ColdPlay Concert Review - Viva La Vida Tour - HOT!

Update: Congratulations to COLDPLAY, for receiving a Grammy Award! Way to go!

Talk to any Coldplay fans who were lucky enough to find themselves at the L.A. Forum on opening night of ColdPlay's Viva La Vida Concert - and they will agree - that COLDPLAY was so good - that it HURT! Or, if you have a coveted ticket in hand for an upcoming Viva La Vida concert - anywhere in the world.... here is what you can expect to EXPERIENCE also.

A packed house,with every seat filled - SOLD OUT! The tension of anticipation so extreme - that it could have snapped instantaneously -- Coldplay did not disappoint. As with any concert of a favorite band, of course you wished they would have sang a certain song that they did not... But, overall - ColdPlay did a great job of hitting some of the important old favorites and then making their new CD - Viva La Vida - more solid for all ColdPlay fans. Isn't that why a band goes on tour right after releasing a new CD? Fans buy it and the boys in the band - must stand behind it... or -- it could flop.

Not so with ColdPlay and their newest CD Viva La Vida. ColdPlay marketed the release of their latest CD - Viva La Vida - with precision. By the time Viva La Vida was actually released - ColdPlay fans were ready for the purchase -- immediately; and the dates for the anxiously awaited Viva La Vida Concert Tour!

Enjoy the ColdPlay fan videos that were taken at the opening night performance of ColdPlay Viva La Vida concert -- and remember that not only are these amateurs - it is a LIVE CONCERT!

Update: Coldplay just released two new complete music videos of the cover Viva La Vida -- First one is so great, featuring the entire band - the alternate video of Viva La Vida features Christ Martin and it is pretty cool too... Enjoy!

ColdPlay - Viva La Vida Official Music Video - Just Release

Christ Martin - ColdPlay Viva La Vida -Alternate Music Video

Viva La Vida - LIFE IN TECHNICOLOR - ColdPlay L.A. Forum Opening Night!

ColdPlay at The L.A. Forum - Viva La Vida!

Chris Martin of ColdPlay --- living the life!
Chris Martin of ColdPlay --- living the life!

≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈

ColdPlay Viva La Vida Concert Tour - HURT!

Some fans would say that ColdPlay is generous. Before the official release of Viva La Vida - they actually offered a FREE download at itunes, from their "soon" to be released CD - Viva La Vida. Smart.

ColdPlay does it again... in honor of their opening night of the Viva La Vida concert at the L.A. Forum - they have released another FREE download.... "Death Will Never Conquer". CRAZY? I don't think so.... it just makes YOU want to be there more.

Oh, by the way - I just happened to be one of those very lucky ColdPlay fans, that were at the opening night performance, in the LA Forum - for the Viva La Vida Concert... and let me just tell you... that I HURT!

When ColdPlay first announced the dates of the Viva La Vida Concert Tour - California ColdPlay fans were freaked out - because there were no scheduled stop in our towns. So, when they announced that that they had added Los Angeles, etc... to the tour - So Cal ColdPlay fans had to be there. First show for the L.A. Forum sold out immediately -- and so ColdPlay responded by adding a second night to the line-up.

ColdPlay Viva La Vida Concert L.A. Forum

ColdPlay Viva La Vida Concert Photos

ColdPlay ROCKED the L.A Forum to a sold-out house.
ColdPlay ROCKED the L.A Forum to a sold-out house.
Chris Martin of ColdPlay - L.A. Forum
Chris Martin of ColdPlay - L.A. Forum
ColdPlay Viva La Vida Concert Tour
ColdPlay Viva La Vida Concert Tour
ColdPlay Concert at the L.A Forum - Hot!
ColdPlay Concert at the L.A Forum - Hot!

ColdPlay Viva La Vida - Living the Life!

ColdPlay Viva La Vida Album Cover...
ColdPlay Viva La Vida Album Cover...

ColdPlay Viva La Vida and More...

ColdPlay In Concert - Viva La Vida - Review


Apparently, the Los Angeles Forum is one of the least desirable venues for a concert... especially for the world's best band - ColdPlay. But, happy fans didn't seem to complain much.... I can't say that for the critics though.

Daryl Morden of The Hollywood Reporter:

"Despite some free concerts in June that served as warm-up shows, the band was in work-out-the-kinks mode Monday. The Forum isn't known for pristine sound -- far from it -- but technology has improved, and yet the mix was surprisingly muddy, even shrill at times.


There was some gimmicky staging, with lasers right out of 1978 and dangling video globes and raining confetti that seemed more suited to the Hannah Montana set than Coldplay's adult audience, which also was heavily female.


The nearly 90-minute show kicked off with the instrumental "Life in Technicolor," which leads off Coldplay's chart-topping new album "Viva la Vida or Death and All His Friends" (Capitol). But the song is all buildup with no payoff, music in search of a film soundtrack. The band followed with the McCartneyesque current single "Violet Hill," which gave way to a gliding rendition of the older "Clocks" and head-bobbing "In My Place."

Personally, from the perspective of a fan and not a critic - I actually thought that both the confetti and the ball screens were cool... and I am an adult. I didn't think about Hannah Montana once. In fact, from what I could tell -the entire Forum went nuts all night long -- and there were as many guys as girls - in the seats next to mine. The 90 minute set that ColdPlay performed, seemed more like 15 minutes... and that is because COLDPLAY ROCKED!

COLDPLAY AT The Forum YELLOW Jul 14 2008

ColdPlay Concert Viva La Vida Set List

"Life in Technicolor"

"Violet Hill"

"Clocks"

"In My Place"

"Viva la Vida"

"42"

"Yes"

"The Scientist"

"Chinese Sleep Chant"

"God Put a Smile Upon Your Face"

"Square One"

"Speed of Sound"

"Trouble"

"Lost!"

"Strawberry Swing"

"Yellow"

"Death Will Never Conquer"

"Fix You"

"Lovers in Japan"

"Death and All His Friends"

"The Escapist"

ColdPlay Concert Memorable Moments...

Probably one of the coolest things that ColdPlay did at the Forum, was to break form and head up into one of the most remote seating sections, away from the main stage - the nose bleed section. With the Forum completely darkened and only a direct spotlight shining on the group... ColdPlay casually hung out on the stairs, right next to their loving fans. Playing an acoustic arrangement of "Yellow" and then "Death Will Never Conquer" -- they had all fans literally "singing" along -- right out of their hands. A unique and classic ColdPlay concert moment - for all. Very cool.

I found the best YouTube video of the "Yellow" moment that I could find right now. Perhaps you can get the idea.... but it might just be one of those things where you just had to "be" there.

Some other great moments for me were "In My Place" - which had everyone in the Forum on their feet with fists in the sky on "YEAH"! This was my third ColdPlay concert and every time - a great release of unified energy by the crowds on this number.

Tops on my list for the Viva La Vida concert, was when they did "Fix You". A major favorite for the audience, made evident by our singing falsetto with Chris Martin - regardless of how we must have all sounded! We was all feelin it.

I never come home from a ColdPlay concert without a major sore throat from screaming my guts out, because I have behaved like a teenager! lol I don't drink or do drugs - but I am a firm believer in concert hang-over. Someone needs to study such a phenomenon, because it is real.

Like I said... the ColdPlay concert was so good that it HURT!

COLDPLAY The Forum IN MY PLACE - Jul 14 2008

≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈

ColdPlay Concert Viva La Vida Fan Review

Okay, so I'm not a technical critic by any stretch of the imagination. But I am a bona-fide ColdPlay fan - and that makes my opinion of their latest concert - the Viva La Vida tour - credible. Well, at least I think so. You can search the Internet and find the official ColdPlay concert reviews - and they will give their "critique", because that is what they are paid to do - be critical.

However, if you really want to know about the Viva La Vida Concert - ignore the critics - and just check out the blogs and the forums online, where the Viva La Vida ColdPlay concert is being discussed by faithful fans. What you will find in review of ColdPlay - are pretty darn happy fans - that were totally thrilled to have a seat at a ColdPlay concert. You would be amazed at how many fans rate a ColdPlay concert as the best ever!

After seeing ColdPlay in concert - now three times - I am among this consensus. If you haven't become a ColdPlay fan yet -- because you are not familiar with their music - I think it is about time that you give ColdPlay a chance to win YOU over. You won't regret the exposure.

ColdPlay Concert Saying GoodNight... Viva La Vida!

≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈

ColdPlay Concert - Fan Review of Viva La Vida!

Yeah, I was definitely feeling as though I were living the life myself - while I was having the time of my life at the ColdPlay Viva La Vida Concert in the L.A. Forum this week. I could go on and on and tell you just how much I love every single number ColdPlay performed.

Instead, I will stop -- and instead, tell you that if you have the opportunity to get the the ColdPlay Viva La Vida Concert - by all means DO IT! I promise, that you will not be disappointed in the least - you might HURT a bit when it's over - but pain is good for you.

Oh, one more thing.... ColdPlay gave their first encore performance in three years -- at the L.A. Forum, and - I was there! Yeah!

Write On!

ColdPlay - Viva La Vida - Professional Recording!

≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈

Write-On! Acknowledgements and Request -

As always, IF you have enjoyed this Hub about ColdPlay - please Digg it, Stumble it, Bookmark it, etc... and don't forget to give it a BIG Thumbs-Up for me:-)

I love comments, so please leave one... at least.

Thanks to the diehard ColdPlay fans who shot these really cool videos from the Viva La Vida concert at the L.A. Forum and posted them on YouTube. I love them - brings back good memories right away.

Thanks also to ColdPlaying.com - these great photos of the ColdPlay Viva La Vida Concert are posted over there - more too, so check them out. If I can get the name of the actual photographer - I will post it.

Last, but not least - join by Fan Club. It's easy and you will receive an e-mail only when Write-On! publishes new Hubs. I would love to have you as a fan - or friend:-)

Thanks for reading.

Write On!

PLEASE DIGG THIS NOW! :-)

More by this Author


I would love to hear what you have to say about ColdPlay... 44 comments

In The Doghouse profile image

In The Doghouse 8 years ago from California

Write on,

Cold Play is a band that is so versatile. Some bands that are more hard core and fast paced don't utilized the instruments like Cold Play does. They use the piano very well to bring a softer feel and mellow sound to their music. I haven't heard the latest Cold Play release, Viva la Vida, I guess I missed the free download... but will check into purchasing it.

Great Coldplay concert review! How lucky you were to be there!


solarshingles profile image

solarshingles 8 years ago from london

Defunitly got my vote, because it is so packed with information about Coldplay Viva La Vida tour, so well written and well presented - a kind of a music multimedia bomb.


Write On! profile image

Write On! 8 years ago from United States Author

Doghouse -

ColdPlay is very versatile and this is one of the reason that they appeal to so many of different ages. They actually make music that people really enjoy listening to -- a lot. I hope you get the chance to listen to ColdPlay's latest CD, Viva La Vida - it really rocks. It is fast becoming a favorite of mine among the others.

The Viva La Vida world tour is worth trying to catch, if you are able. You won't regret it - ColdPlay rocked.

Write On!


Write On! profile image

Write On! 8 years ago from United States Author

SolarShingles -

Thanks. I'm really glad you enjoyed my very personal review of the ColdPlay Viva La Vida Concert. I suppose that I am hoping that those who were not there, will get a feel for what it was like to be at the concert. It was amazing. If you have the chance to see ColdPlay during their world tour - do it.

Write On!


funride profile image

funride 8 years ago from Portugal

I have read and listen to this hub and it made me enjoy ColdPlay even more. I wish I was also there ;)


Write On! profile image

Write On! 8 years ago from United States Author

funride -

Good... because that is what this reivew about the ColdPlay Viva La Vida Concert is meant to accomplish! What's even better - is that even though most all of the YouTube videos of the concert are major amateur, which really distorts the true sound of ColdPlay -- you like them even more. lol

I hope you listened to the very last ColdPlay video, to really hear them in quality:-) Like I tell everyone though, IF ColdPlay's world tour makes it to a town near you - GO!

Thanks for commenting and taking the time to listen to all the cool videos of ColdPlay in concert.

Write On!


robie2 profile image

robie2 8 years ago from Central New Jersey

Great hub--great videos-- they did make me feel like I was right there with ColdPlay and it was a fabulous feeling. Viva la Vida and thumbs up!


Write On! profile image

Write On! 8 years ago from United States Author

robie -

Viva la Vida it was! ColdPlay was great on their opening night at the Forum. Yes, these videos really give you the feel of being there... and for me, every time that I watch them. I guess it is no secret that I am a true ColdPlay fan:-)

Viva La Vida!

Write On!


Listessa profile image

Listessa 8 years ago from Your Sub-conscious

nice hub on this band! i should see them - thumbs up for you!


Write On! profile image

Write On! 8 years ago from United States Author

Listessa -

Thanks. Definitely see the Viva La Vida concert if you can. ColdPlay was so good.

Write On!


Varun 8 years ago

I attended the Chicago concert last night ! it was pretty much the same sequence of events ! It was mindblowing. ! without a doubt, it was the Best Coldplay concert ever !


Write On! profile image

Write On! 8 years ago from United States Author

Varun -

Here is to Viva La Vida! Cool. So does this mean that the guy from the Hollywood Reporter just did not know what he was talking about? LOL Whatever ColdPlay's kinks might have been on opening night at the L.A. Forum - we the fans could have basically cared less...

ColdPlay rocked a the Forum and as expected they will do in every venue and city they attack! Here is to COLDPLAY in your city of Chicago!

Thanks for the report.

Write On!


babybrownfox profile image

babybrownfox 8 years ago

They are one of my favorite bands.. Would love to see them live someday... Viva!!!


Write On! profile image

Write On! 8 years ago from United States Author

babybrownfox -

Welcome to the club! I really do hope you get to see ColdPlay LIVE someday. If the Viva La Vida concert is anywhere within a reasonable driving distance from where you live... it is worth the road trip.

Great to know other ColdPlay fans at the Hub.

Viva La Vida Forever!

Write On!


koncling profile image

koncling 8 years ago from Nice Winding Room

love coldplay


Write On! profile image

Write On! 8 years ago from United States Author

koncling -

Back atch ya! ColdPlay 4-ever!

Viva La Vida!

Write On!


girl_named_yellow profile image

girl_named_yellow 8 years ago

I went to the Toronto show last night, and it was arguably the best night of my life! the organization, the strobe lighting, and the intensity of the crowd really put into perspective just how far Coldplay have come. Eventhough my ears were ringing for quite some time after, it was well worth it. I've been waiting to see them for many years now, and it was worth all this waiting! I really appreciate what coldplay have done throughout their career. Not only have they made fantastic music that really puts many bands to shame today, they have used this enormous world platform they have built for so many years now, and put it to good use. I think that the political aspect of this new album is FANTASTIC, and it does what music was meant to do--UNITE. They are probably the one and only band from contemporary music that has accomplished this. Whether you're from Chicago, Osaka, Madrid, or even from Toronto, its easy to see that Coldplay have a fanbase wherever they choose to perform, and so they merit an applause and a standing ovation from this Torontonian, and i can only hope that Coldplay's potential at longevity aids them even more in creating more incredible music, and uniting people from all over the globe! VIVA LA VIDA!!!!!


Write On! profile image

Write On! 8 years ago from United States Author

girl_named_yellow

Rock ON! I feel the enthusiasm in your voice from seeing the Viva La Vida ColdPlay concert! I agree with everything you have said here...

ColdPlay are a band that know how to bring people together... be it a concert or a cause, ColdPlay is using their gift of music to bring people from all over the world - together.

About their music.... ColdPlay knows music! I love how they use all facets of their musicality to arrange each song that they bring to the table. ColdPlay are always interesting to listen to as a band and never ever boring or monotonous. I do believe that is why they are able to hold my personal attention soooo well:-)

Thanks for commenting.

Write On!


spirit of rock 8 years ago

well said girl_named_yellow!!!!! i agree ENITRELY :)


ProCW profile image

ProCW 8 years ago from South Carolina

Sounds like you enjoy the concerts!! :) I enjoyed the hub!! Fun videos. I'm wondering when they're coming to South Carolina... maybe I'll check their site.

Great hub! Thumbs up and fanned! :)

ProCW


Write On! profile image

Write On! 8 years ago from United States Author

ProCW -

I enjoy ColdPlay... a lot:-) I am picky about my concert going and seeing the Viva La Vida world tour was a definite must DO. I do hope ColdPlay hits your town and you have the opportunity to see them in concert -- LIVE.

A great experience.

Write On!


rb77 profile image

rb77 8 years ago from Las Vegas

Good hub, seems there is no recession at there concerts?


guidebaba profile image

guidebaba 8 years ago from India

Cold Play - Viva La Vida !@#


Write On! profile image

Write On! 8 years ago from United States Author

rb77 -

Well, if I am any indicator of the recession affecting Coldplay - none! LOL After purchasing the must-have Viva La Vida concert t-shirts, and then some, call me "sucker"! But, I did think the stuff was too expensive. Like I said... "ColdPlay were so good, that it hurt" - there you have it:-)

More ways than one...

Write On!


Write On! profile image

Write On! 8 years ago from United States Author

guidebaba-

I hear ya! Viva La Vida LIvEs forever:-)

Write On!


oddie! 8 years ago

I saw them!! At the Forum in LA! I saw them with my mom (I'm 11 years old), she introdunced me to Coldplay. Btw, the concert was AMAZING! More amazing than my first concert, Avril Lavigne, don't get me wrong I like her and all but it was not as AMAZING as COLDPLAY! Oh my god, words can't describe how happy I was. hm.. the best day of my entire life.


Write On! profile image

Write On! 8 years ago from United States Author

oddie -

I love that your mom introduced you to ColdPlay and that she even took you to the concert! That rocks! You will really enjoy my post on my personal blog, where I talk about this same ColdPlay concert, that I too - took my own son. We had such fun, and I tell more about our Viva La Vida mother/son bonding in this post.

I'm glad you had a blast at the concert. ColdPlay was AWESOME! Fun that all ages are able to enjoy a band like ColdPlay -- together:-)

Write On!

You will love this.... http://wellbehavedmormonwoman.blogspot.com/2008/07...


jbwalker 8 years ago

ODDIE i am also going to see COLDPLAY with my mum and also she was the one who introduced me to them :P, i am seeing them at the MEN (manchester evening news) arena and i cant w8, i am 14 and im going with my mum because its my cristmas present to her :P and i no what ur thinking (jb your an amazing son!) but realy im not that great, i couldn't get the tickets when they were put on sale so i had to buy off seatwave which is more to say than expensive so i used my mums card to buy her her cristmas ticket, also mine was included in the purchase so im no saint realy :P


Write On! profile image

Write On! 8 years ago from United States Author

jbwalker -

YOU are the MAN! What a lucky mother you have... and I DO think you are amazing to do something so sweet for your mum:-)

I really hope that you will come back and share with me how it goes? I know you will have a killer time. I would love to hear about your experience at the Viva La Vida concert in Manchester.

COLDPLAY 4-EVER!

Write On!


BG 8 years ago

Got my tickets last night for the St. Paul show in a couple weeks. Huge fan, but have never seen them live...really looking forward to it, especially after this review of their tour opener!


Write On! profile image

Write On! 8 years ago from United States Author

BG -

Have a great time! I KNOW you will not be disappointed. I would love you to come back and tell me about the St. Paul show of Viva La Vida. Great to meet another COLDPLAY fan:-)

Write On!


amygirl 8 years ago

I thought the concert here in Dallas 11/19 could have been a little more intimate. Just as you thought you were going to get a while of that solo piano yummy wonderfulness, he would back up and do something to get the crowd going again. With no opener but a DJ it is very rude to make your fans wait TWO HOURS before coming on stage and then not even sing two hours. Shame. So much opportunity lost. But then again I have clocked about 200 bands live and I may have set my expectations a little high for this absolutely wonderful band that in my opinion charged way too much for too little. I still love them though.


Write On! profile image

Write On! 8 years ago from United States Author

amygirl -

Well, what can you expect from the big state of TEXAS? LOL Certainly NOT intimacy. However, I think I get what you are saying. I too, was surprised at how long it took for COLDPLAY to make their appearance. It was a long wait. Nonetheless, worth every minute to a true hardcore fan!

Admit it though, it was a great concert, and I'm certain you had a great time:-)

Write On!


therowdog 8 years ago

Sounds awesome can't wait till they come down to OZ... However i have seats pretty far back... Will the experience still be the same?


Write On! profile image

Write On! 8 years ago from United States Author

therowdog -

If you are true die-hard COLDPLAY FAN - just to be in the HOUSE, anywhere .... will be a thrill. Plan on having a great time. If you really know that you are going to be in the nose-bleed section, consider taking along some binoculars???

Have a great time!

Write On!


Mike Corr 7 years ago

Hey i was at the coldplay concert in the o2 dublin last night and it was an incredible show!3 years ago I went to see U2 in croke park with over 80,oo people there, last night only held 15,00 people and i thought coldplay was a better concert!now theres a compliment, not many bands in the world can say that they are better live performers than U2!


DALE 7 years ago

What do you think the Lyrics VIVA LA VIDA mean? Click my name DALE for conversation.


Florien 7 years ago

Heehee I'm going there in Holland on 9th of September. Looking forward to it after reading this!!!


Arabic music 7 years ago

Viva coldplay you deserve it


concert tickets 7 years ago

great videos!!

ColdPlay it's good way to buy concert tickets online.

your article "ColdPlay Concert Review - Viva La Vida Tour - HOT!" very informative.


francisco 7 years ago

i´ like coldplay and viva la vida


veronique 6 years ago

I love coldplay, so much... and i'm very happy because i'm goin to coldplay's concert in 2 weeks more here in mexico city... VIVA LA VIDA CON COLPLAY


lulu 6 years ago

Coldplay rules!Viva la vida inspired me so much now i'm singing in front of my class at recess. Thank you Coldplay!!


miscellanea profile image

miscellanea 4 years ago from Morocco

wow, it's so great how you charted down all that. Thanks for this hub, I like it, vote up!

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working