Drop Dead Fred film review

Drop Dead Fred

Drop Dead Fred

Drop Dead Fred.

When I was a child I watched Drop dead Fred through a child’s eyes. And when I was an adult I picked up on a whole lot more than just the comedy. So I will first tell you what I thought as a child. And then how I think watching Drop Dead Fred at 32 years old.

When I was a child Drop Dead Fred (Rik Mayall) was naughty and funny. He was the grown up that would let you do anything at all. It was amazing to a child that an adult existed that would let you make mud pies and put dog poo on a clean carpet.

The mother seemed very cold to a child. And all though I had a very bad tempered mother, I was sure she wasn’t as bad as the Mega Beast. A close second though!!

Elizabeth seemed really sweet as I was a bit older than her character, the first time I watched it. Well, older than the child Elizabeth. It made me forget my own crappy childhood and go and rescue Elizabeth. When you feel you want to get involved you know you have a great emotive film.

Now fast forward a few years and I watched it again. Last week in fact. I forgot that it had inappropriate swearing in it, and bought it in reminiscence for my children. With the nostalgia surrounding the film. I of course sat down and watched it again with them. Now although the swearing was not an issue as I am quite liberal with my children. They know not to repeat what they hear. I am a realist in my parenting. I was shocked as I thought of the children that would miss out on the fun because of the swearing.

So as an adult watching this I no longer just perceived the film as a lighthearted comedy. But as a black comedy of sorts. The underlying issues of child abuse. There are times when we see the child masking taped to her bed by her mother. And later the abuse carries on as an adult when her mother declares Elizabeth as crazy and employs a rather large and butch nurse to keep her in the house. In between we see she is with a womanizing bully who is patronising and manipulative. This is almost a message that Elizabeth has become comfortable and feels being treated in this manner is normal. She is extremely suppressed.

The main characters are of course Drop Dead Fred who is the magical imaginary friend who comes back into her adult life when she becomes unhappy. His character is naughty but in some ways quite naïve and child like in his judgements. But as a child like mind, he also gets it right quite a lot.

Elizabeth is also another main character and we see her as a child and as a grown woman. Although she is very child like even as an adult. She almost battles with her past and present at the same time and goes from being mistreated by an impatient and unloving mother to a mistreating husband and back to the mother. Both undermine her.

The mother of Elizabeth, a new boyfriend and the husband Charlie play great parts in the film. But it is no completely about them and they are secondary to Elizabeth and Drop Dead Fred.

My conclusion is. Even though I watched this because of childhood nostalgia. I actually enjoyed and gained more depth out of the film as an adult. A fantastic film and I would advise anyone to give it a chance.

Rik Mayall has died 9th June 2014


It hurts to say that we have lost an amazing British actor in such an unexpected way. Cause of death is yet unknown but no one was expecting it at all. At 56 he was way too young to die.

You will never be forgotten you amazingly brilliant man!


More by this Author


Comments 15 comments

Meg Moon profile image

Meg Moon 3 years ago from United Kingdom

I love Drop Dead Fred so much- and I still love it now as an adult- my favourite is when she is on a date and Fred makes her throw her plate around. My oldest is only 3 and a half so I am biding the time till we can all watch it- when do you reckon?


holyjeans30 profile image

holyjeans30 4 years ago from Mostly in My Own Little World

This is one of my FAVORITE movies of all time. I actually looked all over for this last summer I HAD to have a copy. I was disappointed to see how expensive they are now. I wish I could find one that was affordable, I sure would buy it.


Ddraigcoch profile image

Ddraigcoch 4 years ago from UK Author

I love Drop Dead Fred, although there are parts in it that I think, "eek should I let my kids watch this" but it is so funny they don't pick up on the bits we catch as adults.


Cammiebar profile image

Cammiebar 4 years ago from Upstate New York

Drop Dead Fred was one of my favorite movies as a child and definitely a favorite as an adult. Just like Fred, you never grow out of it!


Ddraigcoch profile image

Ddraigcoch 5 years ago from UK Author

Bbnix. Fun is exactly what this film is I love it.

Wil, I must admit I tend to fall for cult films a lot. I also love The Crow and Withnel and I.

Ladybird thank you so much for your compliment. I am glad to have things in common with my fellow hubbers.

Steven, such a very big compliment to give me. I am sure you would write a great review. Thank you for reading mine.


Stevennix2001 profile image

Stevennix2001 5 years ago

Wow, I was actually thinking of writing a review on this, but I don't anything I could say would summarize the film as perfectly as you just described. This is a great review, as I'll definitely be sure to rate this up.


Ladybird33 profile image

Ladybird33 5 years ago from Georgia USA

One of my favorite films!!!! Great review.


Wil C profile image

Wil C 5 years ago from United States of America

Classic cult flick. I love this movie. Drop dead Fred is the embodiment of freedom. He does not worry about others opinions, he simply roams and does as he wishes. Mind you, the only one he hurts is himself or the daydreamer that awakens him. A movie that teaches people to live freely but be aware of the consequences of your actions. Good pick.


bbnix profile image

bbnix 5 years ago from Southern California

I haven't seen the movie either, but just peeked at the trailer...how cute...that with your comments will have me seeing it for sure....

Thanks so much!! What fun...


Ddraigcoch profile image

Ddraigcoch 5 years ago from UK Author

Home Bargains have it Fay if you have that store. If not Amazon do it. It is humorous. And as far as childhoods. Meh we all got told no a lot didn't we?!


Fay Paxton 5 years ago

I knew I had a deprived childhood! I don't remember ever seeing "Drop Dead Fred", but I'll have to keep my eye out so I can see what I've been missing.

up/useful


Ddraigcoch profile image

Ddraigcoch 5 years ago from UK Author

Babbling Diva, that was my reaction when I saw the dvd in the store. Total impulse buy. One I know I won't regret however.

Rachelsholiday, You really are missing out. If you like people getting their own back on being mistreated, this is a great film.

Eiddwen, Thank you for reading and leaving a message. I hope I haven't given too much away. I was trying not too.Nice to have your support x


Eiddwen profile image

Eiddwen 5 years ago from Wales

I have seen Drop Dead Fred before, a long time ago and I really enjoyed this review.

Thank you for sharing and here's to many more hubs to share.

Take care

Eiddwen.


rachelsholiday profile image

rachelsholiday 5 years ago

I've never seen this movie before, but you're definitely made me want to watch it :).


Babbling Diva profile image

Babbling Diva 5 years ago from U.S.A

OMG I loooovvvve Drop Dead Fread!!! This movie is on my wishlist...I saw it when I was younger as well and think it's a great movies for my daughters to see, and let their imaginations run wild!! awesome!!!

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working