jump to last post 1-8 of 8 discussions (19 posts)

Would you work overseas?

1. LeanMan profile image82
    LeanManposted 6 years ago

I am originally from the UK, but I have been working now in Saudi Arabia for the last three years. The reasons being that I had been wiped out financially by ex-wives who took property etc. Being early forties I only have so much time to build a nest egg for my future therefore Saudi Arabia with good wages and zero tax seemed like a good option despite the issues with working here..
    I have limited communication with my family being here and it wrecked a long term relationship within a few months - although I am now in a much healthier one..

But would you do it? If not why not?

1. rebekahELLE profile image91
      rebekahELLEposted 6 years ago in reply to this

if it was the right time, job and country, yes, I would. but I'm sure I would want to come back at some point, not a permanent move. I think it would be fascinating to work with some of the educational outreach programs in other countries or a teaching position of the English language.

1. LeanMan profile image82
        LeanManposted 6 years ago in reply to this

I really don't want to go back to UK, rather keep moving and try more places..

Teaching is great fun but heartbreaking in some countries, I am not a teacher but have been into a couple of schools in parts of africa and met the children just for fun...

2. Sab Oh profile image61
    Sab Ohposted 6 years ago

It can be a great experience.

3. Princessa profile image85
    Princessaposted 6 years ago

I have done it -in a way- although I moved first and found the job after.