Dream House - Sometimes The Past Will Haunt You Movie Review

Sometimes Your Dream House Is A Nightmare

Sometimes a house retains memories, so they say, or at least this Movie will have you believe it! They will creep up on you when you sleep and whisper softly in your ear. This is what happens when Will Atenton ( Daniel Craig) decides a relocation is just what he and his family need. Will quits his job in a high power environment, and moves his family out of Manhattan and into a quant little town in New England. After falling in love with his new house, the family settle in and start to get on with their lives. But what they don't know is that their new family home holds a secret. It is not the Dream House that they thought it would be. It turns out that the house was the scene of a brutal murder. A mother and her two children were shot to death. According to a neighbor, played by Naomi Watts, not only did the murder take place just a few years before, but the whole town believe that it was the husband did the killing it.

At first, after the family move in, everything seems to be fine. The children are happy, and Will believes that this really is his dream house. But things soon start to go wrong, with chilling sounds emanating from the bedrooms, and strange tappings at the windows, the atmosphere soon begins to change, until one evening, while sitting on the couch with their mother, the small child whispers 'Everybody that lives in this house, dies'.

This is just the beginning of the nightmare. With twists and turns, flashbacks and never knowing exactly what is real or imagined, the story weaves a tale of mental trauma and grief of love lost. So who or what is the ghost?


This is the sort of Movie that knocks my socks off! There is nothing better than sitting in the Cinema with your feet up, munching on your popcorn and being scared half to death!


Source

All Things Paranormal

From early reviews it seems that this film is a mixture of ghostly happenings and mystery. Bringing together two very popular actors, Daniel Craig and Rachel Weisz, the onscreen chemistry seems to sizzle. As the story goes on, it takes a very eerie twist. On investigating the murders, Daniel Craig visits the institution that held Peter Ward, the husband who murdered his family, and is told that he stayed there for five years. Suddenly he realises that the video showing Peter when he was an inmate, is actually Will Atenton himself!

So, what's going on? It seems this is where the whole thing starts to get very spooky! How can Will and Peter be the same person? Well, evidently they can! It seems that Peter is held for the murders, as there wasn't any other suspect at the time.

Being released from the Institution only that morning, Will/Peter goes back to the house believing that his family is still alive. What he is confronted with is a mixture of ghosts, memories and a neighbor who seems to know much more than is actually going on.

Trying to get his memory kick started, Will/Peter suddenly realises that he didn't do the murders. Somebody else did. But who?



September 30

The release date of this film is 30 September, and personally I can't wait! This sounds like a cracking fast paced thriller, with a mix of horror, ghostly going's on and a murderer that hides in the shadows. I never thought that much of Daniel Craig as Bond, but this seems to be more his genre. I will be looking forward to seeing it as soon as it opens, and if you want to be scared witless, I suggest you go see it too!

Creepy Stuff!

More by this Author


Comments 42 comments

Alastar Packer profile image

Alastar Packer 5 years ago from North Carolina

Can't wait for this one either. Especially after reading your fine synopsis and early reviews on it. Back in 1973 a TV movie called 'Don't Be Afraid of the Dark' made a lasting impression and I was all excited a movie came out just now about it. Well, friends who have already seen it say don't waste your money- what a let down. But this one will be anything but. Wish we could see it together Nell so I could bury the face in your shoulder! Tack my lady.


firechik211 profile image

firechik211 5 years ago

Ohhh now I want to see this. Is there a book?


tiara86 profile image

tiara86 5 years ago

i cant wait to see it either :)

thanx a ton :)


suzettenaples profile image

suzettenaples 5 years ago from Taos, NM

Very good review and the video is chilling. I can't wait to see this movie either. I enjoy movies that twist reality and the paranormal and mix it all up. And I love the cast! Thanks for bringing this to our attention. I enjoyed reading this Nell.

Suzette


Stephanie Wideman profile image

Stephanie Wideman 5 years ago from Stafford, VA

I saw the preview in the theaters. Sadly, I think they let the twist slip in that one. I might wait for it to come out on DVD.


christopheranton profile image

christopheranton 5 years ago from Gillingham Kent. United Kingdom

I think this is definitely one I should see.

Thanks Nell for bringing it to our attention.


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 5 years ago from England Author

Hi, Alastar, sorry its taken me so much time to get back here, my son keeps stealing my pc! lol thanks for reading it, what we should do is have a 'virtual' cinema so that we can watch it together! ha ha thanks again nell

Hi, firechik, not sure on that one, probably will be coming out soon I would imagine, that's what normally happens, thanks so much for reading, nell

Hi, tiara, sounds great, doesn't it? thanks!

Hi, suzette, I love them too! when they are too ghostly it gets boring, but with a twist like this, I love them! thanks for reading! cheers nell

Hi, Stephanie, do you think they gave too much away? maybe, hum, we will have to wait and see! maybe there is another twist too! thanks for reading, nell

Hi, Christopher, yep me too! lol I seem to be getting into my films lately, hope this one is as good as it looks, thanks again nell


Troyangeluk profile image

Troyangeluk 5 years ago from UK

Haven't seen this, love any kind of horror, great review thanks for sharing will have to watch this :)


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 5 years ago from England Author

Hi, Troyangeluk, glad you liked it, it looks like a great film, cheers nell


rosettaartist1 profile image

rosettaartist1 5 years ago from United Kingdom

Must watch this one!


"Quill Again" 5 years ago

Be looking for the one... wel written Girl.

Blessings and Hugs


Cardisa profile image

Cardisa 5 years ago from Jamaica

I have to see this movie. I can't wait. My fiancé is not a cinema man but I think i can twist his legs, charm him with my feminine wiles. This sounds great. I didn't like Craig as bind either.....it's hard to get over Sean Connery or Pierce Brosnan! I saw Craig in another movie that I thoroughly enjoyed about a detective who was the best but transferred to the country where everything was boring until he discovered a cult or something. Can't remember the name of it.


Genna East profile image

Genna East 5 years ago from Massachusetts, USA

Excellent review, Nell. This also brings to mind "Don’t Be Afraid of the Dark," with Kim Darby. I will definitely place this on my list of must-see's. Thank you.


i scribble 5 years ago

This does sound intriguing. Yea, I think I guessed the Dad would be the same person as the Dad of the deceased, just from the preview. Voting up.

Was Dont Be Afraid of the Dark an Audrey Hepburn movie about a blind woman? No, I think that was Wait Until Dark, come to think of it.


prasetio30 profile image

prasetio30 5 years ago from malang-indonesia

Thanks for the review. I can't wait to see this movie. Good job, Nell. My vote always for you. Cheers...


rockdresses profile image

rockdresses 5 years ago from Turkey

I guess Dream House is absolutely awesome. I am grateful for your brilliant sharing!


Chatkath profile image

Chatkath 5 years ago from California

Thanks for sharing this review Nell, I never believe the official reviews anyway, good job.


QudsiaP1 profile image

QudsiaP1 5 years ago

Nell my dear, you are my favourite movie advisor now. :)


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 5 years ago from England Author

Hi, rose thanks for reading!

Hi, Quill, great to see you! looks like a good film doesn't it? thanks again nell

Hi, Cardisa, your feminine wiles! ha ha love it! I think I know what film you mean, but for the life of me I can't remember the name of it either! unless we are getting muddled up with nicholas cage and the wicker man! ha ha what a pair of useless critics we are! we can't even remember the film! hee hee thanks again nell


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 5 years ago from England Author

Hi, Genna, I don't think I have seen that film, thanks for reading, cheers nell

Hi, i scribble, I am getting confused with the films too! lol I know what I like but always forget the titles, thanks for reading, cheers nell

Thanks pras, always nice to see you, take care nell


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 5 years ago from England Author

Hi, rockdresses, thanks for reading, it does sound good and scary! lol cheers nell

Hi, Kath, I think the problem is that with 'real' critics they either like a genre or they don't, if they prefer something else then they always slate it! lol I love horror the best but will give anything a go! thanks nell

Hi, Qudsia, well thank you kind lady! ha ha glad you liked it, cheers nell


Green Lotus profile image

Green Lotus 5 years ago from Atlanta, GA

Thanks Nell, i've put this one on my must see list. I've never been disappointed by any moving featuring Daniel Craig!


dallas93444 profile image

dallas93444 5 years ago from Bakersfield, CA

Nell, get your socks back on! Great article and enjoyed! Flag up and awesome!


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 5 years ago from England Author

Hi, Green Lotus, lol he is nice isn't he? mind you I still prefer Pierce Brosnan as Bond! but that's because he is gorgeous! thanks for reading, cheers nell

Hi, dallas, lol thanks for the rate! and I'm glad you liked it, thanks nell


bethperry profile image

bethperry 5 years ago from Tennesee

Ooh, I have to see this one now! I love creepy films and Daniel Craig. Thanks for the review, Nell!


Cogerson profile image

Cogerson 5 years ago from Virginia

I just saw the trailer for this movie last night....should be interesting...thanks for the look inside the movie...very well done and interesting.


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 5 years ago from England Author

Hi, beth, I love creepy films too! as long as they don't involve too much blood and gore! ha ha thanks again, nell

Hi, Cogerson, thanks for reading, it does look good, doesn't it? cheers nell


Pollyannalana profile image

Pollyannalana 5 years ago from US

You sound like my mom was Nell. She loved horror movies and then would be terrified all night! I was so scared by a snake in a movie years ago, striking out unexpected I screamed like a banshee Indian and several people got mad at me for scaring them lol.

Very good review!


always exploring profile image

always exploring 5 years ago from Southern Illinois

This is a must see for me Nell. It's strange, i really havn't wanted to see a movie in quite some time, then two appears on the scene, this one and ' The help ' Thank's for a GREAT review....


jean2011 profile image

jean2011 5 years ago from Canada

Good review Neil but I cannot promise that I''ll see it because I am not horror movie fan. I have this hub up!


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 5 years ago from England Author

Hi, Polly, I remember doing that in the film Carrie, back in the 70s! it was that last little bit with the hand! argh! lol thanks for reading, cheers nell

Hi, Ruby glad I could be of help pointing you in the right direction! lol hope its as good as it looks, everybody keeps on about the help film I shall have to look into it thanks as always nell

Hi, jean, not one for being scared witless? ha ha it might not be that good or scary, but on the other hand...! lol thanks again nell


Enlydia Listener profile image

Enlydia Listener 5 years ago from trailer in the country

Nell, I think you have the gift to write screen plays...you would be great at it...give up your day job and start writing...seriously...you could do it.


Enlydia Listener profile image

Enlydia Listener 5 years ago from trailer in the country

Dearest Nell, when you make it big, please remember that I am your friend, and that I encouraged you...


Jlava73 profile image

Jlava73 5 years ago from Cyberspace and My Own World

Sounds right up my Alley! Great review!


Hello, hello, profile image

Hello, hello, 5 years ago from London, UK

Who is not going to sleep in the night? lol Great review. Thank you.


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 5 years ago from England Author

Hi, Enlydia, thanks so much! lol I will remember you and take you to all the movie premiers! thanks again nell

Hi, Jlava, thanks for reading it, I hope you enjoy the movie, cheers nell

Hi, Hello hello, after this film I probably won't sleep for a week! lol thanks again nell


ewelz51 profile image

ewelz51 5 years ago from Somewhere in the South...

This looks good, and I love Daniel Craig.


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 5 years ago from England Author

Hi, ewelz, thanks for reading, cheers nell


Lisa 5 years ago

I loved it so much. I give it a 10 from start to finish. I highly recommend it. U have to pay attention to every scenes and characters cus they all bring something interesting to the table.


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 5 years ago from England Author

Hi, Lisa it does sound really good, I have to wait over here because I am in England! typical! lol thanks for letting me know how it went, thanks!


Rebecca E. profile image

Rebecca E. 4 years ago from Canada

wow, there are some movies i've never heard of, but now I'll have to find a way to see it, sounds very interesting


Nell Rose profile image

Nell Rose 4 years ago from England Author

Hi, Rebecca, I still haven't seen the full version yet, but will definitely be going to see it soon, thanks for reading!

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working