jump to last post 1-6 of 6 discussions (28 posts)

Newbie Question - Where does the score come from?

1. Pindowngirl profile image61
    Pindowngirlposted 6 years ago

Hi all

I'm very new to this, and have literally just signed up today. I had to stop part-way through my first hub, due to other work committments but have just come back to re-start work on it and am slightly bemused by the fact that on my profile a score is shown.

Bearing in mind that I haven't published the said article yet, can anybody tell me how this part-complete piece of writing has been scored and what that score tells me about my writing so far?

It would probably be a really useful tool for me if I understood what the scoring criteria was, but do you think I can find anything about it!? Well obviously not else I wouldn't be asking, I guess.

Your help would be greatly appreciated!

1. profile image0
      ankigarg87posted 6 years ago in reply to this

Hub score is to determine the quality of individual Hubs, much like Google ranks popular pages. Many factors contribute to our rating scale of 1 to 100, with 100 being our top score.

It is computed by following
          *      Amount of traffic - including percentage from reputable sources other than HubPages
          *     The reputation of the Hubber - your Hubber Score and contribution to the community
          *     The response of readers to your hub - including comments, thumbs up, etc.
          *     The uniqueness of content - copying content already available on the web will be penalized

I doesnot know exactly but according to hub pages this given

1. jasoncox83 profile image72
        jasoncox83posted 6 years ago in reply to this

Yep that is exactly right smile

2. profile image0
    Website Examinerposted 6 years ago

Your low author score is nothing for you to worry about, and the unpublished hub has no bearing on it. Your score will probably be low for some time, but that should correct itself within a week or so.