Contagion - One Touch Is All It Takes Movie Review

Source


The first reviews are beginning to come out of Venice, concerning the new blockbuster Contagion. With an all star cast that includes Gwyneth Paltrow, Matt Damon, Jude Law and kate Winslet, it screams success just by the Actors alone. But what is the film about? Well, Contagion. And lots of it. We have all seen loads of films about viruses, or alien flu, but this film is different. In fact it has been reported that the first people to see it in the Cinema actually scooted away from the nearest person who happened to cough near them! That's the power of the film Contagion.

The trouble with this Latest Movie is that it is too believable! At this point I have to admit to only watching the various trailers that the Film Company have put out. But believe me when I say this will touch a nerve. Well, every nerve in your body in fact! If you happen to be like me, a person who washes her hands every time she goes to the store, or even to the nearest mall, then after the film, I will probably be wearing extra thick disinfectant gloves with a personalised electrical field to stop anybody getting near me!

Contagion is directed by Steven Soderbergh who quoted at the Venice showing, 'I chose such a heavy Star Cast because it's helpful to have as many well known Movie Stars as possible to make the film more personalised. Everybody will recognise these faces. Hopefully it will help the audience to get a good reference point.



Source

Contagion The Story

Crossing all continents and creating a structure of full scream ahead panic, the film shows how the world will have to cope with such a huge pandemic. A mystery illness, with no known cause or treatment, makes the tension build until you will be sitting very uncomfortably on the edge of your seat! Well, even more so, you will probably be standing so as not to touch the seat.

Covering all aspects of how it spreads, and the full scale panic of the population, compared to the false calm of the Scientists who are trying desperately to combat the disease in the middle of all the furor, the story is very believable. The fact that in other situations of worldwide illness, we have at least a small chance of keeping safe as long as we don't mix with infected people, or are lucky enough to have an immunity to the disease. But in the case of this film, the main headline of the story says it all.

One touch is all it takes.

The story starts with Gwyneth Paltrow as she picks up a handful of peanuts at the Airport. After complaining to her boyfriend that she has the sniffles, she then hands over her credit card to pay for her flight. The virus is now on the move.

At this point the Camera begins its journey, following every movement of the germ as it starts to infect the population. This, I believe, is a chilling way to show the viewing public of how such a small germ or virus can spread so easily. We have all seen the adverts on how to wash our hands after the outbrake of Swine Flu last year, but how many of us actually take notice? This Camera view should influence many people into seeing just how easy it is to spread and infect you and the whole world. All because of a tiny creature that is so small you wouldn't barely see it, even under a microscope.

Throughout the film, an underscore is flashed onto the screen telling the viewers how many people have caught the virus, and in how many minutes or hours. By this time the audience will be wriggling on their seats and casting anxious glances at the man or woman seated next to them.


Source

At one stage in the film, there is a yucky moment when, after Paltrows demise, the mortuary assistant is cutting open her head, and seeing the size of her brain, suddenly steps back and yells 'Oh my God, step away from the table'!

Along with the all the panic and emotion, there is the political story of how to move the President away from the virus and keep him safe, Chicago being shut down and taken over by the Army and of course the Technological aspect of how communication becomes important in the race to try and find a cure for the Contagion.

So if you like being scared to death, want to wash your hands everytime you go outside, or develop a really bad case of Obsessive Compulsive Disorder, then this is the film to watch.

Hold onto your seats. Or perhaps not!

Film Released 9/9/2011

Copyright Nell Rose

Contagion Trailer

More by this Author


Comments 65 comments

Just Ask Susan profile image

Just Ask Susan 5 years ago from Ontario, Canada

Sounds like this movie is going to be a huge hit. I will watch for it at my local theatre. I know my husband will want to see it. Fantastic cast too.


Cardisa profile image

Cardisa 5 years ago from Jamaica

Nell, now you have me scared! My boyfriend keeps asking me what's wrong with me. He can't sit on the bed in anything but his pjs, he has to wash his hands before touching me if he went on the road or even next door to my brother's house.....you haven't heard the half of it....This is a really scary movie.


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 5 years ago from England Author

Hi, Susan, I spotted it yesterday and thought, yuck! lol if it makes people wash their hands more, then its worth every single yucky moment! lol thanks for reading, cheers nell


meow48 profile image

meow48 5 years ago from usa

let's see, andromeda strain, outbreak, and now this, hummnnn. interesting though...


carriethomson profile image

carriethomson 5 years ago from United Kingdom

eww!! sounds like horror!! i m better off watching the romantic and kiddo movies!! the last animated movie i saw was tangled!! loved it!! disease with no remedy or treatment spreading so fast is a disaster.this one seems to be really scary!!


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 5 years ago from England Author

Hi, Cardisa, this sounds like its touched a nerve with you too! lol I know the feeling, after last years swine flu panic I always take a little bottle of hand wash with me everywhere! cheers nell


Pollyannalana profile image

Pollyannalana 5 years ago from US

Believe it or not I just came from a hub and my last words were we will have to fear everywhere we go and everything we touch. I hope the movie stays on track and had the true reasons for this, like people running all over our countries who have not been screened and carrying third word diseases. I have been watching out for germs for two years now and if a Wal-Mart, lets say, is too cheap to keep cleaning cloths out (which BTW do not kill germs) I reach over their counter where they put the hand sanitizer out of reach and squirt my hand well with the gel to rub the cart handle and hopefully prevent me from picking up germs, but what about someone coughing into the air who has TB which some of the illegals here do have, even at least one clinic opened for them in Texas I believe it is and probably more we don't know about, because we take very good care of our illegals whether we have insurance or not. I really think I am going to buy masks to cover my nose and mouth when I go in stores. If nothing else maybe I will scare everyone so bad they will keep their distance, lol. It is hopeless though our Rose, the end is nigh, it really is. Do we even have a year or two, I have no idea, but what will life be worth, with the horrors we will be facing?


prasetio30 profile image

prasetio30 5 years ago from malang-indonesia

It looks like a good movie. I should rent this movie soon and watch all the story behind "Contagion". Nice review, Nell. Well done and thumbs up for you.

Love and peace,


bethperry profile image

bethperry 5 years ago from Tennesee

Nell, your review was very good. But I doubt I'll see this movie because I just don't care for this genre; maybe it is because I already tend to over wash my hands? lol


CMHypno profile image

CMHypno 5 years ago from Other Side of the Sun

How did the virus get onto the peanuts in the first place? The trouble is that we are all getting too risk averse and obsessed with germs. The kids with the healthiest immune systems have been exposed to some dirt and grim. I'm sure that this film is great viewing, but why are we all so focused on the end of humanity?


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 5 years ago from England Author

Hi, meow, do you ever get the feeling that they are trying to tell us something! lol thanks for reading, cheers nell


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 5 years ago from England Author

Hi, carrie, it does sound yucky! lol but I can't wait to see it! thanks again, nell


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 5 years ago from England Author

Hi, Polly, why not carry a little hand wash in your bag? I do, and I drive people mad with it! lol on trains etc, well, you never know what you are going to pick up, from the flu to God knows what else! hope you enjoy the film! lol thanks again, nell


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 5 years ago from England Author

Hi, pras, it does look interesting doesn't it? thanks so much as always, cheers nell


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 5 years ago from England Author

Hi, beth, ha ha don't blame you! I will be feeling really scratchy after coming out of that cinema! I may just wait for the dvd so I can get to the sink quickly and wash my hands! lol thanks again nell


Alastar Packer profile image

Alastar Packer 5 years ago from North Carolina

Help the audience get a good reference point. Who does Soderbergh think he's kidding. Any one that doesn't think there aren't agendas behind films like this better think twice. Nell, you can add film reviewer to all your other talents. Great review. Yep, looks interesting but I'll bet popcorn & concessions take a dive on this block-buster.


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 5 years ago from England Author

Hi, CMHypno, I actually laughed when I realised it was peanuts that started it! because its the old saying, why doesn't a man wash his hands in the pub, before eating the peanuts?! lol we do seem obsessed by it, but it does sound like a great film, as long as it stays on screen! thanks again nell


Green Art profile image

Green Art 5 years ago

I've worked in Schools and Nursing Homes and have seen first hand how quickly viruses, and common illnesses can travel through just one building. It's scary to be sure. I don't want to live in a bubble so I'll continue to wash my hands and not touch anything I don't have to. Breathing the air is a whole other matter. I'm not very good at holding my breath so I guess that's how the "Contagion will get me" Ahhhhhhhhhhh. Great Review!


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 5 years ago from England Author

Hi, Alastar, yep you're right there! they may sell loads of tickets, but the stomach is going to be very squeamish! apart from the germs of course! lol thanks as always, nell


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 5 years ago from England Author

Hi, Green Art, it will be interesting to see how this film handles the situation and what happens at the end! lol thanks for reading, cheers nell


Erin LeFey profile image

Erin LeFey 5 years ago from Maryland

Hi Nell, I went to see "the Help" with my Mom on Sat and caught this poster in the lobby and then saw the trailer in the theater - it is an awesome hub you have here. I believe its going to be a great movie too. I used to be such a germophobe...don't know what made me get out of that, I'm more laid back about it, I think since I have been on disability and don't have much contact with the public (its going on two years now). When I was in the office, the first thing I did every morning before I would even sit at my desk was use those sanitizing wipes on the keyboard, desk, phones, handles of everything and basically make my cubicle a "clean area" before working. Old habit I guess. I'm sure once I go back to work, I'll be the same way. I'll see the movie to make me more paranoid, we'll swap notes afterward :)


Sunshine625 profile image

Sunshine625 5 years ago from Orlando, FL

I have been anticipating the release of this movie! I'm a germophobic with a cough due to allergies SO I might wait until my cough passes so I don't scare off the other movie-viewers! Super hub, I appreciate the details!


always exploring profile image

always exploring 5 years ago from Southern Illinois

Sounds like a scary movie, but of course i want to see it. Jude Law is one of my favorite actors. I'm already a compulsive hand washer, so a few more times won't hurt. HAHa Thank's for the preview.....


Pollyannalana profile image

Pollyannalana 5 years ago from US

Oh I do carry it with me in the car (they are everywhere in the house)even have lotions with it in them, but I don't carry my purse in places to pick up germs, lol, I would say I drive my husband crazy but I think he is getting as paranoid as me. What about the steering wheel? the car door handles? the house door knobs? It is endless...I did watch the trailer before I left last visit. Not quite what I expected but I will want to see it.


WillStarr profile image

WillStarr 5 years ago from Phoenix, Arizona

It's spooky because it has happened in the past, and it will happen again. It's just a matter of time.


chspublish profile image

chspublish 5 years ago from Ireland

Just checking in here with you Nell and love the idea of this forthcoming movie. Love any kind of story that keeps you on the edge of the seat and have to worry throughout the movie.

Don't think we'll ever get to that kind of reality, however, where viruses will wipe us out. If that could be the case then it would have happened before now.

But we're kept on our toes, biologically, with the many new strains coming onstream fromt time to time.


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 5 years ago from England Author

Hi, Erin, I used to do that at work, too! lol all my headphones and pc's were all slathered in disinfectant! I will go and see it, but I am sure that it will be a while before it gets over here, probably next year! typical! ha ha thanks again nell


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 5 years ago from England Author

Hi, Sunshine, that would be too funny! lol just to sit in the back of the cinema and start coughing, but thats just my sense of humour! lol thanks for reading, cheers nell


Sunshine625 profile image

Sunshine625 5 years ago from Orlando, FL

I like your sense of humour Nell :))


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 5 years ago from England Author

Hi, Ruby, lol it seems that everybody in the cinema will be using hand wash! thanks as always, nell


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 5 years ago from England Author

Hi, Polly, ha ha that sounds definetely as bad as me! I never used to be like that, until that horrible swine flu, now I am paranoid! thanks again nell

Hi, Will, hopefully not for a very long time! hope you enjoy the film, thanks nell

Hi, chspublish, nice to see you! and you are right, I never thought of that! lol we would definitely have been wiped out before now, thanks again nell


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 5 years ago from England Author

Thanks Sunshine, my friends used to call me the clown! not very flattering, but so much fun! ha ha


Sunshine625 profile image

Sunshine625 5 years ago from Orlando, FL

This world could use a lot more clowns, keep it up :))


christopheranton profile image

christopheranton 5 years ago from Gillingham Kent. United Kingdom

That is a chilling trailer. I'm not certain that I could watch the film however. it is a bit too close to possible reality for my taste.

Good work Nell.


b. Malin profile image

b. Malin 5 years ago

Wow, Neil, I may NEVER touch Anything or Anybody ever again. Sounds like a good Thriller thanks for the Review. We went last week end to see the "Help"...Excellent Movie.


Stephanie Wideman profile image

Stephanie Wideman 5 years ago from Stafford, VA

I am so buying stock in Purel after this. Great review!


Freya Cesare profile image

Freya Cesare 5 years ago from Borneo Island, Indonesia

Ugh! 9 September, eh? I will be on the line at the theatre for sure! Thank you, dear. ^^


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 5 years ago from England Author

Thanks Sunshine!

Hi, christopher, I agree with you, but knowing me I will still put myself through the horror at the cinema! lol sorry it took me so long to answer, one of those weeks! thanks nell

Hi, b. Malin, I heard someone else saw that, what was it about? sounds good! thanks for reading, cheers nell

Hi, Stephanie, ha ha sounds good to me! I will get some too! thanks for reading, cheers nell

Hi, Freya, nice to see you! I think it may be worldwide then, but not sure, thanks again nell


rockdresses profile image

rockdresses 5 years ago from Turkey

very brilliant review~ Thanks a lot for your kind sharing~


Hello, hello, profile image

Hello, hello, 5 years ago from London, UK

Thank you, Nell, for your great review.


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 5 years ago from England Author

Hi, thanks rockdresses and Hello hello, glad you liked it, cheers nell


Drjacki profile image

Drjacki 5 years ago from North Carolina

I wasn't planning on seeing this film...until I read your review...thanks!


AliciaC profile image

AliciaC 5 years ago from British Columbia, Canada

Thanks for the movie description and the video, Nell. Contagion is definitely one movie that I want to see! I read a review written by someone who saw the movie recently. They said that it's an excellent film. It's scary to think about whether the situation shown in the movie could actually happen in real life.


htodd profile image

htodd 5 years ago from United States

Thanks for the great post..


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 5 years ago from England Author

Hi, Drjacki, thanks for reading it! cheers nell

Hi, Alicia, yes I had to go by what the clip said, so I can't wait, glad other people like the film, I will take my handwash with me though! ha ha thanks again, nell

Hi, htodd, thanks so much for reading, cheers nell


Jlava73 profile image

Jlava73 5 years ago from Cyberspace and My Own World

UGG, I think I'll pass on this one - I am already a nuerotic mess. LOL


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 5 years ago from England Author

Hi, Jlava, ha ha I know the feeling! thanks for reading, cheers nell


QudsiaP1 profile image

QudsiaP1 5 years ago

I am so going to watch this movie!


dilipchandra12 profile image

dilipchandra12 5 years ago from India

Good review. I must watch this flick.


suzettenaples profile image

suzettenaples 5 years ago from Taos, NM

Another good movie review. I will definitely see this movie. I just hope that movies like this don't cause panic when we do have world-wide viruses.


Peggy W profile image

Peggy W 5 years ago from Houston, Texas

I think that I'll wait to see it in the comfort and relative cleanliness of our own home compared to movie theatres. Bet this movie will make boatloads of money! Thanks for the review. Pandemics are bound to happen sooner or later. Scary thought!


DzyMsLizzy profile image

DzyMsLizzy 5 years ago from Oakley, CA

Hi, Nell--

Good review...(albeit with some minor 'spoilers.')

It sounds a lot like "The Andromeda Strain," one of Michael Chrichton's earlier works. In the end, the virus just dies off, mutates and becomes harmless.

Nothing lives forever, not even germs. LOL Sounds like a chiller/thriller edge-of-the-seat show for sure, but in the end, it's still just a movie. I won't be going overboard and doing a germophobic freak-out.

In fact, one of my recent hubs explains exactly why we shouldn't be germophobes...they do play a role in our immune system's ability to function as it does.

We won't be seeing it until it becomes available online, however, as our budget does not include going to the movies or buying/renting DVDs. :-(


Sunshine625 profile image

Sunshine625 5 years ago from Orlando, FL

I saw the movie today Nell! It was good. It was kind of slow at times, I know this because I started to get relaxed instead of being on the edge of my seat. There was a lot more coughing going on in the audience then in the movie! LOL


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 5 years ago from England Author

Hi, Qudsia, I want to see it soon too, the trouble is that over here it takes such a long time to get here! lol thanks again, nell

Hi, dilip, thanks for dropping by, and I hope you like the film, cheers nell

Hi, suzette, that's the problem, isn't it? lol should be okay though, I hope! ha ha

Hi, peggy, I agree, I want to watch it at home so that I don't get paranoid! ha ha thanks nell

Hi, DzyM, sorry about the spoilers! ha ha yes you are right about germs, we wouldn't survive without them, as long as they are nice ones! lol thanks nell

Hi, Sunshine, that's okay then, as long as it doesn't scare me silly! lol thanks for coming back to explain how it went, I just hope nobody sneezes while I am in the Cinema! lol cheers nell


Cogerson profile image

Cogerson 5 years ago from Virginia

Very nicely done. I really enjoyed reading your review on Contagion. I would type more but I need to go and wash my hands again...voted up and interesting.


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 5 years ago from England Author

Hi, Cogerson, thanks for the read, and I have added your link, cheers nell


Damon 5 years ago

Sounds like a scary moive and scares that are real.


Enlydia Listener profile image

Enlydia Listener 5 years ago from trailer in the country

Hi Nell, I have been waiting for a review of the movie...I appreciate you being the first one that I have read. Things are coming and the movie is the warning...there are ways to avoid contamination, I think, just don't know what they are yet...Blessings and Cheers.


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 5 years ago from England Author

Hi, Damon, lol it does doesn't it? thanks for reading, cheers nell

Hi, Enlydia, I can't wait to see it too, and I will be taking my handwash! lol thanks nell


Dan93 5 years ago

My wife and I saw this movie last weekend, outstanding movie that everybody should watch.


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 5 years ago from England Author

Hi, Dan93, I am glad you liked the film, can't wait to see it myself! thanks for reading, cheers nell


inaniLoquence profile image

inaniLoquence 5 years ago from Singapore

I need to watch this this! I believe it has a box office tinge to it and I have read that this contagion can happen in real life. Let's just hope it won't.


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 5 years ago from England Author

Hi, it is a bit frightening, lets hope it doesn't happen! lol thanks for reading, cheers nell


hi 5 years ago

hi i can not wait to rent the movie


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 5 years ago from England Author

Sounds great doesn't it? thanks for reading.

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working