Payment

Jump to Last Post 1-7 of 7 discussions (19 posts)
  1. utopiaOFwellness profile image59
    utopiaOFwellnessposted 8 years ago

I HAVE WRITEN 23 HUBS AND HAVE MADE 2 cents!   
    ARE HUBPAGES BS!
    IS IT WORTH ME CONTINUING...

1. Niecey Doc profile image61
      Niecey Docposted 8 years agoin reply to this

That is certainly discouraging.
      I am a newbie, and to be honest, I am not expecting to make much, if any, money off this. I'd love eventually to write guest blog posts etc but need to build a portfolio first. I think this is a good place to start and begin to hone skills before moving on to other things.
      So maybe it is worth continuing, but see it as a stepping stone to greater things.

utopiaOFwellnessposted 8 years agoin reply to this

Ahhh, thanks for the insight, I guess you're right, but it would have been nice to make some pocket change...
        Thanks

2. Amanda108 profile image86
      Amanda108posted 8 years agoin reply to this

I - as well as many other writers here - know for a personal fact that Hubpages is a legit site for people to earn money (aka reaching the payment threshold) from well-written articles. Learning about and keeping up with elements such as SEO, changes in the site and Google's expectations, good layouts, photography tips, and so on can be a big help.

But ultimately none of it matters if people aren't clicking on an article that helps them or entertains them, one that they want to stick around and read. A writer particularly needs to be aware of grammar and spelling. Of course everyone makes typos or other mistakes now and then. But a hub should be easy to read - and the title should never have an error, or if one is discovered then you need to fix it immediately.