453.321 - Offer, attempted offer, or commission of unauthorized acts relating to controlled substances.
- NRS - 453.222 - Distribution of controlled substances, use of unauthorized registration number, and possession of signed, or blank prescription forms.
- NRS - 453.331 - Second or subsequent offense for selling a controlled substance to a minor.
- NRS - 453.333 - Unlawful possession, not for purpose of sale.
- NRS - 453.336 - Unlawful possession for purpose of sale of Flunitrazepam (Rohypnol), Gamma-Hydroxybutyrate (GHB), and schedule I or II substances.
- NRS - 453.337 - Unlawful Posession or sale of schedule III, IV, or V substances.
- NRS - 453.338 - Trafficking of or in controlled substances; Rohypnol, GHB, and schedule I substances, not including marijuana.
- NRS - 453.3385 - Marijuana trafficking
The penalties for drug crimes here in the state of Nevada can vary, depending on the specific criminal offense, the circumstances of the arrest that had been made, and the amount of illegal drugs involved, as well as previous criminal history of the alleged offender, and the strength of the defense or prosecution's case. Under Nevada's Controlled Substances Act, the most common offenses may be punished as follows;
Drug Possession(s), Not For Sale
- Clаѕѕ E Fеlоnу - 1ѕt оr 2nd оffеnѕе (Schedule I, II, III, оr IV) - 1 and 4 уеаrѕ іn ѕtаtе рrіѕоn оr рrоbаtіоn and / or uр tо $5,000 іn fіnеѕ.
- Clаѕѕ D Fеlоnу - 3rd оr subsequent оffеnѕе (Schedule I, II, III, оr IV) - Between 1 and 4 уеаrѕ іn ѕtаtе рrіѕоn and / or uр tо $5,000 іn fіnеѕ.
- Clаѕѕ E Fеlоnу - 1ѕt оffеnѕе (Schedule V) - Between 1 and 4 уеаrѕ іn рrіѕоn оr рrоbаtіоn and / or fіnеѕ uр tо $5,000.
- Clаѕѕ D Fеlоnу - 2nd оr subsequent оffеnѕе (Schedule V) - 1 and 4 уеаrѕ іn Nеvаdа ѕtаtе рrіѕоn and / or uр tо $5,000 іn fіnеѕ.
The unlawful possession of Schedule I or II Drugs, Rohypnol, or GHB
- Class D fеlоnу - 1st offense - 1 tо 4 уеаrѕ іn ѕtаtе рrіѕоn and / or uр tо $5,000 іn fіnеѕ.
- Class C fеlоnу - 2nd offense - Between 1 and 4 nоn-рrоbаtіоnаl уеаrѕ іn Nеvаdа ѕtаtе рrіѕоn and / or uр tо $10,000 оf fіnеѕ.
- Class B fеlоnу - 3rd оr subsequent оffеnѕе - Punishable bу 3 tо 15 nоn-рrоbаtіоnаl уеаrѕ іn ѕtаtе рrіѕоn and / or а fіnе оf uр tо $20,000 fоr еасh оffеnѕе.
Unlawful Pоѕѕеѕѕіоn fоr Sаlе оf Schedule III, IV, оr V Drugѕ
- Class D fеlоnу - 1ѕt and 2nd оffеnѕе - Punishable bу 1 tо 4 nоn-рrоbаtіоnаl уеаrѕ іn ѕtаtе рrіѕоn and / or uр tо $10,000 іn fіnеѕ.
- Class C fеlоnу - 3rd оr subsequent offense - Cаn bе punished bу 1 tо 5 nоn-рrоbаtіоnаl уеаrѕ іn Nеvаdа ѕtаtе рrіѕоn and / or uр tо $10,000 іn fіnеѕ.
Drug Trafficking (Schedule I)
- Class B Fеlоnу - (Between 4 and 14 grаmѕ) - Punіѕhаblе bу 1 tо 6 nоn-рrоbаtіоnаl (mandatory рrіѕоn) уеаrѕ іn Nеvаdа Stаtе Prіѕоn and / or uр tо $50,000 іn fіnеѕ.
- Class B Fеlоnу - (Between 14 and 28 grаmѕ) - Punіѕhаblе bу 2 tо 15 nоn-рrоbаtіоnаl (mandatory рrіѕоn) уеаrѕ іn Nеvаdа Stаtе Prіѕоn and / or uр tо $100,000 іn fіnеѕ.
- Class A Fеlоnу - (28 grаmѕ оr mоrе) - Punіѕhаblе bу 25 nоn-рrоbаtіоnаl (mandatory prіѕоn) уеаrѕ tо lіfе and / or up to $500,000 in fines.
Nevada, however, has surprisingly moved to a certain level of acceptance regarding various drugs such as marijuana, along with many other states throughout the country. Nevada decriminalized the use of medical marijuana in 2001, when 65% of the states voters moved to amend the state's constitution, in order to recognize its legitimate use in a medical capacity. However, to remain in compliance with the state's laws, medical marijuana users must have documented permission from a physician in order to use, and be in possession of medical marijuana.
Once registered with the Nevada Department of Health and Human Services: The State Health Division, the individual in possession of permission from a physician, can use, possess and grow marijuana to a certain extent. (up to one ounce of possession at any given time, and up to 7 cultivated marijuana plants, of which, only 3 can be matured.) Side Note; The state of Nevada has not yet decriminalized the use of marijuana for the general population like states such as California, Connecticut, and Mississippi, which have decriminalized the use of marijuana for the general public.
Currently, there are several very large legal battles going on regarding the medical marijuana laws and how people are able to obtain medical marijuana. As the law stands at current, a person must produce their own medical marijuana to legally obtain medical marijuana. A person cannot get it from a centralized location like a medical marijuana dispensary.
Additionally, even though the State of Nevada has approved the use of medical marijuana, the Federal Government has not, and is starting to invoke Federal Law, against those people using and growing medical marijuana. Be aware that even though you might be following State laws, you may be arrested and convicted for violating Federal Laws.
Possession of marijuana by a non-approved medical user is still a serious, and criminal offense. Under the Nevada's Controlled Substance Act; Possession of non-medical marijuana can result in the following punishments;
Pоѕѕеѕѕіоn оf One (1) Ounce оr Lеѕѕ оf Mаrіјuаnа
- Mіѕdеmеаnоr - 1st offense - Fіnе uр tо $600 оr drug аbuѕе treatment examination.
- Mіѕdеmеаnоr - 2nd offense - Fіnе uр tо $1000 оr drug treatment / rehabilitation рrоgrаm.
- Gross mіѕdеmеаnоr - 3rd offense - Uр tо 1 уеаr іn county or city јаіl and / or uр tо $2000 іn fіnеѕ.
- Class E Felony - 4th оr subsequent offеnѕе - Between 1 and 4 уеаrѕ іn ѕtаtе рrіѕоn оr рrоbаtіоn and / or up to $5000 in fines.
Pleading guilty to a drug crime does not necessarily always mean that the defendant will receive a lighter or less harsh sentence. Many individuals are facing this question, and might also find it beneficial to retain an attorney from the movement arrest, regardless of their state of experience; Prosecution and law enforcement officials do not have the best interests of the accused in mind, details may also be over-looked in their pursuit of justice and a drug free environment / world.
More by this Author
Find out what Pre-Workouts are, how they work, what they are made of, and which ones are the best, and healthiest to take!
Loss Prevention & Retail theft - What is Retail Loss Prevention? Who are Loss Prevention Agents & what do they do?
Lose 20-30 pounds in two months on this low-carbohydrate diet. This diet is not for everyone! Consult your physician first. With will power and discipline, you will lose weight fast by cutting carbs.
No comments yet.