jump to last post 1-4 of 4 discussions (12 posts)

Tumblr and AlterNet

1. Wesman Todd Shaw profile image95
    Wesman Todd Shawposted 6 years ago

I'm getting just enough traffic from Tumblr and Alternet to keep doing it, and recommend it.  I just post a title, the first paragraph of my hub as a teaser, and then put "Read More At:"  followed by the hub's url, anyone else doing well with those sites? Or other's like them?

1. Jeremey profile image60
      Jeremeyposted 6 years ago in reply to this

I'm still a newbie when it comes to hubpages and the internet as a whole but I have just started getting a bit of traffic from stumbled upon posting in a similar way you describe above.

Wesman Todd Shawposted 6 years ago in reply to this

Yeah, I like StumbleUpon!

2. WryLilt profile image84
    WryLiltposted 6 years ago

I personally am not a fan of social bookmarking sites. It's a lot of work for little return.

Usually the traffic comes in a rush and is also low quality (doesn't click or buy much).

If you optimize for google you're likely to get lasting traffic that increases over time.

I'm getting  absolutely NOTHING from social bookmarking sites-like mybuddymarks, folkd, anything like that.  Tumblr is really a blog site, I don't think it really counts as a social networking site-and alternet is the same way.  I'm having more success with Tumblr than Alternet.

But here's a stategy that I sometimes use.  If I write a politics hub, then I KNOW already that I'll get lots of traffic from reddit by putting politics stuff there, then I create a teaser like I described on AlterNet, or Tumblr. . . .and then submit that new link to reddit. . . .and do it all over!

~maniacal grin~

2. Pcunix profile image89
      Pcunixposted 6 years ago in reply to this

Or you'll get several thousand comments complaining about something they don't like.