jump to last post 1-7 of 7 discussions (9 posts)

When I try to add something new, my *old* posting disappears!

  1. 59
    DiabeticNewbieposted 7 years ago

    Ok guys, I'm about ready to give up on Hubpages sad sad sad I am terribly frustrated.

    I am *trying* to have a hub about my experience with type 2 diabetes. I write a GREAT post, publish it, and am thrilled. Then I come back to add to it, and whatever I'm doing, I sux because I am tossing my old post into the trash.

    In easy to follow steps, can someone tell me what in tarnation I am doing wrong? I am not going to bother wasting any more time writing here until I figure this out! Its happened to me 5 times -- so obviously, I am hub-challenged because I am definately screwing something up

    Sign me, frustrated and ready to move to someplace else sad sad sad thanks for your tips

  2. agvulpes profile image89
    agvulpesposted 7 years ago

    to me it seems like you are just posting a comment ?

    You need to create a hub first and go thru all the steps of url name and all that. when you hub is created you have to put capsules into the hub. text video poll etc. then edit each capsule
    have you done any of that

  3. pauldeeds profile image
    pauldeedsposted 7 years ago

    Your first hub was never published, but you can access it (and all of your other hubs) by clicking on my account, or go directly to it.  To publish the hub, click edit and then the "publish now" button.

    1. 59
      DiabeticNewbieposted 7 years ago in reply to this

      Thanks for trying to help me everyone smile

      Yes, my first hub WAS published. I wanted to ADD info to it. I didn't like what I had added. so I hit deleted -- this was *yesterday.* Then I saw that I had deleted my WHOLE hub, so I called it a night and went to bed.

      This morning, I wrote another GREAT post to begin my hub. I published it even!!! It was sweet !!!! Then later in the day, I went to "add" more info to it. Somehow in the course of ADDING info I trashed my whole hub and everything I wrote earlier was gone :- //// How did I know that ? I hit the "publish" key and all prior info was t-0-a-s-t. Gone. Down the crapper. Eveaporated even. So before i waste any more time here, I really want to knwo WHAT THE HECK am I doing WRONG ???

      How can I have a hub that is PUBLISHED and have it dissapear on me ?????? Right from under my fingers ???? sad

      Yes, I tried the "add new text" thing -- your instructions aren't very good btw - but I eraseed all my good work sad Sorry I'm just frustrated tryign to figure out how these pages work. . . . . . obviously it is ME because everyone else has found out how to use it sad

    2. 59
      DiabeticNewbieposted 7 years ago in reply to this

      paul ps what you are seeing is what i saved and didnt' publish yesterday -- but it still overtook the original material that i had published. i'm so confused.

      i may try again in a few days or so, but for now i'm giving up.... i'll be back later

  4. 0
    Janettaposted 7 years ago

    Are you clickingthe publish button before you navigate away from the page? If you are leaving HubPages to copy and paste info or pics or something, try opening another tab on your browser. Don't navigate away from HP until afte you have published. Everything is saved kind of as you go, so you should be able to find it like Paul said. It will just remain unpublished until you click the edit button next to it an hit publish--hope that helps, would hate to see you leave! sad We will always tr y to help ! smile

  5. agvulpes profile image89
    agvulpesposted 7 years ago

    diabetic newbie, thats what I mean about getting help here. Paul is the General Manager of HubPages.  Not bad, getting advice straight from the top. In Pauls position he can look inside your account as see what you are doing wrong. We humble hubbers can only make guesses and assumptions.
    Paul,Thanks for helping a newbie

  6. 59
    DiabeticNewbieposted 7 years ago

    PS for a new hub, i even had a rating of 68 yesterday.  I thought that looked promising .... maybe it was just to tease me and drive me crazy  ... hehehehe

  7. 0
    Janettaposted 7 years ago

    ok, time out. I'm a little confused. You did publish and went back to edit, correct? Did you read what I said about navigating away before hitting publish? Still, it should all, or mostly be saved in your my account section. It will be a different color. I think red (the title that is) there is a tiny edit button to the left of the title on the 'my acct' section where your hubs are listed. click it. fix what you want to fix by clicking the 'edit' button above the sect, you want to change. when you are done, there are three buttons under the title box, if you are changing an already published hub, they have one that says done editing, click it and it will republish with new changes. If you haven't published it yet, you will need to hit the 'publish button' Unless you are purposely hitting the delete hub button at the top of the page, you shouldn't be losing your writing all together. even when you delete a hub, it stays in your acct for a while. Check your my acct sect and see what's there. Maybe I can help more with a little more info.