What is the point of College any more?

Jump to Last Post 1-6 of 6 discussions (10 posts)
  1. StacieFace profile image58
    StacieFaceposted 12 years ago

We spend all of this time waking up each day, going to class and maintaining good grades to FINALLY earn a degree. But what then?!
    Degrees end up just being a piece of paper we strived and sweated to get that just sit in a nice frame on our wall.
    Is it just me or is it the job experiences we have that really teach us about the job market? I feel like we spend all of this money and energy going to college to learn a foundation and then we get into our careers and its almost nothing like what we learned.
    Your thoughts?

1. Shanna11 profile image75
      Shanna11posted 12 years agoin reply to this

Well, I'm in college right now, so I certainly hope this isn't the case!

I work as a dishwasher right now and if anything, it's solidifying the idea that a college degree will help me earn more money and a better job than washing other people's dishes.

Sometimes you just have to play the game, I guess.

Edit: Besides, I love college. It's a great time to get out on my own without REALLY being out on my own. I'm thousands of miles away from my family, learning how to be an adult and yet, I'm still in an environment that understands I'm still growing up-- which is much more beneficial to me personally than being introduced immediately to the working, adult world straight after high school.

2. calpol25 profile image58
    calpol25posted 12 years ago

I never went to college, and went straight in to work from I was 16yrs old and I have to admit I learned alot more about life and gained alot of insight and experience in the working field that way. I have seen people who come from college in to the working field and some do struggle because what they have learned in a classroom is different to the job they usually do and so can take a lot longer for them to adapt. smile

3. StacieFace profile image58