jump to last post 1-1 of 1 discussions (7 posts)

Musings from Houston

1. MeGunner profile image73
    MeGunnerposted 5 years ago

It's my first time in America and America has surpassed my expectations as high as those expectations are. The security checks and pat downs at the airport were not as bad as widely publicized. I state this from a parochial point of view; based on a one time experience. Disappointingly, the roads were not of marble... houses are not built of gold. In fact, people actually drove their own cars... not driven by some alien-looking robot or invisible remote. There goes my disappointment. Needless to re-state how organized a society it is here. Issues are tackled to the last 'annoying' details and the big deals here actually are funny to me. Watching local TV, all I see is intensive weight-loss programmes, a celeb going to prison for tax evasion, Kim Kardashian's latest lipstick, the President struggling by all means to sell his tax cut ideas ( I thought there is something called 'veto'), a gunman being hunted by the police etc. I see drug adverts with the advertisers emphasizing the side effects and contra-indications so much so that I wonder if any body will ever use those drugs. Then lawyers encouraging people to try and remember if they've ever been struck by lightning, for they might deserve to be compensated! (Are American lawyers that desperate?). These are some I could easily recall. These are worthwhile isssues to worry about, though for a mind like mine, raised in a developing country, it's comical. But this is how life is meant to be lived. Improving everyday and never satisfied. Americans are pushing America to perfection... leaving the rest of the world reeling in wonder at how a group of species of their kind bound by a common outlook are living their own lives. The weather so far has been kind to me... Just like a cold day in Lagos. I think I have a better understanding now when I hear, 'God bless America'. He really will...