jump to last post 1-7 of 7 discussions (7 posts)

What do you write about?

1. jenblacksheep profile image85
    jenblacksheepposted 7 years ago

Whenever I mention that I'm writing on here my mum always says to me 'you don't write about personal things, and about the family do you?' I always say 'NO mum.' Which is a lie because I do write about things personal to me and I do have one or two hubs about my family.

I've seen a lot of people on here write about their family, does it bother anyone writing about personal things?

2. 0
    Justine76posted 7 years ago

HAHHHAH!!! This is my third face, as I shouldnt be "putting my dirty undies on display!"

3. 0
    Janettaposted 7 years ago

to a point. I don't name names and try to be purposefully vague when discussing personal issues. Sure, I might not mind putting it out there, but someone in the hub may.

4. aware profile image71
    awareposted 7 years ago

Im new to this myself and worry a bit about being to open with my writings . Im working on a hub about my grandmothers life when im done it will i hope be my most professional attempt yet . I asked her tho first if it was ok  with her that i documented her  very touching  and eventful life story. And told her if i do i need the details . She looked at me with my pen and small pad . and said this . Your gona need more paper .. She is the last one left standing , she is very old and ill. But with the medium of paper and pen ,i hope to  make her live forever . If you do write about your mum maby you should run the rough draft by her . .   .

5. torimari profile image79
    torimariposted 7 years ago

It depends on what you are here for. Money, writing, or both? smile

I don't write about my family or friends, but I think it is fine. Real experience makes a hub relateable especially when you can take a personal experience and relate it to some advice or something other people can get something out of.