jump to last post 1-4 of 4 discussions (6 posts)

1. 61
    Shirly Agullanoposted 5 years ago

Hi All
    I'm very new to HP. I joined a few days ago and have not written a hub yet.
    The reason is that I have access to a lot of research material which I could use to write my hubs. But having read the rules about plagiarism on another writing website, I'm a bit wary of using the research material I have access to and rephrasing content, citing sources etc.
    Please can you clarify and maybe I can actually start writing a hub.

Your input would be really helpful. Thank you.

2. 0
    Website Examinerposted 5 years ago

As far as copyright, it is an issue of fair use under US copyright law. Even though you stay within fair use, you could still run into problems with duplicate content on HubPages, if significant parts of your article are found elsewhere on the Internet.

In practice:
    - Write in your own words when ever possible;
    - Quote conservatively to avoid being flagged by the duplicate content filter;
    - Cite sources.

Also, check out this recent thread, where similar issues were being discussed:

1. 0
      TopUniverseposted 5 years ago in reply to this

What is this?

Quote conservatively to avoid being flagged by the duplicate content filter

I am new to IM and don't know about it.

1. 0
        Website Examinerposted 5 years ago in reply to this

TopUniverse, the "fair use doctrine" under US copyright law - similarly laws and customs elsewhere - permits quoting from sources to some extent, such as when writing a review or an academic report.

If the Original Poster quoted two paragraphs each from 5 different sources, this might not be a problem from a copyright (plagiarism) perspective. The reason is that each of the quotes play a proportionate role for the article as a whole.