Carl the Critic: Reviews "The Avengers" [Caution: Contains Semi-Spoilers About What Happens After the Credits]

"The Avengers" Trailer

Introduction

Ladies and gentleman...

This is it...

The big one...

One of the biggest nerdgasmic films of 2012...

I was initially going to review "The Raven", because I was in a mood that made me want to review a bad movie, but after a bunch of friends convinced me to watch "The Avengers" I couldn't refuse.

So enough back story, let's get to the synopsis.

Story

Our story starts with Nick Fury getting off his helicopter to investigate why the Tesseract (a cube full of Smurf Sperm) is opening up a portal to another world. Suddenly a mysterious figure named Loki appears, kills a bunch of people, and controls the minds of Clint Barton (aka Hawkeye) and Dr. Erik Selvig to do his bidding. He also steals the Tesseract cube and this leads to Fury to call upon the superheros for help:

  • Agent Natasha Romanoff (aka Black Widow) a Russian assassin with an American accent, who has the special powers of kicking ass.
  • Dr. Bruce Banner (aka The Jolly Green Giant, aka Hulk) a scientist who was struck with gamma radiation, and turns green and gets larger whenever he gets angry.
  • Tony Stark (aka Iron Man) basically Marvel's version of Batman, except not as tortured, has no heart, and is ego centric.
  • Steve Rogers (aka Captain America) Chris Evans! That's all!
  • The only one who isn't really called to help, but comes anyway is Thor (aka... Thor) the Norse god of thunder and war, who is Loki's brother... sort of

I am only mentioning this about the superheros because there are some people who are not familiar with these comic book characters probably because they have been living under rocks for the past 73 years.

Anyway, it's the goal of our heroes to stop Loki, retrieve the Tesseract cube, save the world, and blah blah blah.

If you are a 15 boy year old, please wipe the drool off your face right now. It is really grossing me out.

Okay good, let's move on!

Critique

This is a film that is made for a particular audience; One that has watched all of the Marvel movies in theaters, waited until the very end, and became really hyped about the idea of seeing almost all of them together. Aka NERDS!

Though to be fair, "The Avengers" doesn't entirely limit its audience. There are many gags in the film that can be enjoyed by almost everyone. However it does help to watch the previous Marvel movies since "Iron Man" to get properly hyped up and introduced to the characters.

The biggest problem the film has in my opinion is its lack of focus. You see "The Avengers" has the main plot that I mentioned above, but there is also many other subplots including:

  • a subplot of the avengers working as a team
  • relations between the characters
  • getting Hawkeye and Dr. Selvig out of Loki's mind control
  • prevent Bruce Banner from getting angry

This isn't really that big of an issue, and it's hard to get angry at an action film when you see scenes like when Hulk confronts Loki, and Loki gives an emotional speech of how he is a god, only to be picked up mid-sentence and smashed against the ground repeatedly like a cg rag doll. Although 0.01% of the special effects were cheesy, 99.99% of the time they were very well rendered! Cinematography was weird in this film; The majority of the time the camera would be either looking up from beneath a character, tilted at an angle, or both, and it was distracting for me, however it wasn't as bad as say "Battlefield Earth" where every shot was tilted at an angle for no reason. The only other big issue I can think of was that the film felt like it was 3 hours long (it's actually 143 minutes), but again this isn't a big deal because if I know you, you will be enjoying the movie too much to care about the time.

Despite its shortcomings, I enjoyed "The Avengers". It was funny, action packed, and is one of the best films of the year (so far).

Overall

I give "The Avengers" 9.5 out of 10.

What About You?

If you have seen, "The Avengers", what did you think?

See results without voting

After the Credits

Some people may have left right after the movie was over and may have missed the two post-credit scenes. So in case you did, here they are.

  • We are introduced to a new threat at the end of the film, and although many people say that the villain in the end credits is "Super Skrull", others say it is "Thanos". I'm not entirely sure myself, but the character at the end credits looked more like Thanos than Super Skrull. All I know is that the character looked like this:

Source

Super Skrull looks like this:

Source

and Thanos looks like this

Source

Feel free to leave me your insightful comments below to debate who it is.

  • At the very, very end after the credits, the Avengers are at a shawarma restaurant that Tony Stark mentioned earlier, eating in dead silence.

Copyrights

This article was written and edited by Carl the Critic © 2012 HubPages.com

More by this Author


Comments 35 comments

Sunshine625 profile image

Sunshine625 4 years ago from Orlando, FL

I can't believe I'm a NERD! Thanks for not having any spoilers since I haven't seen the movie yet, I'm going next weekend. My husband is the superhero fanatic and we saw all the movies. Captain America is his main man! Thank you for the awesome review as always!:)


CarltheCritic1291 profile image

CarltheCritic1291 4 years ago Author

lol Based on this film, Hulk is my fav. Thank you very much Linda, I hope you (and your husband) like the movie :)


Reviewsfromkyle profile image

Reviewsfromkyle 4 years ago from Dryden, Ny

I thought it was pretty good, I agree with most of what your saying. I saw this movie at midnight and the crowd was pumped. Lots of clapping and cheering during the movie. Good review Carl.


Lyn.Stewart profile image

Lyn.Stewart 4 years ago from Auckland, New Zealand

voted up and interesting ... I used to love reading all these comics when I was a kid. Hides my collection of hero movies. I will be going to see this one as soon as I can. thanks.


CarltheCritic1291 profile image

CarltheCritic1291 4 years ago Author

@Reviewsfromkyle: Thanks very much for the comment Kyle. Their were a lot of clapping and cheering at my theater as well, especially with the Hulk vs. Loki scene :) Thanks again for your comment.

@Lyn.Stewart: I hope you enjoy the film as much as I did, thank you for the comment and votes :) (it's okay, I've got a collection of comics and movies too).


tammyswallow profile image

tammyswallow 4 years ago from North Carolina

You know, these movies are normally so full of chicks in spandex that they don't appeal to most women. This one looks like it may have something for the ladies and that is a nice change. Haven't seen it yet, but after your review, I want to see it. Great review!


emilybee profile image

emilybee 4 years ago

Yay I get to see this tomorrow :) I said that with sarcasm but I'm actually a little physced to see it now after reading your hub and I heard on the radio the Avengers box office profits this weekend beat out Harry Potter for the big record. Gotta see what all the hype is about :) Voted up.


John Sarkis profile image

John Sarkis 4 years ago from Los Angeles, CA

Hi Carl, I just saw film 6 hours ago. I enjoyed very much. The music was pretty good. When the credits appeared and I saw that Alan Silvestri was the composer, I wasn't surprised one bit; he's one of the most underated film composer around. Additionally, the actors did pretty good in their roles.

Thanks and take care

John


CarltheCritic1291 profile image

CarltheCritic1291 4 years ago Author

@tammyswallow: Yeah, "The Avengers" is eye candy for both sexes. It has the kick ass action for the guys, and the gorgeous men for the ladies. Definitely check this movie out whenever you can it's really good :)

@emilybee: Okay, well I hope you do give the film a chance, and thank you for your comment and vote :)

@John Sarkis: Yeah, Alan Silvestri has been doing a lot of music for the action/adventure films lately. I really like his stuff, even for films like "Beowulf" or that "G.I. Joe" movie. He really is underrated, but respected in the film community. And I agree the acting was very good.

Thanks for the comment :)


AliceFSpencer profile image

AliceFSpencer 4 years ago from Texas

Thanks Carl just watched the movie a few hours ago it was good I do agree it felt long but funny and action packed watched Thor for the first time today too it's a must see enjoyed


Arlene V. Poma 4 years ago

Hey, Carl. Thank you for your review. Me and hubby viewed the film this afternoon after being turned away for the first showing for 3-D. Had to buy our tickets in advance and return like everyone else. People were lined up because the movie had sold out for the day. Lots of action in this movie, but these days, it's the beefcake that will keep me interested in a movie. Of course, I wasn't disappointed. If we don't see this again, we will have a copy for our movie collection at home. But I have to warn you that we are tasteless movie goers who enjoy just about anything.


wewillmake profile image

wewillmake 4 years ago from kerala-INDIA

Its fully loaded with the extreme action... Total entertainer..


Teddy 4 years ago

Hey Carl, great great review. Quick question, after Loki has that little Chat with Hulk about how he is a god and all that, Hulk says something as he walks away. What did he say? Folks were shouting so much i didn't catch it. Hope you can help me out.


Man from Modesto profile image

Man from Modesto 4 years ago from Kiev, Ukraine (formerly Modesto, California)

The face at the end looks a little like Fender, from Robots.

Between Thanos and Skrull... the image looks like Thanos: purple face, not green, and consider the teeth: Skrull has a nice set. Thanos has large ogre teeth.


CarltheCritic1291 profile image

CarltheCritic1291 4 years ago Author

Oh wow so many comments! :D Let me see:

@AliceFSpencer: I'm glad you enjoyed both of those movies, I did as well :)

@Arlene V. Poma: lol well thanks for sharing, and I'm glad you liked the movie and my review.

@wewillmake: Very true, and insightful

@Teddy: lol I'm sorry Teddy, I couldn't hear what he said as he walked away either, everyone was too busy cheering, and laughing. I wasn't even sure if he could talk myself however that's just me. Thanks for the question, we can see if anyone else heard it too.

If anyone knows what Hulk says after he beats and walks away from Loki, please comment below!

@Man from Modesto: lol true, I feel like it is Thanos myself too, but I didn't want to commit because I was afraid that I would get a bunch of angry nerd hate mail saying "No it's Super Skrull because he looks like him in Avengers comic #123" So I'm allowing my readers to decide, and see if like me they think Thanos.

I like to thank you all for your comments, votes, and questions, feel free to to contact me again if you have any more.


Garlonuss profile image

Garlonuss 4 years ago from Saratoga Springs, Utah

Great hub. Great movie. Makes me really wonder what they have planned next. And breaking the domestic opening weekend box office record isn't anything to sneeze at. Not on purpose anyway.


bronx 4 years ago

@Carl & @Teddy: Hulk says, "Puny God," as he walks away from the buried and whimpering Loki.


CarltheCritic1291 profile image

CarltheCritic1291 4 years ago Author

@Garlonuss: Well, "The Avengers" is a film that was either going to be HUGELY successful, or fail miserably but because this film's marketing was smart, and careful it would have been surprising to me if the film did flop at the box office. Fortunately this wasn't the case, and we can only imagine what they will think of next... It might still take four years to hype up again, but we will see :) Thanks again for stopping by Garlonuss, greatly appreciated.

@bronx: Thank you very much.


Suelynn profile image

Suelynn 4 years ago from Manitoba, Canada

Hi CarltheCritic1291, I enjoyed your critique but personally don't include spoilers. I think we're in agreement about most of the movie. I saw the bit with (I think he looked like Thanos) but not the final bit re. eating shwarma! I was unfamiliar with these new bad guys. I would love you to pop over to my review and give me your feedback... so different to yours, and I enjoy the differences. :) Voted up and awesome.


rahul0324 profile image

rahul0324 4 years ago from Gurgaon, India

Carl.. my friend you are a perfect critic... and I assert that!

A great review ... I my self am a Superhero fanatic... and have watched it 3 times... since the opening

Thank you for such a great read!!

Shared all across


CarltheCritic1291 profile image

CarltheCritic1291 4 years ago Author

@Suelynn: Not a lot of people include spoilers in their review (I'm not entirely sure you can spoil a movie like "The Avengers" because almost all superhero movies end the same way), when I add spoilers it is usually because 1) people have already seen the movie, therefore they can read my thoughts and choose to agree or disagree, and 2) not everyone wants to watch the same movies as me, and therefore have the chance to see what will they miss out on. As for the very, very end after the credits, yes that was a very funny/awkward moment that I feel many people might miss out on (another reason why I give spoilers to tell people what they may have missed).

I did read your review, and I encourage my readers to read it as well, because I'm a firm believer of getting information from more than one source. I'll leave my comment on how I felt on your hub asap. Thanks for stopping by, leaving a great comment, and voting :)

@raul0324: Thank you very much for your support, I'm really glad that you enjoyed the movie. I read your review as well and found it very insightful. As with Suelynn, I encourage my readers to read yours as well.

Thanks again for your comments, and support, I greatly appreciate it :)


Nickalooch profile image

Nickalooch 4 years ago from Columbia, MD

Producer Kevin Feige has already confirmed that it was Thanos at the end. Since you spoke of cinematography, I am wondering if you caught on a goof when Tony and Bruce were talking to each other with a computer screen in between them. I noticed when the camera was looking at Bruce, Tony's reflection in the screen looked nothing like Robert Downey Jr, it looked more like a mannequin lol. Little things like that I pick up a lot more often having been in multiple film classes now lol.


Stevennix2001 profile image

Stevennix2001 4 years ago

well im glad you liked the film, as did i. it'll be interesting to see where they take things from here. good job as always. cheers. :)


Robwrite profile image

Robwrite 4 years ago from Bay Ridge Brooklyn NY

Hi Carl; I really enjoyed this film. A fun adaptation of the comic and an overall entertaining jaunt. Lots of fun.

That was definitely Thanos at the end. The "courting death" line was a hint to comic fans who know about Thanos being in love with the personification of death and wants to sacrifice the universe to her.

Nice review,

Rob


CarltheCritic1291 profile image

CarltheCritic1291 4 years ago Author

Hey Guys, thank you for your patients:

@Nickalooch: I'm very happy you mentioned that, now I am 100% positive that it is Thanos. As for the goof, actually no I didn't but I'm glad you spotted it, so next time I will as well :) I guess, for me at least, if a movie is really bad I would notice things like that, but I didn't get much chance to see any in this film.

@Stevennix2001: Thanks Steve, it will be interesting :)

@Robwrite: Thanks very much for the insight, and I am 100% sure now that it is Thanos. I am glad you have had fun with the film :)

@All: Thank you all for your comments and votes. :)


Nickalooch profile image

Nickalooch 4 years ago from Columbia, MD

Joss Whedon's a good director, but in terms of that goof...it is high profile actors so I would imagine that they didn't always have the actor there with another actor in the scene.


CarltheCritic1291 profile image

CarltheCritic1291 4 years ago Author

Maybe there was a shot of Robert Downey Jr that was initially suppose to be used, but it may have been misplaced, or unusable, and so they had to try to recreate him in post-production. I'd have to see it to know for sure. Making movies can be frustrating, and movies never really turn out 100% the way you envisioned them in the script, and things happen that are beyond your control. But even so, "The Avengers" was still a great film, and it is very successful so all's well :)

Thanks again Nickalooch for the comment


Homechef profile image

Homechef 4 years ago

Nothing special but very fun movie, if you just want to relax and enjoy some action and humor.

I personally didn't see all the other superhero movies that preceded that one, but I enjoyed nonetheless


Wesley Meacham profile image

Wesley Meacham 4 years ago from Wuhan, China

Dude, I loved the movie. I can not say that it is the best movie ever. I don't know that I would say that about any movie. However I've not enjoyed a movie this much in a long time. I will admit that I am a bit of a nerd and have been looking forward to the Avengers. But... I've been looking forward to it with mixed feelings. I was half way expecting to be disappointed. This movie did not disappoint me at all. I enjoyed every moment of it and am currently looking forward to seeing the Amazing Spiderman.


anivardiashvili profile image

anivardiashvili 4 years ago from Georgia

Great hub. Great movie. Makes me really wonder what they have planned next. And breaking the domestic opening weekend box office record isn't anything to sneeze at. Not on purpose anyway.


Rev Troxell profile image

Rev Troxell 4 years ago from Virginia

Just based on the fact that there is more post credits scenes to wet the appetite for more movies makes me excited to go see the movie! Thanks for the great review.


RicoShae profile image

RicoShae 4 years ago from Ballwin, mo

I didn't think I would like this movie, but I ended up enjoying it. I thought it was a little long and some of the beginning seemed a little unnecessary, but it was still good and I liked that it had a lot of humor in it as well.


CarltheCritic1291 profile image

CarltheCritic1291 4 years ago Author

Hello everyone.

I'm very sorry it took so long to reply to your comments, I have just taken a final exam for school and am now ready to reply to you all.

@Homechef: Very true, and I'm glad you enjoyed the film.

@Wesley Meacham: I too had mixed feelings about the movie before I saw it. The trailers weren't that great in my opinion, but still I'm glad I saw it. I hope to see "The Amzing Spiderman" as well when it comes out, and get to review it.

@anivariaashvili: Well, "The Avengers" is a film that was either going to be HUGELY successful, or fail miserably but because this film's marketing was smart, and careful it would have been surprising to me if the film did flop at the box office. Fortunately this wasn't the case, and we can only imagine what they will think of next... It might still take four years to hype up again, but we will see :) Thanks again for stopping by, greatly appreciated.

@Rex Troxell: Your welcome Rev, thank you for stopping by and reading my review :)

@RicoShae: Me too, thank you for your input RicoShae :)


Ryan-Palmsy profile image

Ryan-Palmsy 4 years ago from In a Galaxy far, far away

Awesome Hub, very awesome move! I can't wait for the DVD to be honest and wonder what's next in Marvel's agenda!


CarltheCritic1291 profile image

CarltheCritic1291 4 years ago Author

Well, there's "The Amazing Spider-Man", then from what I can tell "Iron Man 3", "Thor 2", "'The Incredible Hulk'", "Ant-Man", and "Captain America 2" as well as 8 other projects (including "Avengers 2"). Can't wait to see them, and hope "The Amazing Spider-Man" is good. Thanks for the comment Ryan-Palmsy, it's greatly appreciated :)

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working