The Most Common Guests' Complaints in a Hotel

Though the guest’s complaint may be diverse in forms and kinds, let me list down some of the common complaints made by the guest according to my own experience. Taking aside with the guest, they should not be blamed for complaining because they pay as they are charged. And if the hotel facilities and services do not meet their expectation, more or less we it is possible to expect that they will complain. In the times like these, the receptionists, as you all know, are the the first staffs that will handle or solve the complaints.

Whether in a hotel room or at the dining hall, they find unsatisfactory experiences they will go directly go to the receptionist and start complains. To list the most common complaints in the hotel; let me begin from the check in stage.

Upon the check in, though they normally do not speak out but if the hotel is too far from the airport or less than their expectation they will not be smiling. The causes can be the comparison between the room rate of the hotel and the structure of the hotel. They pay almost the same rate as five stars hotel but if the hotel reaches only the standard of four stars, they complain.

In the hotel room, when the air-conditioner is not on beforehand and they enter the room, they complain.

If the prices of items and services served in the hotel are higher than their expectation, they complain. So as a receptionist, one must be ready to explain the reason why it is expensive with confidence. One day when I was at the Front Office desk, a guest from Malaysia came and asked me if you could ring his family back in Malaysia. But he didn’t ask me before he rang. So he called for a couple of minutes. Then the bill was USD 3. He was surprised. Because he thought it was too expensive. I tried my best to explain the reason why it was. He then understood.

When the room service didn’t arrive within an expected time, they complain. If the service delays, you ring immediately the room service department. When they could not have their own privacy, they complain. They came to stay for business or leisure, they need privacy. Avoid making noise in the hotel as much as possible.

When their food is not as good as they expect, they complain. Based on my experience food related complaint is the most common. Though it is not your problem as a receptionist about food, you are still confronted by the guest.

When the laundry is not available at their needing time, they complain. Make sure that you update with your laundry department every now and then.

When they feel that they are ignored, they complain. One day in our hotel, we arranged to serve breakfast at pool side. At that time, we had about 60 in house guests. Among the 60, 40 of them were a French group. So the next morning, when the time for breakfast turned, F&B department and water/waitress are busy with serving the group of French Tourists. Unfortunately American two young ladies were intentionally ignored to serve them breakfast. Then the lady, tears in her eyes, was walking in quickly in front of the Front office and began to complain. The complaint was later resolved. But I would like to mention this just to show that being ignorant to an individual guest can cause complaint. However the bottom line is that whatever complaint it may come, always provide them with another option. Do not just say “Sorry, Sir or Madam.”

More by this Author


Comments 15 comments

Alexander Pease profile image

Alexander Pease 5 years ago from Maine

Great hub. I would not want to hear that many complaints, lol. It sounds as though the species "guest" is a finicky and complex creature.


twobmad profile image

twobmad 5 years ago from Myanmar(Burma) Author

Lol.. Alexander Pease.. you are making sense here by your clever comment. Honestly, guests are not really lovely sometimes...... two modes of complaints by them .... silent complaints and verbal complaints.. :D


Esta 5 years ago

I am a receptionist and thank you very much for this insight.


twobmad profile image

twobmad 5 years ago from Myanmar(Burma) Author

Esta.. Thank you for your wonderful comment... no receptionist at Hotel is perfect, we continue to learn as we encounter different types of Guests. God luck to your career.


thesailor profile image

thesailor 5 years ago from Seven Seas

I'll take your insights in mind. Thank you very much!


twobmad profile image

twobmad 5 years ago from Myanmar(Burma) Author

Thank you very much again. I am still trying to hard to write all those my experiences in words, but I hope someday I will be able to write as smooth as you are. Salamat po kuya.


manmohan 5 years ago

thanks for the information it is really helpful for me..


twobmad profile image

twobmad 5 years ago from Myanmar(Burma) Author

Thank you for the comment Manmohan. I am glad that you find it helpful. I did not do technical research but those are based on my personal experience.


nelz 4 years ago

Definitely guests will complaint maybe because they were not satisfied of the service rendered by the staff in a certain lodging property; but then again there are some guests who were just have that complaint for the reason that to avoid the payment; then the management will give some complimentaries in order to wave that complaint.....Remember the word of mouth publicity!!!


ros 4 years ago

its my pleasure of listening the guest complaints...however sometimes, i didn't find the solutions for it, so thank for this short explaination..


twobmad profile image

twobmad 4 years ago from Myanmar(Burma) Author

@Nelz - Thank you for your contribution. As you said we as the Hotel also must be clever in handling the guests' complaints coz some guests are so dirty too. That also in somehow approves that there is no static description in handling the complaints. It is a learning process.


twobmad profile image

twobmad 4 years ago from Myanmar(Burma) Author

@Ros. - I'm so glad that you find this my simply put hub gives you some ideas. :D


David-chow 4 years ago

Thx god, I found such a good website. Thank you for your sharing. yes, of course, complaint makes us get better. For a green hand, we have to learn ,learn how to say with the guest, learn how to solve the problems. And we also have to learn THE WAY TO THINK.


ALLIE360 3 years ago

THE SAGUARO HOTEL IN SCOTTSDALE ARIZONA!

THIS SPECIFIC HOTEL IS AWEFUL!

I HAD A COMPLAINT REGARDING 2 EMPLOYEES AT THE POOL AREA. I EXPRESSED MY CONCERN "THEY WERE PERVERTS"

THEY SMIRKED AND LAUGHED TO EACH OTHER, WHEN I ASKED TO SPEAK TO A SUPERVISOR OR MANAGER. THE BALD FAT ONE (THEY DID NOT HAVE NAME BADGE ON) STATED " THAT THE OTHER ONE WAS THE CHIEF DIRECTOR AND LAUGHED, THE OTHER GUY, SO CALL CHIEF DIRECTOR SMIRK AT THE BALD GUY". I AM SO IRRITATED, THIS IS UNACCEPTABLE! I AM REPULSED, ANNOYED! THEY WALKED AWAY FROM ME AS IF I WAS NOTHING!

I INFORMED THE OTHER PARTIES TO TRY TO COVER UP AND THAT THE HOTEL STAFF WAS PERVERTS! NOT ALL BUT THE

BALD FAT ONE AND THE SO CALL DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS.

I THEN WENT TO THE FRONT DESK, ASKED FOR FURTHER INFORMATION REGARDING THE PERVERTS. THE FRONT DESK UNPROFESSIONAL, RELUCTANT TO SPEAK, INADEQUATE ATTITUDE, I ASKED NAME OF THE INDIVIDUALS SHE ONLY GAVE ME A NICK NAME "TIM" FOR THE CHIEF DIRECTOR OF OPERATION (WHAT IS THAT ANYWAY?) NOT A FULL NAME IS IT TIMOTHY I NEED A LAST NAME!!!! I THEN ASKED FOR SOMEONE HIGHER THEN HIM AND HER RESPOND WAS:

I CAN TRY TO BE APOLOGETIC AND TRY TO ACCOMMODATE YOU, AS FAR AS OUR GENERAL MANAGER THEY ALL BUDDIES! HOW DO YOU THINK "TIM" AND ALL OF THEM GOT THEIR JOBS!!!!

SHE WASN'T TO PLEASANT BUT AT LEAST HONEST!

OUTRAGES!!!!!! I WAS THROUGH!!! NEVER AGAIN!!!!!


anny 20 months ago

Thank you! I have to deal with guest everyday...

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working