jump to last post 1-3 of 3 discussions (12 posts)

My edits revert back to pre-edit status.

  1. Lorelei Cohen profile image81
    Lorelei Cohenposted 2 years ago

    I edit a transferred in article and by the time I get to the top to look it over my changes have reverted back to how the hub looked before I edited it. So after I re edit again it seems to save. Having to edit twice is going to take me a very long time to get anywhere as I am expecting about 400 articles to transfer in over 3 accounts.

    This bounce back to original has happened on every hub I have edited thus far. Listed below.
    http://loreleicohen.hubpages.com/hub/we … th-october
    http://loreleicohen.hubpages.com/hub/cr … decoration
    http://loreleicohen.hubpages.com/hub/ob … ed-illness
    http://loreleicohen.hubpages.com/hub/wh … healthiest

    1. Marina Lazarevic profile image84
      Marina Lazarevicposted 2 years ago in reply to this

      Unfortunately, this isn't easily reproducible for determining whether its an actual bug. Can you list the exact steps you took that led to the problem?

      One thing I am curious about is whether you clicked "save" on the individual capsules after editing. It sounds like you did, but then upon saving changes to a capsule, it immediately reverted back to the previous version. Is that right?

      When you either of you have a chance, can you try editing those Hubs in at least two different browsers and let me know if the issue occurs in both? Thanks!

      1. Lorelei Cohen profile image81
        Lorelei Cohenposted 2 years ago in reply to this

        I am currently working in Firefox and had it just happen again. Very time consuming.

      2. Scarlettohairy profile image59
        Scarlettohairyposted 2 years ago in reply to this

        Marina, I just edited an article in Safari and waited just 5 minutes before clicking Done Editing. I used FireFox earlier when I had the problem of it not saving, but I know it was much longer, maybe 15 or 20 minutes, before I clicked Done Editing. Let me know if you think I should try it in Safari and wait longer to see if that's a problem there, too.

        Thanks for looking into this!

        1. Marina Lazarevic profile image84
          Marina Lazarevicposted 2 years ago in reply to this

          Thank you for the info, Scarlettohairy! You shouldn't need to wait before clicking the Done Editing button at the top, but I'd like to clarify how saving content in the HubTool works first (it can be a little confusing)...just to make sure this issue isn't being caused by a user error.

          Each time you click "save" on an individual capsule, your changes should be live immediately without needing to click the "Done Editing" button at the top. Similarly, if you rearrange capsules to change the layout of a Hub, those changes should take effect immediately without needing to click the Done Editing button. You can test this by having two tabs or windows open side by side: one with your Hub in edit mode, and one with your live Hub. Make an edit to a capsule or rearrange a couple, then refresh the live Hub in the other tab to see whether your changes took effect.

          However, if you make other, non-capsule changes to the Hub - such as the title, category, or display options - you must click "done editing" for those changes to take effect.

          You can also read this recent thread for some more context.

          1. Scarlettohairy profile image59
            Scarlettohairyposted 2 years ago in reply to this

            Thank you for this clear explanation! I appreciate knowing when I have to use the Done Editing button.

          2. Lorelei Cohen profile image81
            Lorelei Cohenposted 2 years ago in reply to this

            I think I may have figured out what is going on. When I go in to edit an Amazon module and I come out from that edit is when everything appears to have reverted back to pre-edit status. When I look at it live the rest of the article looks as it did after I finished editing so this issue appears to be an optical illusion as I can go back in and carry on editing where I left off except that I lose my summery.

            There is some disconnect between the amazon modules and the rest of the article.

            1. Marina Lazarevic profile image84
              Marina Lazarevicposted 2 years ago in reply to this

              Lorelei, I'm glad to hear that your edits are taking effect, but this should be clear in the HubTool as well as the live Hub. Are you only noticing the issue on Amazon Capsule or on other capsules as well?

          3. calendarsblog profile image60
            calendarsblogposted 2 years ago in reply to this

            That may be how it's supposed to work, but I have lost edits (like moving capsules around) when accidentally clicking amazon links. Even the 'save' button on individual capsules seems to only save some edits in that case. (using chrome)

  2. Scarlettohairy profile image59
    Scarlettohairyposted 2 years ago

    I had that problem today while editing an article, but I took a long time. I have started clicking Done Editing, which I think saves the edits. Then I immediately edit it more. That seems to work for me.

    1. Lorelei Cohen profile image81
      Lorelei Cohenposted 2 years ago in reply to this

      Thank you. I knew I could not be the only one experiencing this.

  3. iijuan12 profile image89
    iijuan12posted 2 years ago

    Thank you! This is helpful!

 
working