jump to last post 1-4 of 4 discussions (13 posts)

What makes philosophy philosophy?

1. 0
    beaddveposted 4 years ago

When I told people I studied philosophy, most people think I am cool and smart. Some people think I studied in religion or God.

In fact, studying philosophy is not all about God and religion.

So, what makes philosophy philosophy?

1. MarleneB profile image94
      MarleneBposted 4 years ago in reply to this

After I studied philosophy at the university, I walked away feeling as if philosophy was nothing more then someone's opinion about something - that a whole lot of people are intrigued about and happen to agree with - since that person found a way to put it all down on paper.

2. paradigmsearch profile image91
      paradigmsearchposted 4 years ago in reply to this

Our attempts to theorize about things that we cannot figure out emperically.

3. couturepopcafe profile image60
      couturepopcafeposted 4 years ago in reply to this

One's thoughts become words become actions become habits become lifestyle becomes one's philosophy.

2. knolyourself profile image60
    knolyourselfposted 4 years ago

Defining terms and trying to resolve questions.

1. ptosis profile image78
      ptosisposted 4 years ago in reply to this

Hello no, every "answer' brings even more questions. - It's never a "done deal" we've figured it all out, no need for anymore discussion. It's always an endless 'blah, blah'blah' that never resolves anything.

3. Ron Montgomery profile image60
    Ron Montgomeryposted 4 years ago

The fact that it makes no sound when it falls in the forest...

1. Cagsil profile image83
      Cagsilposted 4 years ago in reply to this

lol lol lol

2. 0
      beaddveposted 4 years ago in reply to this

This could be the best answer! LOL

4. Cagsil profile image83
    Cagsilposted 4 years ago

phi·los·o·phy   [fi-los-uh-fee]  Show IPA
    noun, plural phi·los·o·phies.