jump to last post 1-11 of 11 discussions (16 posts)

Public speaking 101

1. nikki1 profile image60
    nikki1posted 7 years ago

What are your thoughts..

1. JulietduPreez profile image89
      JulietduPreezposted 7 years ago in reply to this

Speak from the heart.

2. 0
      Crazdwriterposted 7 years ago in reply to this

I hate it and do my best to avoid it...I hated taking speech class because I hate talking to adults and ppl my age. I do much better talking to kids hence why I am a preschool teacher

2. BrianFanslau profile image60
    BrianFanslauposted 7 years ago

Confidence. Thinking on Your Feet. Commanding the Knowledge

1. nikki1 profile image60
      nikki1posted 7 years ago in reply to this

wow, got my attention.. 80

3. Luciendasky profile image77
    Luciendaskyposted 7 years ago

Be concise and clear and know your subject

1. 0
      mtsi1098posted 7 years ago in reply to this

I agree...and know the audience

4. michelle.dragon99 profile image59
    michelle.dragon99posted 7 years ago

organize your facts;mentioned it step by step, don't confused your guest...eye contact and style of conducting the presentation also important.....good luck:)

5. jiberish profile image80
    jiberishposted 7 years ago

Public speaking is an art.  You have to dress the part, move your eyes and hand, make sure to look around the room, etc.  Choose your words, use props if needed, rehearse your speech, so not to sound like you're reading, know when to pause..I love public speaking.

6. Jane@CM profile image61
    Jane@CMposted 7 years ago

Know your facts, speak clearly, look directly into the audience, be well organized.  Avoid words like, um, ah, and - those words alone put me on alert that the person speaking is either very nervous or has no clue what they are going to talk about.  If you have a chance prior to speaking, go up to the podium and get comfortable with your surrounding and test the microphone.  The microphone is your friend.

7. Misha profile image74