Book Review: The Core-Knowledge Series edited by E. D. Hirsch, Jr.

A Valuable Resource

The Core-Knowledge Series includes resource books for grades one through six. Each is titled in turn; What Your First Grader Needs To Know, What Your Second Grader Needs To Know, and so on, through What Your Sixth Grader Needs To Know. Each book details the fundamentals of a good well rounded education for the particular grade it focuses on.

All the books in this series are edited by E. D. Hirsch, Jr., who as many of you probably already know, also wrote A First Dictionary Of Cultural Literacy: What Our Children Need To Know, and also, Cultural Literacy: What Every American Needs To Know.

The Core-Knowledge Series Books Are Invaluable

This photo includes all the books in this collection by E. D. Hirsch, but they can be purchased individually, or just the Core-Knowledge Series set for grades 1 through 6.
This photo includes all the books in this collection by E. D. Hirsch, but they can be purchased individually, or just the Core-Knowledge Series set for grades 1 through 6. | Source

These Books Can Benefit All Students and All Parents Who Take an Active Part In Their Children's Education

All of the books listed above are excellent sources for home schooling parents who want to make as certain as possible that they are not leaving anything important out of their child’s education. Everyone wants his or her child to have a well-rounded education.

The Core-Knowledge Series covers a wide variety of areas including language arts, English literature, geography, American civilization, world civilization, fine arts (music and visual arts and plays), mathematics, natural sciences, and much more.

All through public and private school, teachers add information from a variety of sources that is usually not included in the classroom textbook in order to bring additional perspectives and information to their pupils. I highly recommend that parents who are home schooling their children do the same thing.

The Core-Knowledge Series of books is very helpful in bringing parents’ attention to those things that are important to add to their child’s educational experience. Parents should use these books as an excellent guide to make sure they have left nothing out, but should not limit themselves to what is listed in these books. There are new things happening everyday that our children need to be aware of and informed about according to their age and grade level.

The Core-Knowledge Series is an excellent resource, and I highly recommend the Series to everyone, both for their children and for themselves. Many adults may have missed some of the information included in these books when they were in school, or may have forgotten it, but I especially recommend this Series of books to home schooling parents. I utilized the books when I was a home schooling parent and I found them invaluable. They are continually being updated to keep them relevant.

The Core-Knowledge Series of books are generally available both new, and used, at bookstores, on eBay, and in a great many other places, so they need not be expensive. Also, the books can be purchased separately.

My child was already at 4th grade level when I discovered these books, but I purchased them all anyway. I was glad I purchased them all in the end, even though my child was beyond the grades covered in some of them, because there were a few things in the books covering the first through third grade levels that I had left out of my child’s curriculum, so we were able to include them in the lessons we were doing at the time.

Also for home schooling parents, I highly recommend, A First Dictionary Of Cultural Literacy: What Our Children Need To Know. It is a single volume written prior to The Core-Knowledge Series and can also be very helpful in making sure you aren’t leaving anything important out of your child’s educational experience.

So that my readers will know, I am recommending The Core-Knowledge Series of books because I utilized these books myself when I home schooled my child, and I consider them one of the best resources available for home schooling parents. I hope this information will be helpful for other home schooling parents as well as parents in general who want to take an active role in their child’s education.



More by this Author


Comments 24 comments

Au fait profile image

Au fait 21 months ago from North Texas Author

Huntgoddess, yes you should! ;) Appreciate that you have read the ones that you have. Yes, I understand what you're saying better than you think. Hope everything is as good for you as it can be, all things considered. Take care . . .


Huntgoddess profile image

Huntgoddess 21 months ago from Midwest U.S.A.

No problem. I should be reading more of your great hubs, and I'm sorry I have been a little delinquent. I have very limited Internet time. I don't have a home or a computer of my own, and have to deal with institutional rules.

Yes, I agree the Hirsch books are for everybody, in any family. Nobody would be disappointed.


Au fait profile image

Au fait 21 months ago from North Texas Author

Huntgoddess, thank you for taking time to check out this review. I love those books too, which is why I wrote this review. I think they're great for anyone wanting help covering as much as possible whether homeschooling or making sure their public/private schooled child gets a well rounded education. Thanks for the votes too!


Huntgoddess profile image

Huntgoddess 21 months ago from Midwest U.S.A.

OMG!! I love the Hirsch books. My son was just talking about them the other day, and how much he loved them when he was in homeschooling.

He is now a senior at the university, and he has a great job, as well.

Up, etc ++ Thanks, Au fait.


Au fait profile image

Au fait 2 years ago from North Texas Author

Peggy W, thank you for coming back and pinning and sharing this article! I think every parent, regardless of how they are educating their child(ren), would find these books beneficial to their children.


Peggy W profile image

Peggy W 2 years ago from Houston, Texas

I am going to pin this again to another category I created called Books. Sharing this again with HP followers. This sounds like every parent who is home schooling would benefit from having a set of these books.


Au fait profile image

Au fait 2 years ago from North Texas Author

Thank you for taking time to check this article out PegCole17. I learned at least as much as my daughter when I home schooled her. These books are a wealth of information and especially helpful for elementary grades.


Au fait profile image

Au fait 2 years ago from North Texas Author

Peggy W, thank you for Google+ing, tweeting, pinning, and sharing this article! These books are a great way to make sure nothing is forgotten or left out of a well rounded education.


PegCole17 profile image

PegCole17 2 years ago from Dallas, Texas

This would probably be interesting reading to those of us who've been out of school for a while and our kids are already grown into adulthood. Thanks for pointing out this valuable source of reading and educational materials. Always a good find.


Peggy W profile image

Peggy W 2 years ago from Houston, Texas

Hi Au fait,

This information is definitely worth sharing and will do so by tweeting, G+ and pinning. Thanks for writing it. Will also share once again with HP followers.


Au fait profile image

Au fait 2 years ago from North Texas Author

MG Singh, thank you for stopping by and leaving a comment. Hope you enjoyed this review and learned something from it as I have done with yours.


Au fait profile image

Au fait 2 years ago from North Texas Author

Thank you Shyron, for voting on, pinning, and sharing this article! These books are updated regularly and therefore remain forever relevant. A great source for everyone, especially parents no matter what form of schooling they may choose for their children.


Au fait profile image

Au fait 2 years ago from North Texas Author

Thank you for stopping by Rebeccamealey!


Au fait profile image

Au fait 2 years ago from North Texas Author

Thank you moonlake, for voting on and sharing/pinning this review! More and more people are choosing homeschool for a lot of reasons, and working for our local school district, I can tell you that everyday I'm so thankful I home schooled my own daughter. Her education is superior AND she and our family avoided so much bureaucracy and problems originating from bureaucracy, you just do not know . . .


MG Singh profile image

MG Singh 2 years ago from Singapore

Thank you for an very informative review


Shyron E Shenko profile image

Shyron E Shenko 2 years ago

Au fait, I don't know how I missed this valuable hub, I thought I read every one of your hubs.

Voted up UAI, shared and pinned to Amazing HubPages board.


rebeccamealey profile image

rebeccamealey 2 years ago from Northeastern Georgia, USA

Thanks Au Fait. Sharing your great homeschooling tips!


moonlake profile image

moonlake 2 years ago from America

Good information that I am sure many home schoolers can use. After the shootings in school I am sure more parents are going to home school. Voted up, shared and pinned.


Au fait profile image

Au fait 3 years ago from North Texas Author

Thank you Peggy W for reading, voting, and sharing this hub! Everything you say is right on. This set of books has been updated regularly to keep it relevant and it's a great reference, and has excellent examples and explanations of everything it covers -- which is a considerable amount of material on every subject.


Peggy W profile image

Peggy W 3 years ago from Houston, Texas

Always good to hear about the best resources available and since you have personally used these books as a reference when homeschooling your own children...this information will be useful to many other people who may not be aware of this series. Even if not homeschooling, parents may be interested in reading these to make sure that their children are getting a well rounded education. After all, education is a 24 hour a day job and not only regulated to teachers during the hours spent at school. Voted UUI and will share.


Au fait profile image

Au fait 4 years ago from North Texas Author

Trsmd: Thank you for stopping to read and make comments. This set of books is full of great information for a more rounded educational experience.


Trsmd profile image

Trsmd 4 years ago from India

Nice review about the core knowledge series. It will really be helpful. Thanks for SHARING:)


clippy34 5 years ago

No, I wasn't aware of these books either.

Absolutely brilliant, thanks for bringing them to our attention.


mistifields profile image

mistifields 5 years ago

I was not aware of this series of books. Thanks for sharing.

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working