jump to last post 1-4 of 4 discussions (4 posts)

Formatting, HTML and other such stuff

1. Denmarkguy profile image96
    Denmarkguyposted 8 years ago

OK, so I'll confess up front that I'm a noob around here... at least when it comes to publishing.

I've noticed in a few longer hubs a lot of text is broken up with images and graphics and such. Now, I'm not a programmer, but it strikes me that would require an ability to insert HTML tags for in-line photos, etc. Maybe I'm blind, but I haven't seen a "show/edit HTML" toggle anywhere... nor have I seen any info on how to add HTML. Can you?

What (if anything) am I missing, here?

(off to read the help section, again)

2. relache profile image86
    relacheposted 8 years ago

It sounds like you've not noticed the Photo capsule, or the Video capsule.  When you are editing a Hub, take a look over at the top righthand side of the layout screen and you'll find you can add various content capsules to a Hub.  The photo one is quite versatile with many variations built-in.

HTML is extremely limited to what the editing tool inside the Text capsule will allow you.  I'm guessing you've not checked that out yet either.

3. Denmarkguy profile image96
    Denmarkguyposted 8 years ago

Thanks for the reply!

I was playing around with the text capsules, and was hoping to find a way to use a different font... and found myself mystified at the way using the "header" tool to format a bit of in-line text seems to change the font from the default to "Trebuchet." And then it starts affecting ALL the text in the capsule, if you backspace in the wrong places. I was actually looking from something that would allow me to make the equivalent of an HTML "header 5" size, which I often use on my web sites... but I'll work with what's there.