jump to last post 1-9 of 9 discussions (11 posts)

Wow!! Em.. Ok. I got this little problem

1. chigoiyke profile image59
    chigoiykeposted 6 years ago

I got this hub that is getting super high traffic 100 percent from outside the community (2nd page on yahoo search)but my problem is that it is not raking in $ as regards adsense. I don't know how I can update it financially to meet what is on ground now that it is hot. I need a technical advice from anyone. Meanwhile, its been a little long time but I guess I want to concentrate more now on producing hubs rather than hanging out here. Never mind though, I need the advice

2. 0
    ryankettposted 6 years ago

I am in the perfect position to help you.

3. sunforged profile image68
    sunforgedposted 6 years ago

Why dont I make money from adsense

Pretty common issue - popular rarely equates to profitable

1. Dan Smith profile image60
      Dan Smithposted 6 years ago in reply to this

I'm a long time Adsense veteran.  I may be able to offer some advice.

First, we all know that certain topics pay very well for Adsense.  For example, the "mortgage" and "foreclosure" topics are hot, and advertisers are willing to paying a good CPC for Adsense content network traffic.

But, one thing I've learned is your target audience makes a difference too.  I have two websites.  One is about Acting, and draws a bunch of traffic from teenagers and twenty somethings.  I have Adsense on it and I have a miserable CTR, about 2.5%.  People in this age bracket are internet savvy and learned about ads a long time ago.  And, just like TV commercials, they ignore them and go out of their way to avoid them.

My second website has the ads in pretty much the same place on the on the page.  But it gets a much older and different crowd.  This audience isn't so jaded when it comes to Adsense, and tends to click ads more often.  The CTR is between 12% and 17%.

Guess which one makes good scratch.