jump to last post 1-4 of 4 discussions (5 posts)

What should I Do?

1. PureRomanceVickyG profile image61
    PureRomanceVickyGposted 4 years ago

Im New to PR. I have yet to book a party or place an order. I'm getting a little discouraged because, the people who said they would book a party, or simply order from me they have nothing but excuses! Im in the Metro Detroit surrounding area looking to book or simply place orders. I would love for you to give me any advice on running this PR business.

1. Dale Hyde profile image87
      Dale Hydeposted 4 years ago in reply to this

I would suggest posting on local websites and with local organizations that work with promoting such things. One idea comes to mind is Craigslist.

2. WryLilt profile image88
    WryLiltposted 4 years ago

Lead generation is hard work. Most people quit the party planning business within 6 months. Unless you're willing to put in hundreds of hours at the start, and avoid relying on friends for sales, you'll generally fail.

3. Robert Erich profile image90
    Robert Erichposted 4 years ago

Question: why should I pay you to organize a party for me?

What experience do you have, what benefits can you provide me with, and how will this save me time or money?

This is why you are having trouble (I'm guessing). Most people have friends who will plan an event for free (or a business professional can have her secretary do it). The reason people use an event planner is because they have networks, discounts, and other things that they can offer the customer.

If I desperately want my party to be in the most happening place in town, and you can get me that venue, then I'll use you. However, if I am simply paying you to make phone calls and set up arrangements (which I can do a lot of from my personal computer and cell), you have better save me time and money.