jump to last post 1-6 of 6 discussions (13 posts)

Why do Google adSense ads only appear at the very bottom of a hub?

1. sleepylog profile image87
    sleepylogposted 4 years ago

Since Google adSense ads only appear so far down a hub page, I wonder if it's even worth having them in my hubs. Seriously, I've only made about $1 in adSense earnings. I make more through the HP adProgram than I do through Google adSense. Is that pretty much the same for all hubbers? Why are we not able to choose where we place them such as the Amazon and eBay capsules?

1. sallybea profile image96
      sallybeaposted 4 years ago in reply to this

Little puzzled as I notice you have Google Ads on the top of all the pages I looked at!

sleepylogposted 4 years ago in reply to this

Those are from HP adProgram

Well, that solved that mystery!  Only been here six weeks.  Apologies, I am still learning the ropes.  For some reason I thought they were one and the same!

2. sallybea profile image96

That was a light bulb moment,!   I guess I had not realized before that you could in effect earn money on HubPages without even applying for Google Adsense,

sleepylogposted 4 years ago in reply to this

Yes, you can. In fact those ads earn you money simply from impressions whereas with the Google adSense ads you only earn money when someone clicks on an ad.

1. 96
              Robbie C Wilsonposted 4 years ago in reply to this

You can actually make money via Adsense for impressions only. I have never had an Adsense advert clicked on, but I have made a small amount of money via impressions.

Having said that, my HubPages Ad Program money far outstrips the money made on Google Adsense, although looking at the FAQ link I can now understand why.

2. chasmac profile image98
    chasmacposted 4 years ago

No - First you need an Adsense account to be eligible for the HP program.

3. StayAwakeNow profile image59
    StayAwakeNowposted 4 years ago