jump to last post 1-5 of 5 discussions (8 posts)

Have over 350 articles written. Can I use these on Hub?

1. professorjeff profile image60
    professorjeffposted 4 years ago

I've been writing for some time and have over 350 articles written. It would be a shame and a waste of time to write them all over again to avoid plagiarizer myself. What's your suggestion? Thanks.

1. Sherry Hewins profile image94
      Sherry Hewinsposted 4 years ago in reply to this

I'm no expert, but as I understand it, if they are posted elsewhere on the internet, you will have to take them down and wait for them to be de-indexed before you can publish them on HubPages. If they are not published on the internet, and you are the true owner of them, it's OK to post them on HubPages.

2. Daughter Of Maat profile image98
    Daughter Of Maatposted 4 years ago

You may not have a choice. if you've already published them elsewhere, it's against the HP TOS to publish them here. Plus the duplicate filter will catch them. You're only choice is to rewrite them, unpublish them or write knew ones. sad

The other thing you could do would be to write "sub articles." Write more articles on the same subject, but a different or more detailed aspect of the subject.

professorjeffposted 4 years ago in reply to this

Figured as much. Thanks much.

3. 60
    nsumayaposted 4 years ago

I'm facing same delima. Anyway, I'll just write new ones.

4. Greekgeek profile image95
    Greekgeekposted 4 years ago

Google penalizes sites that have lots of content found elsewhere. And if it's your own content, posting it on multiple sites could cause Google to downrank it so even the original gets less traffic.

Hence Hubpages' TOS. Most reputable publishing sites have added a "no duplicate content" rule lately to avoid getting dinged by Google.