jump to last post 1-2 of 2 discussions (4 posts)

I want to move to Maine...

1. katyschirard profile image60
    katyschirardposted 6 years ago

I am itching to move to Maine and start a nice, quiet, beautiful life. I don't plan on building a family ANY time soon, if ever, so I wasn't exactly sure where to post this topic. I want to own my own business, and I figure it is an "investment" in my "future" so there you go. big_smile

I want to move to Maine, near the coast. I am a musician and painter, and I figure I want to own my own business selling my art and performing in the communities surrounding where I live, depending on whether or not they have coffee shops I guess. I understand that it will not be a luxurious life, and that I may not ever make ends meet, and that is fine with me. I just want to be able to make and do what I want, and enjoy life.

I am getting ready to start college, and I assume that getting a business degree will help me with my endeavour of owning my own business. Correct me if I am wrong, I really am completely lost concerning what to do in college. I was going to go to school for singing, and songwriting/arrangement, but Berklee College of Music is way too damn expensive, so I am only gonna go for this summer. Then I am coming back here to Naples Fl and going to FGCU.

Basically I want to know if anyone has followed there dream, particularly one similar to mine (moving to a place, being creative, making enough of a profit to live fairly comfortably, no family). If anyone has advice, concerning the college decision or the Maine decision, that'd be great.

1. Rochelle Frank profile image90
      Rochelle Frankposted 6 years ago in reply to this

We have a hubber who specializes in what jobs are where. This is the one she wrote about Maine.
      Dont know if there have been changes since it was written, but she  would probably answer a question if you comment on this hub.