Forsyte Saga ~ Review ~

Source
Source

Forsyte Saga

Marriage, Affairs, Divorce and Family Feuds are ongoing relational issues within all cultures and segments of life…

The Forsyte saga is a brilliantly, superb, melodramatic, English Victorian romance polygon. Over the last few weeks I along with my husband have thoroughly enjoyed watching this fabulous series by John Galsworthy. The Forsyte’s are a family that has all the entanglements of a modern day dysfunctional family. All the entrapments that are hidden away under a veneer of wealth that masks a multiplicity of issues. However, quite obvious to the ravenously love starved, privileged yet bored family whose subsequent generations come from humble beginnings. Therefore they are considered to be “New Money” and are terribly obsessed with money and respectability!

The Main cast of Characters consists of: Soames (Damian Lewis), Irene (Gina McKee), June (Gillian Kearney), Joylon (Rupert Graves), Annette (Beatrice Batarda).

Jon (Lee Williams), Fleur (Emma Griffin Malins) Old Joylon (Corin Redgrave) and Philip (Loan Gufford). Soames the prominent character is known as “a Man of Property.” They are all rather quite dazzling and cohesively radiate personal appeal that draws you into the intense storyline.

Presented by Masterpiece Theater the film takes place during the 1900’s amidst tranquil estates, theater, banqueting, flourishing gardens and rolling landscapes! There were three novels published between 1906 and 1921. This was a very popular production among American college campuses during the Roaring Twenties!

The film is a poignant heart rendering display of the various lifestyles and personalities that intertwine and interact with the upper middle class British Forsyte Family. Soames and Joylon his cousin are constantly at odds.

Soames is an arrogant, egotistical, obnoxious and possessive wealthy man who falls head over heels for Irene. Irene is impoverished yet she still rejects his marriage proposal. Irene is pressured by her stepmother. She under duress relents and agrees to marry Soames if he promises to let her go if the marriage does work. Terribly smitten Soames agrees to her conditions.

The family has a host of feuding that persistently goes on seemingly forever. Soames and Irene marry and have a very distant marriage and share separate bedrooms. Irene is strong yet seemingly delicate; she is a tad stand offish woman who has no desire to be close to her husband. Emotionally starved an unable to love Soames, Irene begins to fall for a suitor of her dear friend June that interrupts their close friendship. The emotions are intensely strong throughout. Soames sees Irene as his possession therefore he insists upon his rights as a husband…

Irene eventually flees with only the clothes on her back and retreats to an isolated life where she teaches music. Soames later discovers her whereabouts and continues in pursuit and the mêlée continues…

What is so interesting is how tremendously evident divorce at this time is considered shockingly scandalous…

The collection of feuds dispersed within the family continues onto subsequent generations. However when they have children who disastrously fall in love; The turmoil and drama is endless. There are many twists and turns throughout to stimulate your interest which I will not share therefore you can enjoy it firsthand if desired! There is a compendium of interesting scenarios during the duration of this wonderful drama.

Accompanied with excellent acting and subdued yet personable characters you are given an up front and personal view into human behaviors that have been prevalent from the onset of time. It helps you evaluate the importance of love, trust, commitment and intimacy in marriage and the consequences when they are nonexistent! Loneliness and misery can cause one to respond impulsively, uncontrollably and recklessly. Suspense and drama throughout until it ends with …

Many memorable relational lessons to learn from here! The Forsyte Saga showcases Victorian customs, character flaws, factitious conceit, revenge, exposes raw behavior and the innate need for love, sympathy, compassion and forgiveness. The importance of not having the perception that you can “own or possess” another person is distinguishably tantamount, as well as money in itself cannot make you happy… Life is PRECIOUS! Truly the most valuable asset we have is LOVE! I highly recommend this seminal thought provoking Masterpiece marvel!

Forsyte Saga

More by this Author


Comments 20 comments

RevLady profile image

RevLady 6 years ago from Lantana, Florida

Sounds like an interesting movie DeBorrah.

Thank you for the review and highlighting the critical aspects that relate to our humanity and the challenges of family and marital life.

God bless you!

Forever His,


Marliza Gunter profile image

Marliza Gunter 6 years ago from South Africa

lol...this looks like an over view look on my life..will have to find that movie and watch it...lol..now I know why the Lord takes me into a music direction and teaching..hehe..wow..yes..thanks for this info...many blessings to you... :)


no body profile image

no body 6 years ago from Rochester, New York

DeBbie, you are such a chick! (I say with a laugh and a smile) I guess this is your counseling weight-lifting session. I think it was an exercise to strengthen your counseling muscles. An exercise in what was wrong with all that fictional family and just how dysfunctional they were. You must have had a blast looking and seeing something of all of us in them. I have to ask though, did you drag your hubby to the chick flick drama or did he say hon, "I know you rather watch the horror movie on Chiller, but can we watch this victorian melodrama?" In all honesty my wife drags me and then I proceed to enjoy everything she makes me watch. I tell her so too, but it never fails when she says that is what I want to see, I say with a whine, "But honey, do we have to?!!!" Love you sister, the movie looks dumb which means she'll probably want to watch it and I would probably like it.


fred allen profile image

fred allen 6 years ago from Myrtle Beach SC

What no body said! ;-D


DeBorrah K. Ogans profile image

DeBorrah K. Ogans 6 years ago Author

RevLady, Yes! We thoroughly enjoyed this! Saundra, I think you may enjoy this series too?

The actors really portrayed the characters well! I feel it is very important that we experience or view life on many different levels; this helps to give us an even deeper spiritual perspective… Much insight captured into human behavior that is indicative throughout all humanity in this film series..

Thank you as always for taking the time to share! Your presence and comments are always welcomed! God Bless you as well!


DeBorrah K. Ogans profile image

DeBorrah K. Ogans 6 years ago Author

Marliza, You really must! It is highly recommended! It is quite lengthy so it took us a few weeks to take time to get through the series, but it is well worth it! Please do come back and let me know what you think! The acting is superb!

Be encouraged! Music is great therapy! Take care! I think this film will really give you additional ingsight... God Bless YOU!

Thank you for sharing, I look forward to hearing from you... In HIS Love, Joy, Peace & Blessings!


DeBorrah K. Ogans profile image

DeBorrah K. Ogans 6 years ago Author

Nobody, I really understand… Although I am usually quite serious I know how to balance it out. Afterall I must practice the very things that I talk about…. I believe it is important to keep a weekly date with your spouse making it a point that the marriage is a priority is key… So we enjoy selecting good movies!

I really enjoy the Victorian period films… I was raised amongst many brothers and it was impressed on me to be ladylike, but to be real…. I enjoy the landscapes and the costuming but most of all the characters…. You are so right; It of course is quite natural of me to look at the personality dynamics so yes I am in a semi counseling observation mode too. Oh Well, there is always room for improvement right?

I must admit I am not big at all on horrors or sheer violence. Suspense, drama, comedy, futuristic,space, great story lines I’m open… If you decide to check it out let me know… What I liked most was…. Hmmm, I won’t spoil it for you! Thank you for stopping by until later take care...


bayoulady profile image

bayoulady 6 years ago from Northern Louisiana,USA

I love masterpiece theater. Don't think I have seen this one, though the title sounds so familiar, as does the plot. Nice job of introducing the series!


DeBorrah K. Ogans profile image

DeBorrah K. Ogans 6 years ago Author

Fred Allen, Thank You! I think you will enjoy this, let me know? God Bless You!


DeBorrah K. Ogans profile image

DeBorrah K. Ogans 6 years ago Author

Bayoulady, They really have classic quality films. It really is first rate. Let me know if you decide to watch it? Your honest opinion is welcomed! Thank you for stopping by. Peace & Blessings!


Lady_E profile image

Lady_E 6 years ago from London, UK

Thanks for the review of this Interesting Movie. I'm glad you and Hubby enjoyed it. I've added it to my "to see" list. Have a great weekend.

Ps. Guess what? We have the Pope visiting London. He's here up to Sunday 19 Sept. It is an inspiring visit to Thousands. Best Wishes. :)


stars439 profile image

stars439 6 years ago from Louisiana, The Magnolia and Pelican State.

Dear Mr.s Deborrah : Very nice film. If I ever catch sight of it I will watch it. You really write a great review. I feel as though I have seen the movie after the way you described it. What a shame some very well off rich folks are not so happy because of their complicated life style needs. Sounds like it could be and educational film. God Bless you dear heart. Wonderful hub, and lovely photographs.


A M Werner profile image

A M Werner 6 years ago from West Allis

I've never actually seen this saga but there are many of these Victorian era melodramas in entertainment media. Actually, when I look at what Tyler Perry has been doing with his plays, I see him as having taken the same formula and applying it to this nation, especially African-American culture. There always seems to be underpining unspoken feuds and secrets in every family, every society, and being able to bring that out in an entertaining and creative fashion is almost always interesting. Peace


DeBorrah K. Ogans profile image

DeBorrah K. Ogans 6 years ago Author

LadyE, Let me know what you think once you see the film?

Have a splendid weekend! Our experience in London with traffic was quite interesting; I can only imagine with the Pope coming... As always it is a pleasure! Thank you for stopping by to share!

In HIS Love, Joy, Peace & Blessings!


DeBorrah K. Ogans profile image

DeBorrah K. Ogans 6 years ago Author

Stars, It really is a great film... It is very educational as well. There is much insight into human behavior. There are many stereotypes; I think this helps dispel the myth that money makes you happy.

Thank you for stoppping by to share, In HIS Love, Peace, Joy & Blessings


DeBorrah K. Ogans profile image

DeBorrah K. Ogans 6 years ago Author

A M Werner, In my opinion it is a really great film. I like Tyler Perry and believe he is a brilliant producer, director and…. There are many stereotypes that often continues to remain and persist to be associated with People of Color. I think it is great to see that behavior is colorless and good and bad happens within all social economic levels and all cultures... As you well stated; “There always seems to be underpining unspoken feuds and secrets in every family, every society, and being able to bring that out in an entertaining and creative fashion is almost always interesting." I so agree!

I believe when truly desired you can see beyond the color of anyone’s skin and see the void that will never be filled unless there is a relationship developed with our Creator, regardless as to how much you have or do not have…

There is much insight here into human nature... very akin to the behavior indicative of that when the Slave Master thought he "owned" the slaves... Let me know it you ever watch the series... Your opinion is welcomed!

Thank you for stopping by to share your insight, In His Love, Peace & Blessings!


James A Watkins profile image

James A Watkins 6 years ago from Chicago

I saw this series. That Soames is a piece of work. Your review is insightful. Well done!!


DeBorrah K. Ogans profile image

DeBorrah K. Ogans 6 years ago Author

James A Watkins, Soames was frightening I was not quite sure what he would do... It was good to see he had compassion when Fleur was born but that went to far as well...

Thank you for stopping by to share, In HIS Love, Peace & Blessings!


drpastorcarlotta profile image

drpastorcarlotta 5 years ago from BREAKOUT MINISTRIES, INC. KC

GREAT REVIEW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Hi DeBorrah, love you!!


DeBorrah K. Ogans profile image

DeBorrah K. Ogans 5 years ago Author

DR PastorCarlotta, THANK YOU! It truly is a Great Series! Much Love to you as well!!! PEACE & BLESSINGS!

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working