Philippines The Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao

The Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao

The Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM) is the fifth region of Mindanao. This was established by virtue of Republic Act No. 6734. This is composed of four provinces: Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao, Sulu and Tawi-Tawi. It has a semi-autonomous government. The government is headed by a governor elected by the people. It can pass and implement laws through the Local Council composed of representatives elected by the people.

The autonomous government sees to it that fast economic and social growth of its provinces is attained. It manages the schools and health centers. It has the right to approve and implement laws for the welfare of the region. However, it is not within the powers of the autonomous government to implement laws pertaining to national security and defense, banking, commerce and trade and foreign affairs.

Cultural Groups

Many people living in ARMM are Muslims. The Maranaos live in Lanao del Sur. The Muslims have a religion and culture of their own. The religion is called Islam. They call their God, Allah and their prophet, Mohammed. They worship Allah in their mosques.

More by this Author


No comments yet.

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.

    Click to Rate This Article