jump to last post 1-6 of 6 discussions (9 posts)

The odesk 'Readiness' test

1. Bard of Ely profile image88
    Bard of Elyposted 6 years ago

I don't know how many of you use odesk but I have been encouraged to give it another go. I originally joined back in Feb but gave up after twice failing to pass the 'Readiness' test.
    Well, I decided to give it another go and passed an American English test with flying colours getting a 97% pass but I have just failed the odesk Readiness test again for the third time. I left them some feedback saying I am a writer not on expert on answering online tests about the rules and regulations of the site. I find it very frustrating and I would think this part of the set up procedure must get rid of many people who sign up at the site!

Anyone else had the same problems as me?

1. Marisa Wright profile image92
      Marisa Wrightposted 6 years ago in reply to this

The readiness test makes some sense - just think how many people arrive on HubPages forums complaining about having Hubs unpublished etc because they haven't read the TOS. 

I found passing the test easy.  I noted down my answers as I did the test, so that if I failed I'd know which were the wrong answers (I seem to remember they told you which ones you'd got wrong at the time). 

Why not take the test again, and copy and paste the questions and answers into a Word document so you can go through and work out the answers at your leisure?

2. Len Cannon profile image89
    Len Cannonposted 6 years ago

Well, if I remember correctly, it was not too difficult if you actually read the rules.

But I wouldn't sweat it too hard. My experience with oDesk is that it isn't worth the time for professionals unless, maybe, you're a programmer or site designer. Unless you want to compete with people from the Phillipines and India for 50 cent per hundred word jobs, you'll be in bad shape.

3. Sufidreamer profile image80
    Sufidreamerposted 6 years ago