jump to last post 1-8 of 8 discussions (13 posts)

Different topics?

1. 61
    Scott R Andersonposted 2 years ago

I'm new here, and wondering how writers approach having Hubs on different topics.

For example, I've been a journalist or worked in related fields for more than 30 years, and covered a wide range of articles during that time. I do, however, have a couple of areas that I prefer to focus on.

However, I also write fiction and poetry. It is completely unrelated to any of my journalistic work. About the only thing the two have in common is that they involve writing.

Just wondering how others handle this.

1. Phyllis Doyle profile image97
      Phyllis Doyleposted 2 years ago in reply to this

Welcome to HubPages, Scott, I wish you all the best.

You can write on any topic you like. It is a good idea to have a niche of at least one topic. I focus on early American history, Native American, women in history, spirituality and sometimes a poem.  I branch out a little here and there to write on other subjects, like paranormal stories, and do have a few creative writing/fiction stories.

I created groups for myself to categorize my hubs so they show up in related fields at the end of each hub I write. That also shows up on hubs others write. Like one of my hubs on the Revolutionary War will show up as a related hub on someone else's hub on the Rev. War.

So, it is up to you what genre, topic, you want to write about.  Have fun!

2. Christy Kirwan profile image
      Christy Kirwanposted 2 years ago in reply to this

Hi Scott,

Welcome to HubPages! As Phyllis and other Hubbers have mentioned, you can certainly write on whatever topics you like on your account. However, if you would like to focus on specific niches, you can always create a separate HubPages account for each major niche you intend to write on.

3. Marisa Wright profile image94
      Marisa Wrightposted 2 years ago in reply to this