jump to last post 1-1 of 1 discussions (11 posts)

Introduce a "delete" button for 'edit' mode

  1. makingamark profile image71
    makingamarkposted 2 years ago

    At the moment, the only way you can delete a hub is when viewing it in "published mode" (ie the delete button at the top of the hub to the right of stats)

    How about introducing a "delete hub" button for EDIT mode to make it much more efficient and easier when trying to remove content from the database?

    1. Solaras profile image91
      Solarasposted 2 years ago in reply to this

      Really???? HP needs to divert its resources from improving the site in order to save people 5 seconds when removing content?

      Some of us might prefer to not delete their hubs by accident when they were only intending to make a minor edit.

      1. makingamark profile image71
        makingamarkposted 2 years ago in reply to this

        I thought what HP was trying to do was remove content from the database which might not be helping it.

        Making it much easier for hubbers to do that seems like a good move for me. Otherwise they continue to host unfeatured content forever more. If they're happy to cover the cost of that then so that's fine. I'm happy to leave that decision to them.

        1. Solaras profile image91
          Solarasposted 2 years ago in reply to this

          Unfeatured does not mean that it is unpublished.

    2. Marisa Wright profile image92
      Marisa Wrightposted 2 years ago in reply to this

      I've often thought that would make more sense, but I *think* HubPages' reasoning was to avoid the possibility of Hubbers accidentally hitting the "delete" button in the middle of editing!

      1. makingamark profile image71
        makingamarkposted 2 years ago in reply to this

        Delete buttons almost always have a 'fail safe' next stage attached to them - along the lines of "Are you really sure you want to delete this?"

        1. neosurk profile image90
          neosurkposted 2 years ago in reply to this

          Not to mention, the hubs aren't deleted right away. You have 24 hours more.
          I also always found it odd that there was no delete button in the edit mode.

    3. profile image0
      bobtyndallposted 2 years ago in reply to this

      Odd you should request this function when it has always been there. When you click the title of your blog, at the top is 3 things. Edit. Stats and Delete. Even if you where to click the edit button beside the title, all you have to do is click done editing and there is the delete button again.

      1. makingamark profile image71
        makingamarkposted 2 years ago in reply to this

        You might be surprised to know it's more than just me who is surprised that the delete button is not available while in "Edit Mode" ie the normal method used on other sites.

        The thing is - there's more than a few people deleting lots of hubs where the content is being transferred to other sites so efficiency in terms of clicks tends to become quite focused when undertaking such an exercise.

        However I can well appreciate that this reason would find little support from within the Tech Team! wink

        On the other hand if eliminating lower quality hubs was made really easy and this was seen as having a positive benefit for the site as a whole maybe making it even easier might be something the Tech Team might consider? smile

        1. profile image0
          bobtyndallposted 2 years ago in reply to this

          Sorry, I just don't understand what it is you are after. Deleting a hub is very simple now. How much easier can it get. Once you delete it, no one sees it but you. You also have the opportunity to un delete it. Your comment about making it easier to delete lower quality hubs is totally confusing to me. It can't get much easier that it already is. How much faster than 5 seconds can it be?

    4. peachpurple profile image76
      peachpurpleposted 2 years ago in reply to this

      yes, even if you deleted the hub, it is still there . Wait till 72 hours, completely gone. Might as well don't delete but change the whole hub

 
working