jump to last post 1-3 of 3 discussions (8 posts)

Extremely Limited: Advertising Disadvantage

1. Glenn Raymond profile image59
    Glenn Raymondposted 6 years ago

I started hubing just recently and it is a lot of fun.  I have google adsense, which would be great except they do not customize their ads to my content. Drywall Tools and Grilling so far and there is a lot more to come.  However, Amazon will not let me get their ads, because I live in Colorado.  They say that Colorado, North Carolina and (Rhode Island, I believe) are excluded.  Ebay, is just flat out being a royal pain.  I am not certain that Kontera would be worth the effort.  I love writing, but I have little knowledge (if any) about code, so URL Tracking still makes no sense to me when all the other blogs I am on will not allow such things.  And I hear around here that everyone does it, but I still do not understand where, how or when.  Any suggestions?

1. 0
      Nelle Hoxieposted 6 years ago in reply to this

You've just identified THE BIG SHORTCOMING of trying to make money on HP, if you live in a state that Amazon does not allow and are not already an affiliate of ebay.

There are other affiliates that try and use affilite links from other programs from places like Shareasale. That's too awkward for me here, I just have my own sites for those.

Although if you thought about it, you might figure out how to make a nice living from Adsense alone.

Glenn Raymondposted 6 years ago in reply to this

Thank you for your input.  When I read this it promted me to spend several hours coming up with ways to draw attention to my hubs.  So you have been inspiring.

2. Marisa Wright profile image93
      Marisa Wrightposted 6 years ago in reply to this

Don't judge the Adsense ads by what you see when you first publish your Hubs.  It takes a while for Google to work out what your Hubs are about.

1. Misha profile image75
        Mishaposted 6 years ago in reply to this