jump to last post 1-4 of 4 discussions (10 posts)

Why is stolen work showing up in Google search but not the original?

1. christin53 profile image80
    christin53posted 4 years ago

I've just taken a snippet of one of my poems and done a Google search. One result came up which was the whole poem someone has copied and posted on facebook. This poetry hub has never been idle and used to get good traffic until mid September. So I am baffled as to why a copied version shows up and my original poem doesn't show up at all.It's no wonder my traffic has slumped badly I'm now wondering if any of my hubs will show up in a Google search.

1. tommen profile image83
      tommenposted 4 years ago in reply to this

As I understand it, Google knows which one is the original and will definitely credit you for it.How familiar are you with how Google works when they index sites?

1. christin53 profile image80
        christin53posted 3 years ago in reply to this

Well I am still learning how Google works and I've just done another search,this time my work does show up but only through various links I've submitted. The actual hub itself is not in the results but other poetry hubs come up not related to me. I've done another fetch with web-master tools and indexed it again to see if this makes any difference.

2. 2uesday profile image88
    2uesdayposted 4 years ago

I had a poem lifted (last year) and used on a Face Book page. If it had been any other circumstances, I might have felt like creating a fuss but as they had used it as a memorial tribute, I did not pursue it.  I think unfortunately, some people just believe that whatever is on the internet is there to use as they wish without asking.

3. Writer Fox profile image80
    Writer Foxposted 4 years ago

Go to my profile and read the article about Plagiarism Detection.

Follow the methods listed to detect and remove plagiarized content.