jump to last post 1-4 of 4 discussions (6 posts)

Beginner's Tips from a Hubpage Beginner

1. Adam Harkus profile image61
    Adam Harkusposted 12 months ago

Hi Everyone.

I've just reached my first 1000 hits after starting HubPages around 6 weeks ago. I'm absolutely loving it!

Just thought I'd share some useful tips I've picked up to get you started.

- Pick a topic you're passionate about, this'll make it easier to come up with interesting hubs. As a musician, I've chosen topics like guitar reviews etc.

- Make sure you're following the word-count, video and image guidelines when creating a hub, so that hopefully you'll get all of your hubs featured.

- To make it easier on yourself, take your own pictures, otherwise you'll need to source them from public sites and add all the appropriate references, which is a pain.

- Be active on the HubPages community, follow people, ask questions, ask to get your pages reviewed.

- Post links to your Hubs on as many other sites as you can. For me I've found music gear forums to be particularly effective. This'll improve your google ranking, which'll in turn lead to more hits.

- Be patient with AdSense, I've been rejected many times already. Don't spam AdSense requests,  just keep writing, keep publishing and eventually you'll get accepted.

- Analyse your stats, and focus your writing on the types are hubs which are most popular.

Hopefully the next 1000 hits will come sooner smile

1. Millionaire Tips profile image90
      Millionaire Tipsposted 12 months ago in reply to this

This is great advice Adam. You've off to a great start.

2. TIMETRAVELER2 profile image94
      TIMETRAVELER2posted 12 months ago in reply to this

Mostly good advice, however:

You should only ask other writers here to review your work if you are having problems or feel uncertain about it.  If every newbie here asked for help on every article, nobody here would have time to create!