jump to last post 1-8 of 8 discussions (18 posts)

Help I've deleted a hub

  1. Is2222 profile image60
    Is2222posted 3 years ago

    I was just trying to insert a capsule into a published hub and deleted the content. How can i get it back???

    1. paradigmsearch profile image89
      paradigmsearchposted 3 years ago in reply to this

      It's all still there. Bring up your full browser history. Click on the one immediately before disaster struck. You should be fine. smile

      1. paradigmsearch profile image89
        paradigmsearchposted 3 years ago in reply to this

        And while we are at it, don't know if applicable in this case, since not sure what the exact scenario is; there may be a green recover button at the bottom in the relevant capsule when in edit mode.

        1. Is2222 profile image60
          Is2222posted 3 years ago in reply to this

          Thanks a bunch...I'll try it.

  2. rebthomas profile image91
    rebthomasposted 3 years ago

    I don't think you can.  You can re-enter it if you have it somewhere else in your files.  Google takes a while to update so you could copy it off the original by searching for it if it is featured.

    1. Is2222 profile image60
      Is2222posted 3 years ago in reply to this

      Tried all that. Thanks though. I'll just have to re-write it.

      1. Marcy Goodfleisch profile image94
        Marcy Goodfleischposted 3 years ago in reply to this

        Did the Admins say there's no backup server?  Or maybe they don't offer that help.  So sorry if you have lost your work.  Bummer!

  3. Marcy Goodfleisch profile image94
    Marcy Goodfleischposted 3 years ago

    Contact the site admins and see if there's an old copy in the back-up files.  Do it quickly, though, in case they back files up each night.  Good luck!!!

  4. Tim Chirillo profile image61
    Tim Chirilloposted 3 years ago

    happened to me before .. its a nightmare .. I hope you did not have too much content ..

  5. mistyhorizon2003 profile image92
    mistyhorizon2003posted 3 years ago

    You could check Google for the cached version and copy the content back again from that.

  6. mistyhorizon2003 profile image92
    mistyhorizon2003posted 3 years ago

    Some years back my Hubby deleted a large quantity of the text in a hub of mine without my permission (long story). When I posted the problem in the forums one of the staff members dropped in and commented with a link to where the cached version was if I wanted to 'quickly' copy and paste it back into the hub. As it goes I decided not to (also a long story), but it showed it was possible (assuming the hub had been published at least a little while).

    1. Is2222 profile image60
      Is2222posted 3 years ago in reply to this

      Thanks. I re-wrote it. Those long stories might make for interesting hubs smile

      1. mistyhorizon2003 profile image92
        mistyhorizon2003posted 3 years ago in reply to this

        Lol, I doubt it, the row at the time was epic in the household here, so probably best to 'let sleeping dogs lie' as they say.

  7. profile image0
    delleaposted 3 years ago

    My best suggestion to everyone is to compile and compose all of your hub content off-line in a word processor (Sidenote: I use OpenOffice because it's free and I'm totally against Microsoft's new "subscription" structure for Office 2013). When a topic of interest comes to mind, I usually have a decent level of knowledge about it already, but I do more reading and research on it so that I can generate fuller, more detailed info for the hub. I compose the whole hub in my word processor, I spell-check it and break it up into sensible titles and paragraphs pretty much as I would want them to look in the finished hub. As I work along, I keep a saved copy of it on my computer. When I'm all done I copy the titles and chunks of text out one part at a time, pasting them into capsules as I go along in building the hub. After I've done the finishing touches on the hub (with photos, links, ad capsules etc) and I have published the hub, then I delete the word processing file I saved on my computer. I do this not only to save space on my computer, but because the content is now already stored live on HubPages.

    1. mary615 profile image94
      mary615posted 3 years ago in reply to this

      Good advice!  I do exactly what you do.  I do one extra step:  I print the Hub from Word Perfect.  Then I mark where I want new paragraphs and note where I want a photo pertaining to that text.
      I save my work in WP.  I have another reason for that.  If I ever want to unpublish that Hub, I have it saved to publish it on my blog.

  8. Maricarmjolo profile image84
    Maricarmjoloposted 3 years ago

    if you have deleted the content of your hub and not yet click the "Done Editing" button then your hub content is still there because you sis not save the changes. But if you already clicked it.. then... it's gone :<

    1. Is2222 profile image60
      Is2222posted 3 years ago in reply to this

      Yeah...it's gone. i re-wrote it though. Thanks

      1. mary615 profile image94
        mary615posted 3 years ago in reply to this

        Read dellea's comment above.  You'll never lose your work and have to rewrite it.

 
working