jump to last post 1-3 of 3 discussions (11 posts)

Over promotional putting profile as source of own images on hubs?

1. luisj305 profile image86
    luisj305posted 4 years ago

I have never done it before but on my latest hub I attributed my own images with a link to my profile page. Will this benefit or will it hurt me?  I know they are counted towards the overly promotional links on a hub so I thought I should get a few opinions.

Should I just leave image source blank if they are my own pictures or put something else besides a link to my profile page?

1. profile image0
      Motown2Chitownposted 4 years ago in reply to this

I can't say for sure that it will cause you any trouble, but if you're concerned, maybe you could put your name in the 'Source Name' field rather than linking to your profile page.  smile

luisj305posted 4 years ago in reply to this

Well, I guess I won't be sure if it causes a negative effect unless I leave it like that for a while and see the results. I have yet to run into someone who has done it this way, so I think I will do just that. I'll check on the status within a couple of weeks and if it's underperforming, I will consider the profile linking as the reason. Then I will take your advice, and change it around. Thanks Motown2Chitown.

1. profile image0

My pleasure.  You'll get better advice from others, though, because the majority of the photos I use aren't mine.  Legal...lol  Just not mine.

2. diyomarpandan profile image60
      diyomarpandanposted 4 years ago in reply to this

Deleted

I like linking to related hubs by other authors within my own hubs. Since I add my tracker it helps us both out. Not wanting to be over promotional I keep it at 1 or 2 max.
        Thanks for the correction, Diyomarpandan. This week at least 20 hubbers will get an inbound link from me.

2. Mark Ewbie profile image82
    Mark Ewbieposted 4 years ago