I've just joined hubpages and created my first hub, about my travels around the world on Concorde and encounters with dragons.
Suddenly I found that my hub had been deleted! I assume that I must have done something to cause the hub to be deleted because when I re-edited the hub I was able to republish it.
I've no idea what I did to cause the hub to be deleted and after working on it all day it caused me quite a panic. I'd like to make sure that I don't accidentally delete a hub again and would be grateful if anyone has any idea what I did wrong.
The hub is:
Did you hit the button that reads "delete" which appears at the top of the hub to the owner/author? Because that's how Hubs get deleted.
I really don't think so, but perhaps I managed to be that dumb somehow!
I thought at first I'd done something wrong and my hub had been deleted by hubpages, but as I was able to republish the hub I guess it was OK.
Thanks for taking the trouble to reply and I'll be sure to watch out for that delete button!
Well, the delete button does sit right between "edit" and "view stats" which has never seemed to me to be a good place for it. As Whitney pointed out, you do get an "undelete" option, and that's part of why Hubs will still show on your stats page for a few days after you do hit the button to delete them, so you have plenty of time to correct a mistake or change you mind.
And if a Hub receives an administrative "unpublish" I'm pretty sure you get a message about it from admin.
It's still visbile, so it must not be deleted. I clicked your link and the hub is still there. On you account page, can you see the title with maybe a line throught it? If so, you can click it and there should be an undelete option. If you don't see the title, then I don't know because I can still see the hub.
I've clicked on other hubs before, and usually if they've been deleted, I get a message that the hub no longer exists.
Many thanks Whitney and Relache,
I think I may have discovered what I did wrong. I've just noticed as I edited the hub that there is an "unpublish button". I may well have misread that as "publish" because i expected to have to republish after editing. I'll be careful not to do that again!
Thanks again for your help.
Yeah, that 'done editing' button doesn't sound all that special.
I would have thought something that said 'republish' would be more appropriate. Because I can be done editing yet not publish an article.
Done editing reminds me of "save as draft".
by Audrey Hunt8 months ago
How do I delete a hub?
by DJ Funktual6 years ago
I just recently went through my many hubs and came to realize that almost every hub I did involving youtube videos had broken links. So I went to go fix the links only to find that these hubs were lame. I...
by danicole2 years ago
I am thinking about deleting most and almost all my hubs and moving them to another hub account but I have a couple of questions. Please can you try to answer most if not all of the questions I asked... Thank You soo...
by Chace2 years ago
Some people say you should never, ever delete a hub...only edit it and such. What makes you just completely trash your own hubs?
by Nathan Bernardo3 years ago
How many times do you edit an idled Hub before deleting it? Or do you keep it idled so that links to it are still good? Also, for what reasons do you either leave it idled or delete it or still try to fix it? I have one...
by Gozp8 years ago
I have written 20 hubs about yoga, and to increase traffic on each of them I thought it would be a good idea to link from one hub to another.On the bottom of 4 hubs I added the same 4 links to 4 of my other yoga related...
Copyright © 2016 HubPages Inc. and respective owners.
Other product and company names shown may be trademarks of their respective owners.
HubPages® is a registered Service Mark of HubPages, Inc.
HubPages and Hubbers (authors) may earn revenue on this page based on affiliate relationships and advertisements with partners including Amazon, Google, and others.