jump to last post 1-6 of 6 discussions (11 posts)

Low Traffic Over Holidays

1. Snakesmum profile image88
    Snakesmumposted 2 years ago

Having just checked my traffic and finding that it is even lower than usual, I was
    wondering if this is normal for the Christmas/New Year season?
    Does this always happen, or is it different this year?

As I'm a newbie on HP, I haven't been here at this time of year before.

1. peachpurple profile image77
      peachpurpleposted 2 years ago in reply to this

My views are high but not my earnings, dropped a lot, don't understand, it should increase

1. relache profile image87
        relacheposted 2 years ago in reply to this

More views does not automatically mean more earnings.  There are lots of reasons why this can be.

Ad rates can be diluted by increased traffic.  Ad budgets also run out at year's end.  Between Christmas and New Years is an ad wasteland.  They are focused on January and beyond already.

HubPages is becoming dominated by mobile traffic.  Mobile traffic blocks most advertising.

People are smart enough to buy right from Amazon now, without stopping somewhere else first.  This is a big reason why Google is losing ad money itself.

2. CatherineGiordano profile image88
        CatherineGiordanoposted 2 years ago in reply to this

Peachpurple: Your earnings are not just based on views but on your cpm which varies all the time. The CPM is what the advertiser pays per view. You can see your cpm if you click on the tab labeled earnings at the top of your account page and then click on the add program bar.

2. relache profile image87
      relacheposted 2 years ago in reply to this

You can pretty much expect lower traffic over any extended US holiday weekend or time period as people's attention and time turns offline, or to sites specific to whatever they are doing.  But general web activity and random time-filling surfing drops.