Your Incentive to Write is?

Jump to Last Post 1-20 of 20 discussions (33 posts)
  1. qwark profile image61
    qwarkposted 13 years ago

I write mainly for my own enjoyment...just to see if I can do it.
    If ya publish and no one reads and comments, what's the purpose in publishing?
    Or if some read and don't respond, I see that lots on my stuff, what's the incentive to write hubs and publish?
    Is it just ego? i.e. "Hey I'm a published writer!"

1. Rombie1986 profile image60
      Rombie1986posted 13 years agoin reply to this

I think your right, it's for enjoyment. If you can't have fun doing what you do then why do it? I am a writer and I love writing and sharing my work with others. That is what I am doing now. If people don't read what I publish, it's okay. I still love the random comments about how people love my stuff and that helps me push on. I don't think anyone should write for ego. That is just rediculous. To be a good writer, the bottom line is that you have to love what you do on here and have fun with it. It's my own little world away from the real world. People say you can get lost in a good book, the same can be said about writing if your really into it.

2. relache profile image72
    relacheposted 13 years ago

HubPages has let me turn my writing, something I just love doing, into a viable means of paying my rent without having to deal with deadlines, topics I'm not genuinely interested in or having to get out of my pajamas.

1. profile image0
      EmpressFelicityposted 13 years agoin reply to this

lol It's weird but I just can't work in my pajamas/dressing gown.  I have to get dressed, otherwise I'm not in the correct psychological frame of mind.  Even if my day attire consists of tatty old leggings and an ancient T-shirt and fleece.

1. qwark profile image61
        qwarkposted 13 years agoin reply to this

Hey, I write with no pants on...naked from the waste down.