10 Best Websites For Music Reviews

 

Music is very important to me, but so is money. So when I hear that I should buy so and so's album or such and such's band ep I like to do a little investigating for myself before I fork out the $12-$20.

10. Music-reviewer.com

Music reviews that are honest, and not completely dry, are hard to come by. Introducing a non-paid off music review site. There aren't many features and it's a far throw from my number one spot, but it's better than a lot of music reviews.

9. Spin.com (aka Indie heaven)

If someone told you "You'll never hear them on the radio, but this band is AMAZING" the best place to find the review is Spin. If you are looking for a review on something that other people will listent to this is not the place. They are a little biased against people who get attention from the media, so I don't listen to their opinions on pop or anything mainstream. They'll pretty much hate on anything you can hear on the radio.

8. Altpress.com (aka Screamo/Emo/Hardcore/ Pop punk)

Alternative press reviews can be a little fluffy, but most are down to the point and honest. You can hardly find an album that has 4 or 5 stars, which means they grade pretty brutally, but fairly. If you're looking for hip hop or rap reviews this is not the place to be. These reviews are honest but tend to stick to the few core genres. I use these reviews quite often, but they don't cover all genres.

7. Billboard.com ( All encompassing)

This articles do indeed have quite a bit of shameless promotion, but if you're looking for what's gonna be big next, Billboard is the way to go. They are not completely bought out and do have some honest reviews. The reviews aren't what take me to this website, but following the charts is a pretty good determiner. If indie music is your game, this isn't the website for you, but other than that this website will help you out. Sometimes you need to just watch the market instead of reading all the reviews of the stocks, so this is the website that brings that to the music world.

6. crediblemusicreviews.com (Mainstream)

If you're looking for a review of pretty much any type of music but something you'll hear on a top 10 countdown, here is the website. The reviews are brutally honest and the star ratings don't range much higher than 2, but it's honest and it's a good comprehensive site.

5. Rollingstone.com (hear for yourself)

I'm sure you were expecting Rolling stone to be earlier or later on this list, but I don't think it's horrible or splendid. The fact that reviews are far and few between if it's not super popular, but the fact that if Rolling Stone has heard of the band you're able to listen to the songs. I love that. It gives you the chance to review music for yourself, but it doesn't give you a huge idea if it's going to stick. Sure you like that song but do you want to pay all that money for those songs? Only time will tell, so being able to listen to the songs is good, but it doesn't make up for the fac that there are so few reviews.

4. nytimes.com/pages/arts/music/

I bet you weren't expecting to see the New York Times on here. This website isn'tthe best for new music, but if you're into older music and you're looking into reviews of them and for news of them this is the website. They do include some reviews of newer super popular stuff. I would recommend this site for people who want reviews of popular stuff as well as updates on the older stuff.

3. Allmusicguide.com

This website gives comprehensible backgrounds and actually recomends artists and albums that go along with that type of music. Most websites give you popular bands that are "vaguely" similar, but this website doesn't discriminate and gives an equal spot to indie and pop. This website also, for once, has a search engine that actually works. THis website is good if you want to know about your artist as well as know if they're any good.

2. artistdirect.com

Can a music review site actually combine buying music, reviews, vides and not make it to number one? sadly yes. This website is nearly perfect, nearly. It has good honest reviews, and includes videos in the artist overview. This website also shamelessly promotes the pop and massivly huge bands. I looked up a rock band and my suggestions were Plain White T's and Panic at the Disco. I don't really mind, but I would rather have had bands that actually apply. Other than that, this website is nearly perfect.

1. iTunes Store

I know you weren't expecting that. I find that most reviews written on itunes are honest, true and nonbiased. Sure there are gonna be a few "OMG BEZT BAND EVRRRRRRR" but there are also quite a few good reviews.

To tell you the truth I think the best way to review music is to listen to it yourself. Try using Allmusicguide.com and listen to the music. Good Luck! And Happy Hunting for GREAT music.

Comments 55 comments

Devils Gurl 7 years ago

I can recommend 2 others.....

www.musicemissions.com

www.cdbaby.com


Wyldflow3r profile image

Wyldflow3r 6 years ago

Very informative!!


brian 6 years ago

Altho Allmusicguide is fairly comprehensive with great reviews, there are a HUGE number of broken links, some even from the main navigation. It may be that my main areas of interest are a bit marginal - heavy gothic metal - it stills seems strange to have so many dud links.


BenLowe profile image

BenLowe 6 years ago from Austin, TX

Some other good ones:

allmusic.com - incredible and comprehensive site

pitchfork.com - if you're into some indie, underground, and non-mainstream stuff


lukeyg83 profile image

lukeyg83 6 years ago from Leicester

Great hub, id like to throw my site into the ring as well if I may:

http://all-noise.co.uk

We aim for honest, well-written reviews that are comprehensive as well as entertaining.

nme.com is also a good one, although they do try too hard to be distinctive and idiosyncratic rather than actually tell you what it sounds like!


Album 5 years ago

Wow, all these sites are pretty good

http://albumdownload.org/


DanielCook profile image

DanielCook 5 years ago from London

Pitchfork is great


Peter Falkenberg Brown 5 years ago

I'd like to recommend "MusicViews", a column published in the Significato Journal, written by Kimmy Sophia Brown, at:

http://significatojournal.com/columns/musicviews

Reviews focus on independent music and music that Kimmy Sophia loves, and wants to share with others.

... and yes, Kimmy Sophia and I are the co-publishers of said journal :-).

Peter Falkenberg Brown


overmatik 5 years ago

Pitchfork is terrible. Just read the review of the last Kanye West album. They gave it a 10.


hindisongs profile image

hindisongs 5 years ago

This is a good information i got from here.


Spuderrific 5 years ago

For rants and stories masquerading as thorough reviews, see www.mylesreviews.com.


fergus 5 years ago

hi, really good stuff guys. I am based in ireland and seems to be crazy system out there ! i been recording with 3 artists who have worked with the likes of david Gray,Michael Stipes, Malcom Mc Claren, Van Morrison, Ron Wood I kid you not ! see www.stillwatersessions.com Top 10 album charts 3 times but tryin to get a few words of space in America just seems impossible. have journalists in Europe who are now taking interest but would think pedigree alone would at least count for a looksee in US at least!happening on both sides for us and the listener thanks for this info and will give it a shot guys !


progfrog 5 years ago

www.progarchives.com is the definitive place to go for those who like rio/avant progressive,jazz fusion, electronic music, and traditional symphonic progressive bands. A good source for listed personnel on albums, new releases. Interesting forums as well


Ronald 5 years ago

I am very pleased with the product Butler Patches provided for me. Also, I was extremely impressed with the turn around time and how quickly my order arrived at my door. Well done! I will definitely order from Butler Patches again!

Buttler Patches


Lydia Kanthak profile image

Lydia Kanthak 5 years ago from Chicago

Great article! I love reading music reviews, so it's great to have some new places to find them.


SteelTom 5 years ago

nice! thanks for the music site tips.


Mark Brewster 5 years ago

I like adriandenning.co.uk


Spineless 5 years ago

err Sputnik?


daviddwarren22 profile image

daviddwarren22 5 years ago

Thanks for the reviews.


lizzie c 5 years ago

If you like 60s and 70s music the best review site around is www.alansalbumarchives.moonfruit.com - it has so much detailed information!


xinaida 5 years ago

Quite useful information. I also add Metacritic.com, which encompasses various magazine, newspaper & web reviews, as well as users' reviews.


gaunge 5 years ago

Here is a great site that reviews unsigned bands.. www.musicreviewunsigned.com number 1 in our book..


Keith 5 years ago

Music Emissions does podcasts of strictly unsigned or smaller bands every month. Been using that site for years.


Lee Fitz 4 years ago

I have another one for you; MetalTalk.net! Pretty much targeted towards rock and metal fans and not right across the board but really indepth news, features and reviews in these genres! \m/


Carl 4 years ago

A great site for reviews of both indie music and major labels is Spectrum Culture (http://www.spectrumculture.com/). Very honest, unbiased reviews, and well written


Frankie 4 years ago

Allmusicguide WAS good, but isn't any longer in my experience. They did have unbiased views on any genre for what it was, from Debussy to Placebo to Elton John to Trance, they were invariably right on the money. Something must have changed because now they tend to miss the mark on a regular basis, they're just plain wrong much of the time ...hence my search for your site reviews. Some great options. Thanks!


Dick Metcalf 4 years ago

Music can also be submitted for review to my magazine, IMPROVIJAZZATION NATION, up & running since 1990... at http://rotcodzzaj.com/wordpress/?page_id=42


jay 4 years ago

Placing iTunes at number one is absolutely shameless.


maika 4 years ago

Music Video, website of ASCAP, music very, very good

http://maxiocio.net


Lydia Holland 4 years ago

This website is rubbish.


Albert 4 years ago

I'm going to recommend also www.romanmidnightmusic.blogspot.com for rock & metal across the spectrum, indie & mainstream, very honest (really), informative.


Rick 4 years ago


Candice 4 years ago

music emissions


lukecore profile image

lukecore 3 years ago from Manchester

I used this page as a rough guide for people to bother with my press release! Thanks!


Scott 3 years ago

Check out Blues Rock Review bluesrockreview.com for lots of up and coming blue rock artist.


Scott 3 years ago

a new up-and-coming website featuring new bands:

http://ampkicker.com


Jake 3 years ago

I like Beardfood because of the easy to read shot album reviews:

http://beardfood.com


Chris 3 years ago

I checked it out and Beardfood.com is great


anarchyintheuk 3 years ago

I would also like to add

http://indiebandsblog.com

As a good source for brand new bands


helloeveryonehere 3 years ago

I like todaysmusicreviews.com

It reviews popular music


aahhhdjsdhsidss 3 years ago


Anon 3 years ago

Pitchfork is terrible? Seriously? They may not rate music according to general preferences but they rate music as what it is, music. They comment on every single element of it based on its genre, and they review EVERYTHING.


Dmh0129 3 years ago

I just got some free iTunes from freeitunesforever com


Dvda777 3 years ago

wow! I just received an iTunes card pin number for free from this site freeitunesforever[dot]com :D


Russell English 3 years ago

Another great review site is http://www.a3musiconline.com they are a online reviews site for new music and established artists.


Woowoowoo 3 years ago

Wow, I cant believe they forgot sputnikmusic. That's the best


Jeffree Benet profile image

Jeffree Benet 3 years ago

Sometimes the best music sites don't just have reviews written by snobby critics, but by the bands themselves. Few musicians would aggrandise themselves for fear of looking like fools, so you can get some really great insights into the music. http://www.gashaus.com is one such site, so if you'd like to submit a review or read a few, I highly recommend!


Gerry 3 years ago


Blake 3 years ago

SERIOUSLY, you forgot http://todaysmusicreviews.com? Best ever.


peter fangorn 2 years ago

http://www.highcut.org has really good reviews of the latest realeases in the music scene. It's all about electronic music later than 2010 releases. Avantgarde music


Chris 2 years ago

I'm just going to throw my indie oriented review website out there. I also write some content on film and helping musicians out with setting up studios and such. I won't say it's "the best" out there, but I'd love to hear some opinions if anyone has some to offer.

http://www.heartheindie.com


Johnk471 2 years ago

I do trust all of the ideas you've presented in your post. They're very convincing and can certainly work. Nonetheless, the posts are very short for beginners. May just you please lengthen them a bit from next time? Thanks for the post. eedgckdbkkda


DivaShane 2 years ago

I just recently launched a music review site myself. It's mostly indie and "new" bands that I am reviewing though I have done some major label stuff. I get all my submissions off twitter so it's whoever asks for a review gets one. I try to be honest with all my reviews but it would be nice to get a bit of feedback from users on the site. If you get a chance to check it out leave me a note and let me know what you think. http://www.musicbank.co


james 23 months ago


baha 18 months ago

This list is a joke

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working