Best Upcoming Movies of 2011

Film Previews of 2011

Another year has passed, and it's time for me to display some of Hollywood's latest films coming out for next year. For those of you that aren't familiar with my hub previews, this is how it works. I basically give you a plot summary, cast listing, writing and director credit. Some of these previews will have trailers, while most don't. This is largely due to the fact that many of these films are currently filming, or in post production, as we speak. Another thing worth noting here is that this isn't a complete list of all the movies coming out next year, but I feel confident that this hub covers most of them that are being released, within the U.S.A.

Take in mind, some of these release dates are subject change, so be sure to check your local listings for any changes. I also didn't exactly have time to put all these in chronological order, but every movie listed here (or most of them anyway) has a release date listed.

Also, be sure to check out my other hubs based on upcoming films in 2011, as this is only the first chapter in a four part series. Therefore, if you don't find the 2011 movie your looking for on here, then chances are it might be on one of the other three hubs on film previews for next year.  Anyways, I hope you all enjoy my list of films that I researched you. 


Green Lantern

Green Lantern

Release Date: June 17, 2011

Director: Martin Campbell

Writer(s): Greg Berlanti, Michael Goldenberg, Michael Green, Marc Guggenheim

Cast: Ryan Reynolds, Blake Lively, Mark Strong, Peter Sarsgaard, Temuera Morrison, Mike Doyle, Tim Robbins, Angela Bassett, Nick Jones

Synopsis: Hal is a gifted and cocky test pilot, but the Green Lanterns have little respect for humans, who have never harnessed the infinite powers of the ring before. But Hal is clearly the missing piece to the puzzle, and along with his determination and willpower, he has one thing no member of the Corps has ever had: humanity. With the encouragement of fellow pilot and childhood sweetheart Carol Ferris (Blake Lively), if Hal can quickly master his new powers and find the courage to overcome his fears, he may prove to be not only the key to defeating Parallax he will become the greatest Green Lantern of all.

Thor

Thor

Release Date: May 6, 2011

Director: Kenneth Branagh

Writer(s):  Ashley Miller, Zack Stentz, Don Payne, J. Michael Straczynski, Mark Protosevich, Stan Lee, Larry Lieber, Jack Kirby

CastChris Hemsworth, Natalie Portman, Kat Dennings, Anthony Hopkins, Idris Elba, Stellan Skarsgard, Clark Gregg, Ray Stevenson, Tom Hiddleston, Rene Russo, Jaimie Alexander, Colm Feore

Synopsis:  Marvel Studios expands its film universe with a new type of superhero: THOR. This epic adventure spans the Marvel Universe; from present day Earth to the realm of Asgard. At the center of the story is The Mighty Thor, a powerful but arrogant warrior whose reckless actions reignite an ancient war. Thor is cast down to Earth and forced to live among humans as punishment. Once here, Thor learns what it takes to be a true hero when the most dangerous villain of his world sends the darkest forces of Asgard to invade Earth. Kenneth Branagh directs this fantasy epic which stars Australian actor Chris Hemsworth as the ancient Norse god, Tom Hiddleston as his evil brother Loki, Natalie Portman as Jane Foster, a young woman who befriends Thor on Earth, and Anthony Hopkins as Odin, Thor's father and king of Asgard. Expect to see agents of S.H.I.E.L.D., previously seen in ''Iron Man,'' to make an appearance, further forshadowing the coming of The Avengers!

The Green Hornet Trailer

Green Hornet

Release Date: January 14, 2011

Director: Michel Gondry

Writer(s):  Evan Goldberg, Seth Rogen, Frank Striker, George W. Trendle

CastSeth Rogen, Jay Chou, Christoph Waltz, Cameron Diaz

Synopsis:  By night, debonair newspaper publisher Britt Reid fights crime as a masked superhero known as The Green Hornet. At his side is martial arts expert Kato.


Hop

Release Date: April 1, 2011

Director: Tim Hill

Writer(s):  Cinco Paul, Ken Daurio, Brian Lynch

Cast: Russell Brand, James Marsden, Elizabeth Perkins, Kaley Cuoco

Synopsis: Blending state-of-the-art animation with live action, Hop tells the comic tale of Fred (James Marsden), an out-of-work slacker who accidentally injures the Easter Bunny (voiced by Russell Brand) and must take him in as he recovers. As Fred struggles with the world's worst houseguest, both will learn what it takes to finally grow up. The film is helmed by Tim Hill, director of the blockbuster Alvin & the Chipmunks and produced by Chris Meledandri's Illumination Entertainment (Despicable Me).


Scream 4

Release DateApril 15, 2011

Director:  Wes Craven

Writer(s):  Kevin Williamson

CastNeve Campbell, Courteney Cox, David Arquette, Rory Culkin, Emma Roberts, Hayden Panettiere

Synopsis:  Ten years have passed, and Sidney Prescott, who has put herself back together thanks in part to her writing, is visited by the Ghostface Killer.


Smurfs

The Smurfs 3-D

Release Date: August 3, 2011

Director: Raja Gosnell

Writer(s): Peyo, J. David Stem, David N. Weiss

Cast: Sofia Vergara, Neil Patrick Harris, Jayma Mays, Anton Yelchin, Alan Cumming, Paul Reubens, Katy Perry, Hank Azaria, George Lopez, Jeff Foxworthy

Synopsis: When the evil wizard Gargamel chases the tiny blue Smurfs out of their village, they tumble from their magical world and into ours -- in fact, smack dab in the middle of Central Park. Just three apples high and stuck in the Big Apple, the Smurfs must find a way to get back to their village before Gargamel tracks them down.

By the way, it's also in 3-D.  Therefore, I know some of you hardworking parents out there might end up donating a hefty chunk of change for this garbage. 


The Dark Fields

Release Date: March 18, 2011

Director: Neil Burger

Writer(s): Alan Glynn, Leslie Dixon

Cast: Bradley Cooper, Anna Friel, Abbie Cornish, Robert De Niro

Synopsis:  An action-thriller about a writer who takes an experimental drug that allows him to use 100 percent of his mind. As one man evolves into the perfect version of himself, forces more corrupt than he can imagine mark him for assassination. Out-of-work writer Eddie Morra's (Cooper) rejection by girlfriend Lindy (Abbie Cornish) confirms his belief that he has zero future. That all vanishes the day an old friend introduces Eddie to MDT, a designer pharmaceutical that makes him laser focused and more confident than any man alive. Now on an MDT-fueled odyssey, everything Eddie's read, heard or seen is instantly organized and available to him. As the former nobody rises to the top of the financial world, he draws the attention of business mogul Carl Van Loon (De Niro), who sees this enhanced version of Eddie as the tool to make billions. But brutal side effects jeopardize his meteoric ascent. With a dwindling stash and hit men who will eliminate him to get the MDT, Eddie must stay wired long enough to elude capture and fulfill his destiny. If he can't, he will become just another victim who thought he'd found invincibility in a bottle.

X-Men: First Class

X-Men: First Class

Release Date: June 3, 2011

Director: Matthew Vaughn

Writer(s): Jane Goldman, Ashley Miller, Jamie Moss, Josh Schwartz, Zack Stentz, Bryan Singer

Cast: Michael Fassbender, Rose Bryne, Jennifer Lawrence, James McAvoy, January Jones, Kevin Bacon, Nicholas Hoult, Oliver Platt, Jason Flemyng, Zoe Kravitz, Lucas Till, Edi Gathegi

Synopsis: Before Charles Xavier and Erik Lensherr took the names Professor X and Magneto, they were two young men discovering their powers for the first time. Before they were archenemies, they were closest of friends, working together, with other Mutants (some familiar, some new), to stop the greatest threat the world has ever known. In the process, a rift between them opened, which began the eternal war between Magneto's Brotherhood and Professor X's X-MEN.


Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides

Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides

Release Date: May 20, 2011

Director: Rob Marshall

Producer: Jerry Bruckheimer

Writer(s): Ted Elliot, Terry Rossio, Stuart Beattie, Jay Wolpert, Tim Powers

Cast: Johnny Depp, Gemma Ward, Ian McShane, Penelope Cruz, Stephen Graham, Geoffrey Rush, Keith Richards

Synopsis: Captain Jack Sparrow (Depp) crosses paths with a woman from his past (Cruz), and he's not sure if it's love -- or if she's a ruthless con artist who's using him to find the fabled Fountain of Youth. When she forces him aboard the Queen Anne's Revenge, the ship of the formidable pirate Blackbeard (McShane), Jack finds himself on an unexpected adventure in which he doesn't know who to fear more: Blackbeard or the woman from his past.


Gnomeo & Juliet

Gnomeo & Juliet

Release Date: February 11, 2011

Director: Kelly Asbury

Writer(s): Mark Burton, Kevin Cecil, Andy Riley, William Shakespeare, John R. Smith, Rob Sprackling

Cast: Jason Statham, Emily Blunt, James McAvoy, Michael Caine, Maggie Smith, Patrick Stewart, Julie Walters, Hulk Hogan, Dolly Parton, Ashley Jensen, Ozzy Osbourne

Synopsis: Garden gnomes Gnomeo (voice of McAvoy) and Juliet (voice of Blunt) have as many obstacles to overcome as their quasi namesakes when they are caught up in a feud between neighbors. But with plastic pink flamingos and lawnmower races in the mix, can this young couple find lasting happiness?

Based off the famous love story, "Romeo & Juliet", by William Shakespeare like you've never seen it before.

The Hangover II

Hangover 2

Release Date: May 26, 2011

Director: Todd Phillips

Writer(s): Scot Armstrong, Craig Mazin, Todd Phillips

Cast: Zach Galifianakis, Liam Neeson, Jamie Chung, Bradley Cooper, Ken Jeong, Ed Helms, Juliette Lewis, Todd Phillips, Paul Giamatti, Mike Tyson, Justin Bartha

Synopsis: The gang of friends reunite and travel to Thailand and once again must deal with the consequences of a wild night they cannot remember.

Oh great, looks like this franchise seems to be turning into another one trick pony like those damn, "Weekend at Bernie's" movies.

The Lincoln Lawyer

Release DateMarch 18, 2011

Director:  Brad Furman

Writer(s):  Michael Connelly, John Romano

CastMatthew McConaughey, Marisa Tomei, Ryan Phillipe, John Leguizamo, William H. Macy

Synopsis:   

L.A. criminal defense attorney Mickey Haller signs on to defend slick, suave playboy real estate agent Louis Roulet. Roulet has been charged with assault, and his overbearing mother will do anything to clear the son's name. Cost is no issue - Mickey has his first high-paying client in years. Digging into the case, Mickey and P.I. Raul Levin reveal a blacker picture of Roulet's personality and evidence of a sinister past. Another sudden death and new links to a notorious double-homicide, make Mickey question if he's finally in over his head. His pursuit becomes a question of morality and a even a question of his own mortality.

The lawyer has spent all his professional life afraid that he wouldn't recognize innocence if it stood right in front of him. What he should have been on the watch for was evil, evil as pure as a flame.

The setting here is the lawyers mobile "office" (back seat of a Lincoln towncar) involving actual events and locations in L.A. This story emerged and grew after author Connelly once met a real-life "back seat" lawyer.

The Thing

The Thing

Release DateApril 29, 2011

Director:  Matthijs van Heijningen Jr.

Writer(s):  John W. Campbell Jr., Ronald D. Moore, Eric Heisserer

CastMary Elizabeth Winstead, Eric Christian Olsen, Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje

Synopsis:  At an Antarctica research site, the discovery of an alien craft leads to a confrontation between graduate student Kate Lloyd and scientist Dr. Sander Halvorson. While Dr. Halvorson keeps to his research, Kate partners with Sam Carter, a helicopter pilot, to pursue the alien life form.


War Horse

Release DateDecember 28, 2011

Director:  Stephen Spielberg

Writer(s):  Lee Hall, Richard Curtis, Michael Morpurgo

CastBenedict Cumberbatch, David Thewlis, Emily Watson, Tom Hiddleston, David Kross

Synopsis:  Follows a young man named Albert and his horse, Joey, and how their bond is broken when Joey is sold to the cavalry and sent to the trenches of World War One. Despite being too young to enlist, Albert heads to France to save his friend.

Transformers: Dark of the Moon

Transformers: Dark of the Moon

Release DateJuly 1, 2011

Director:  Michael Bay

Writer(s):  Ehren Kruger

CastShia LaBeouf, Rosie Hunting-Whiteley, Tyrese Gibson, Hugo Weaving, Josh Duhamel, John Malkovich, Ken Jeong, Patrick Dempsey, John Turturro, Frank Welker, James Avery, Peter Cullen

Synopsis:  A darker more introspective journey into the Transformers universe and their origins on Cybertron. There is also preview footage of the possibility of Unicron, the planet eater, in this sequel.


Final Destination 5

Release DateAugust 26, 2011

Director:  Steven Quale

Writer(s):  Eric Heisserer, Gary Dauberman, Jeffrey Reddick

Cast:  Emma Bell, Tony Todd, Nicholas D'Agosto, David Koechner

Synopsis

In this fifth installment, Death is just as omnipresent as ever, and is unleashed after one man's premonition saves a group of coworkers from a terrifying suspension bridge collapse. But this group of unsuspecting souls was never supposed to survive, and, in a terrifying race against time, the ill-fated group frantically tries to discover a way to escape Death's sinister agenda.

Fast Five

Fast Five

Release Date: June 10, 2011

Director:  Justin Lin

Writer(s):  Chris Morgan

Cast Paul Walker, Vin Diesel, Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson, Jordana Brewster, Tyrese Gibson, Elsa Pataky

Synopsis: Because Hollywood knows folks can't get enough of fast cars, hot girls, kick a** action scenes, and hardly any story at all, it seems we have another "Fast and Furious" movie.  Although briefly called "Fast Five" aka "Fast and the Furious 5."  Seriously, just pick a freaking name.  Sheesh.  Anyways, for those wanting to know about the story, then please read the paragraph below.

Former cop Brian O'Conner partners with ex-con Dom Toretto on the opposite side of the law. Since Brian and Mia Toretto broke Dom out of custody, they've blown across many borders to elude authorities. Now backed into a corner in Rio de Janeiro, they must pull one last job in order to gain their freedom. As they assemble their elite team of top racers, the unlikely allies know their only shot of getting out for good means confronting the corrupt businessman who wants them dead. But he's not the only one on their tail. Hard-nosed federal agent Luke Hobbs never misses his target. When he is assigned to track down Dom and Brian, he and his strike team launch an all-out assault to capture them. But as his men tear through Brazil, Hobbs learns he can't separate the good guys from the bad. Now, he must rely on his instincts to corner his prey... before someone else runs them down first.

The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret of the Unicorn

Release Date: December 28, 2011

Director: Stephen Spielberg

Writer(s): Steven Moffat, Edgar Wright, Joe Cornish, Herge

Cast: Jamie Bell, Andy Serkis, Daniel Craig, Simon Pegg, Cary Elwes, Nick Frost, Toby Jones

Synopsis: Tintin and his friends discover directions to a sunken ship commanded by Capt. Haddock's ancestor and go off on a treasure hunt.

The movie is expected to be in stop motion animation, while incorporating 3-D cinematography.

Although I wouldn't normally say this during the previews, but this looks to be one of the best animated movies of next year, hands down. Seriously, if the story is even half as good as the visuals appear to be thus far, during production, then all I can say is...best animated film of 2011. That's all I'm going to say about this.

Mission: Impossible-Ghost Protocol

Release DateDecember 16, 2011

Director:  Brad Bird

Writer(s):  J.J. Abrams, Josh Appelbaum, Tom Cruise, Andre Nemec

CastTom Cruise, Jeremy Renner, Simon Pegg, Ving Rhames, Paula Patton

Synopsis:  Tom Cruise returns to his Ethan Hunt character popularized by the previous three installments with this fourth entry produced by J.J. Abrams. Josh Appelbaum and André Nemec provide the script for the Paramount production.

Paul

Release DateMarch 18, 2011

Director:  Greg Mottola

Writer(s):  Simon Pegg, Nick Frost

Cast Seth Rogen, Sigourney Weaver, Simon Pegg, Jason Bateman, Jane Lynch, Kristen Wiig, Nick Frost, David Koechner, Jeffrey Tambor

Synopsis:  Simon Pegg and Nick Frost (Hot Fuzz, Shaun of the Dead) reunite for the comedy adventure Paul as two sci-fi geeks whose pilgrimage takes them to America's UFO heartland. While there, they accidentally meet an alien who brings them on an insane road trip that alters their universe forever. For the past 60 years, an alien named Paul (voiced by Seth Rogen) has been hanging out at a top-secret military base. For reasons unknown, the space-traveling smart ass decides to escape the compound and hop on the first vehicle out of town-a rented RV containing Earthlings Graeme Willy (Pegg) and Clive Gollings (Frost). Chased by federal agents and the fanatical father of a young woman that they accidentally kidnap, Graeme and Clive hatch a fumbling escape plan to return Paul to his mother ship. And as two nerds struggle to help, one little green man might just take his fellow outcasts from misfits to intergalactic heroes...


Priest

Priest

Release Date: May 13, 2011

Director: Scott Charles Stewart

Writer(s): Cory Goodman, Min-Woo Hyung

Cast: Paul Bettany, Cam Gigandet, Maggie Q, Karl Urban, Lily Collins, Christopher Plummer

Synopsis:  Another film that was expected to come out last year, but it was delayed.  Originally, it was posted that this film would come out in place of the last "Resident Evil" movie, but it looks like Hollywood had a change in heart and decided to save this one for next year instead.  Gee, aren't we so lucky?  Anyways, the story reads as follows in the paragraph below.

PRIEST, a post-apocalyptic sci-fi thriller, is set in an alternate world -- one ravaged by centuries of war between man and vampires. The story revolves around a legendary Warrior Priest from the last Vampire War who now lives in obscurity among the other downtrodden human inhabitants in walled-in dystopian cities ruled by the Church. When his niece is abducted by a murderous pack of vampires, Priest breaks his sacred vows to venture out on a quest to find her before they turn her into one of them. He is joined on his crusade by his niece's boyfriend, a trigger-fingered young wasteland sheriff, and a former Warrior Priestess who possesses otherworldly fighting skills.

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

Release DateDecember 21, 2011

Director:  David Fincher

Writer(s):  Steven Zaillian, Stieg Larsson

CastDaniel Craig, Rooney Mara, Stellan Skarsgard, Christopher Plummer, Robin Wright

Synopsis:  In a remake of the original Swedish version, next year marks the year of remakes here folks, and it looks like "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo" is certainly no exception. 

A journalist-turned-detective and his female associate get tangled up in the underworld when he is hired to write the saga of a powerful family.

The Three Musketeers in 3-D

Release DateOctober 14, 2011

Director:  Paul W.S. Anderson

Writer(s):  Andrew Davies, Alexandre Dumas pere, Alex Litvak

CastLogan Lerman, Matthew Macfadyen, Ray Stevenson, Orlando Bloom, Milla Jovovich, Christoph Waltz

Synopsis:  The hot-headed young D'Artagnan along with three former legendary but now down on their luck Musketeers must unite and defeat a beautiful double agent and her villainous employer from seizing the French throne and engulfing Europe in war.

Prom

Release DateApril 29, 2011

Director: Joe Nussbaum

Writer(s): Katie Wech

Cast: Aimee Teegarden, Nicholas Braun, Danielle Campbell

Synopsis:  A group of teenagers get ready for their high school prom.

Hugo Cabret

Release DateDecember 9, 2011

Director:  Martin Scorsese

Writer(s):  John Logan, Brian Selznick

CastChloe Moretz, Jude Law, Richard Griffiths, Ben Kingsley, Christopher Lee, Sacha Baron Cohen, Emily Mortimer, Asa Butterfield

Synopsis:  "The Invention of Hugo Cabret" concerns a 12-year-old orphan who lives in the walls of a Paris train station in 1930 and a mystery involving the boy, his late father and a robot.

Sucker Punch

Release DateMarch 25, 2011

Director:  Zack Snyder

Writer(s):  Zack Snyder, Steve Shibuya

CastEmily Browning, Vanessa Hudgens, Abbie Cornish, Jena Malone, Jamie Chung, Carla Gugino, Jon Hamm

Synopsis:  About a little girl who is trying to hide from the pain caused by her evil stepfather and lobotomy. She ends up in a mental institution and while there she starts to imagine an alternative reality. She plans to escape from that imaginary world but to do that she needs to steal five objects before she is caught by a vile man. The story is set in the 1950's.

Piranha 3DD

Release Date: August 2011

Director: John Gulager

Writer(s): Patrick Melton, Marcus Dunstan

Cast: Neil Hopkins, Aubrey O'Day

Synopsis: More hot naked girls making out and acting crazy, while killer piranhas bite their freaking heads off. For those of you who wonder if this is a sequel to "Piranha 3D", from earlier this year, then you'd be right to guess that, as that's exactly what this film is. Oh joy! Another 3-D horror movie that I'm sure many B-movie fanatics can sink their teeth into. No pun intended.


The Change-Up

Release Date: August 5, 2011

Director: David Dobkin

Writer(s): Jon Lucas, Scott Moore

Cast: Jason Bateman, Ryan Reynolds, Olivia Wilde, Leslie Mann

Synopsis: A comedy in which a married guy switches bodies with his best friend in order to woo his co-worker.

Oh great, another comedy about people switching bodies. Won't that be a lot of fun?

Friends With Benefits

Release Date: July 22, 2011

Director: Will Gluck

Writer(s): Will Gluck, Keith Merryman, David A. Newman

Cast: Mila Kunis, Justin Timberlake, Patricia Clarkson, Emma Stone, Woody Harrelson, Jenna Elfman, Richard Jenkins

Synopsis: A young female headhunter in New York convinces a potential recruit to accept a job in the Big Apple. Despite an attraction to each other, both realize they're everything they've been running from in a relationship and decide to see what happens if they leave emotion out of it and keep it strictly physical.

The Roommate

The Roommate

Release DateFebruary 4, 2011

Director:  Christian E. Christiansen

Writer(s):  Sonny Mallhi

CastMinka Kelly, Leighton Meester, Cam Gigandet, Billy Zane, Alyson Michalka, Katerina Graham

Synopsis:  College student Sara finds her safety jeopardized after she's assigned to a dorm room with a new roommate, Rebecca, who turns out to be a dangerous serial killing psycho path.  Gee, and here some of us are b****ing about how our roommates sometimes drink milk out of a carton or leave the toilet seats up.  I guess we should all be grateful that we don't have some knife weilding psycho for a roommate; no matter how lusciously hot she looks. 

More by this Author


Comments 20 comments

poptropica master 5 years ago

amazing


Stevennix2001 profile image

Stevennix2001 5 years ago Author

Thanks poptropica master. glad you liked the hub


Docmo profile image

Docmo 5 years ago from UK

Amazing hubs on 2011 film previews - I was planning to do a preview hub and I am glad I searched to see if someone has already done it.. so here I am and done so well too. Brilliant. I don't think I'll bother now as you have done a comprehensive coverage. voted up!


Stevennix2001 profile image

Stevennix2001 5 years ago Author

Thanks Docmo. I appreciate you saying that. I'm glad you enjoyed reading my preview hubs. However, you don't have to not do a preview one of your own if you still want to. Besides, I know there's a lot of other hubbers out there that have done some preview hubs on movies besides me. Anyways, thanks so much for stopping by. :)


The Taco Tagger profile image

The Taco Tagger 5 years ago

wow, that's a rather extensive list! I really only planned on seeing maybe three of the movies on your list, but the ones I have seen this year are Season of the Witch (boo), The Mechanic, The Rite, and The Eagle. I recommend the last three. Season of the Witch... ouch.


Stevennix2001 profile image

Stevennix2001 5 years ago Author

I appreciate the suggestions, as I'll be sure to keep them in mind. Unfortunately, I still have to watch biutiful and true grit before I can take on any other movie. not that i would call that a bad thing, as i really do want to see those. however, i got to try get them reviewed before I can finish my Oscar Prediction hubs. Oh well, I'm sure I can get it all done before the oscars. Or at least, I hope so anyways. lol.

Anyways, thank you stopping by. By the way, I think your right about "Season of the Witch", as I thought movie was way over rated if ask me.


The Taco Tagger profile image

The Taco Tagger 5 years ago

Most definitely! I thought True Grit was well done. It was much much better than the original.


Stevennix2001 profile image

Stevennix2001 5 years ago Author

Better than the original?!? Wow, I hardly ever hear those words too often. Plus, it's hard to imagine anyone out staging the Duke himself. lol. Now, I definitely have to see both versions now. Thanks for the tip. :)


The Taco Tagger profile image

The Taco Tagger 5 years ago

I liked it much better than the original. I know it's almost blasphemous but the character were so much more interesting in the newer movie.


Stevennix2001 profile image

Stevennix2001 5 years ago Author

Okay, after watching the original and remake, I have to say that I agree with you. the remake does seem a lot better than the original. although i will say watching matt damon recite the line, "i was tempted to steal a kiss from you. although you are rather young, and unattractive to boot." Yeah, i didn't mind that line in the original because the actors in that scene seemed like they were close in terms of ages. whereas the remake where you can tell there's a big age difference, it kind of felt creepy if you ask me. lol. anyways, all joking aside, i thought both versions were great but like you, i think the remake not only offered a more interesting take on the story, it was also a lot more deeper in terms of the characters too.


The Taco Tagger profile image

The Taco Tagger 5 years ago

honestly, I agree with you that the line sounds creepy, but if you look at that line in the context of the time period, it's actually not too bad. If that girl is fourteen, well she's almost marrying age, so in reality it was actually a line that was in context of the time period. However, that being said I will say that you are right in the original characters looked closer together in age. Matt Damon's mustache made him look like a Chester in that scene, which I think is another reason why I think it was odd.


Stevennix2001 profile image

Stevennix2001 5 years ago Author

Yeah, I don't disagree. Your right about the context of the time period itself; which would make that line appropriate for the scene. I was just bringing that up because i thought it was kind of weird when i first saw it, and kind of funny too; to be quite honest. I know, I have a warped sense of humor sometimes, but who doesn't?

So do you think that True Grit will win the best picture category this year? Or will it be some other film?


The Taco Tagger profile image

The Taco Tagger 5 years ago

Honestly, I don't pay attention to all of that, but to me it was my favorite picture of the year. It had everything I like in a movie: Good characters, story, development, action, and Barry Pepper.


Stevennix2001 profile image

Stevennix2001 5 years ago Author

lol. Well said. I actually do like following the awards because of the mystique of it. sure, there's a lot of nominations and winners that i often find myself disagreeing with the academy on, as i could literally do a hub series on all the people and films ever snubbed by them. however, i just like watching it mainly for the historical factor in films so to speak.

Yeah, "True Grit" was a great film though. Although I still say that my top 3 would have to be "Inception", "Shutter Island" and "Social Network." Have you seen any of those?


The Taco Tagger profile image

The Taco Tagger 5 years ago

I have not seen any of them, unfortunately, for a few reasons: 1. Inception is on my Netflix queue and I haven't gotten to it yet although I really want to see it, 2. Shutter Island was ruined for me because someone told me the ending, but I may watch it anyway, 3. Social Network I won't see because I don't like or use Facebook. I don't hate Facebook, I just don't dig social networking so it doesn't interest me all that much.


Stevennix2001 profile image

Stevennix2001 5 years ago Author

That's too bad. You should definitely see Inception as soon as possible, as it's a great film. Although I should tell you, it's one of those movies you may have to watch twice in order to understand it completely. However, it's a very good film. It's a shame you already know the ending to Shutter Island though, as it's one of those movies where it's a lot better if you don't know how it ends. However, if your into psychological thrillers like that, then you should probably see "Black Swan." that's a very good film.


The Taco Tagger profile image

The Taco Tagger 5 years ago

I'll have to check them out then! Thanks!


Stevennix2001 profile image

Stevennix2001 5 years ago Author

Your welcome anytime


Nickalooch profile image

Nickalooch 5 years ago from Columbia, MD

well done with the picture to go along with the change-up. well done lol


Stevennix2001 profile image

Stevennix2001 5 years ago Author

lol. thanks. I thought so too. lol.

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working