jump to last post 1-5 of 5 discussions (10 posts)

Considering a Career Change Away From Writing

1. Gordon Hamilton profile image98
    Gordon Hamiltonposted 4 years ago

No - this is not a, "Leaving Hub Pages," thread. Not by any means. I have no intentions of doing that - no way! I love it here but may have to reduce the levels of my activity.

Basically, I didn't become a full time freelance writer through choice. I sort of fell in to it through a very complicated set of circumstances, three years ago. Since then, I've made a living but a poor one and I am getting a little bit fed up with working twelve or more hours, seven days a week. It's 4am here and I still have a publishing deadline to meet before I can go to bed.

I worked in banking for the best part of twenty years (pre credit crunch) but could never go back to that in a million years. The only other thing I know is the boats - fishing boats. I am off on what should be a good trip next week for a few days and am considering seeing if there are vacancies in any of the local boats.

Is a forty plus, separated old man too old to run away to sea...??? What do you think?

1. paradigmsearch profile image90
      paradigmsearchposted 4 years ago in reply to this

At least you have somewhere to run away to. I haven't even gotten that far yet. big_smile

2. IzzyM profile image86
      IzzyMposted 4 years ago in reply to this

You talking about joining the trawling fleet as shown in Trawlermen? You're a braver man than me! Talk about hard work?

My brother was a trawlerman before the sea took him, and my other brother was a trawlerman briefly before taking up work on the North Sea Supply Vessels.

He's deceased now too. Not an easy life. Good luck smile

Gordon Hamiltonposted 4 years ago in reply to this

Yes, Izzy, that's what I'm talking about. Drastic option, I know but I need a change, I think.