jump to last post 1-5 of 5 discussions (6 posts)

Advice for Future Math Major from People Who've "Been There"?

1. Lisa HW profile image84
    Lisa HWposted 7 years ago

A high-school student asked for my opinion on selecting a minor; but since I've never worked in a math-related field I'm not the one to even be able to offer any specific resources for people trying to make this decision.

Here's the question:

"....I have an interest in mathematics and I will be taking ap calculus in my senior year. I am a fairly good student in math. In my junior year, I took geometry and pre-cal. I got a low B in geometry and low A in pre-cal. My main reason for emailing you is that I am confused about what minor i should take if I wanted to major in math. The minors would be between two choices either business or technology such as acccounting or computer science. I would be grateful if you had any personal advice about the two or anything else...."

Does anyone who has experience with majoring in math, working in any of the areas mentioned, etc. have ideas or suggestions for resources?  How about people familiar with trends in what's likely to offer the best options for upcoming students?   Thanks on behalf of the young woman trying to decide.   smile

2. BrianFanslau profile image60
    BrianFanslauposted 7 years ago

I would say that it truly depends on their interest and what they would use their math skills for.

Ask her if she wants to work in business. Is she someone who has "internal drive" (motivated and takes action) Does she like business or would she rather interpret numbers from the field.

once you know what she desires to accomplish a minor is perfect for pointing out what someone side passion is for.