jump to last post 1-6 of 6 discussions (15 posts)

Question about commenting

1. profile image0
    LisaKeatingposted 3 years ago

As a retired English teacher, I find myself wanting to make comments about the writing and layout rather than just strictly the content. Is that appropriate? Also, is it appropriate to point out things like spelling errors in titles? I read a hub where every use of "dessert" (for a pie) was spelled "desert." I don't want to offend. We all make typos and such. Thoughts?

1. profile image0
      sheilamyersposted 3 years ago in reply to this

I think a lot of hubbers would appreciate being told if a hub is full of mistakes so they can edit and make corrections. However, there are some who don't care. My suggestion would be to use the contact link on their profile page. In the email, explain why you're writing and kindly point out the mistakes. I'd also ask them if they want me to continue sending them helpful hints. If they say no, I'd drop it.

1. Barbara Kay profile image88
        Barbara Kayposted 3 years ago in reply to this

I agree and that is the way I've handled it in the past. Don't overdo it though or they will be offended.

2. paradigmsearch profile image90
    paradigmsearchposted 3 years ago

Anyone pointing out an error in one of my hubs gets a free hug from paradigmsearch. Film at 11.

3. profile image0
    LisaKeatingposted 3 years ago

I don't see a contact button the profile page. Where is it?

1. profile image0
      LisaKeatingposted 3 years ago in reply to this

*on the contact page

1. profile image0

Along the right hand side, you should see a list - followers, following, fan mail, etc. If you click on fanmail, there's a link above the messages people have left that says "Send [person's name] an email". I don't use it often, so I don't know if people can disable the link or not.

4. profile image0
    calculus-geometryposted 3 years ago