jump to last post 1-5 of 5 discussions (8 posts)

Amazon links show Hubpages not my Amazon Affiliate ID

1. knutterbutter profile image72
    knutterbutterposted 3 years ago

I'm new to hubpages and was wondering what is going on my amazon id on hubpages. I noticed that the clicks on amazon dropped so I checked the links to amazon.

What I noticed is that one hub uses my amazon ID, but the other 2 hubs show hubpages-20, which is the reason why the clicks aren't registering on amazon.

What's wrong with what I'm doing? Or is this normal?

For the configuration, I entered my amazon ID on External Affiliate Settings part of the Earnings screen. I didn't set anything else because I don't really know what they mean.

1. WryLilt profile image87
      WryLiltposted 3 years ago in reply to this

Hubpages displays their own IDs for 40% of views.

2. knutterbutter profile image72

Sorry I don't fully understand. Does that mean that for 10 amazon links for example that you put they get 4 of the links and you get the other 6 links?

Or is it you'll split the total sales, Hubpages getting 40% and we get 60%?

1. WryLilt profile image87
      WryLiltposted 3 years ago in reply to this

When you insert your affiliate ID in the earnings section, it will automatically insert your IDs for a percentage of views.

So if you refresh your page 10 times, 4 times all the adverts and Amazon capsules and eBay etc, will display THEIR advertising IDs. For the other 6 views, all YOUR advertising IDs will show.

So in 6/10 views, you earn 100% of the money.

That's an average though - you can refresh and see your ID 8 times a row, or theirs 5 times in a row.

3. knutterbutter profile image72

Thanks for the explanation WryLilt. That's as clear as it gets.

1. wilderness profile image96
      wildernessposted 3 years ago in reply to this