"Hugo" Review

Hugo Cabret/Asa Butterfield
Hugo Cabret/Asa Butterfield
Isabelle/Chloe Grace Moretz
Isabelle/Chloe Grace Moretz
Chief Inspector/Sacha Baron Cohen
Chief Inspector/Sacha Baron Cohen
Hugo and Isabelle with the Mysterious Automaton
Hugo and Isabelle with the Mysterious Automaton

Hugo, Martin Scorsese's Latest Movie

I jusr returned from Martin Scorsese's Hugo which is a magical little fairy tale movie which offers drama, humor, mystery, pathos, romance, and a bit of cinema history.. The sets and special effects are perfect. It's one of those rare movies that has universal appeal. I 'd be skeptical of anyone from 9 to 90 who didn't like the movie. The packed theater audience applauded at the end.

It's the tale of a young orphan boy named Hugo (Asa Butterfield) who lives by himself in the bowels of the huge Montparnasse train station. He feeds himself by stealing from food venders in the station. His father (Jude Law) was a clock maker who had looked after the many huge, old mechanical clocks in the station until he was killed in a tragic fire, leaving his son Hugo to tend the clocks. Hugo is befriended by Isabelle (Chloe Grace Moretz), a beautiful young girl whose elderly and unhappy uncle, Georges Melies, has a toy shop in the Montparnasse station. Melies actually was an early 1900s film maker and illusionist in Paris. (His Wiki bio is linked below.) Sacha Baron Cohen provides many belly laughs in his role as the Chief Inspector at the station in a comic version of Javert from Les Miserables relentlessly pursuing Hugo throughout the movie tryng to catch him and send him away to an orphanage.

Finally, the movie offers a small, special treat for Django Reinhardt fans--a Django Reinhardt look-alike playing his "gypsy jazz" in the Montparnasse train station.


Hugo received 11 Academy Award nominations including Best Director and Best Picture in 2011..

MPAA Rating

PG (for mild thematic material, some action/peril, and smoking)



Ben Kingsley and Asa Butterfield
Ben Kingsley and Asa Butterfield

"Hugo" Trailer

More by this Author


Comments 14 comments

barranca profile image

barranca 4 years ago

Hi Ralph, Good review. I liked it also. It made me think about the artistic uses of technology. We usually just think about gizmos for their economic value. But gizmos also help in the creation of beauty. It gets my vote as the best movie I've seen this year.


Ralph Deeds profile image

Ralph Deeds 4 years ago Author

Thanks, Bro.


Jeff May profile image

Jeff May 4 years ago from St. Louis

Thanks Ralph. I was skeptical for no good reason, but now I will see it. Jeff.


robie2 profile image

robie2 4 years ago from Central New Jersey

I think this is a definite "must see" for me


Ralph Deeds profile image

Ralph Deeds 4 years ago Author

Thanks Jeff and Robie. I'm sure you'll like it. I saw "Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close" tonight and didn't like it nearly as well as "Hugo." It was a downer and dragged on too long.


kimberlyslyrics 4 years ago

Thanks Ralph

awesome review

voted up


Ralph Deeds profile image

Ralph Deeds 4 years ago Author

Thanks, K. It was an awesome movie. I only write reviews on movies I like, and I liked this one a lot.


suzettenaples profile image

suzettenaples 4 years ago from Taos, NM

Ralph: Yours is also a good review. I like all the links you provide of other reviews and about the movie. I hope to see this movie this week. I love Scorcese movies and I am trilled he has made a children's movie that adults can enjoy, too.


Ralph Deeds profile image

Ralph Deeds 4 years ago Author

Thanks. You'll like it.


FullOfLoveSites profile image

FullOfLoveSites 4 years ago from United States

Thanks...fantastic review...!!!


Stevennix2001 profile image

Stevennix2001 4 years ago

Pretty good review Ralph, as I couldn't agree with you more. I think this was definitely one of the better films of last year, as it's one of those rare fantasy family films that doesn't try to talk down to it's audience, but rather focuses on telling a beautiful character driven story. Anyway, keep up the good work as always.


Madurai profile image

Madurai 4 years ago from Online

Congrats for this movie..bagged 11 awards...


Larry Wall 4 years ago

Ralph:

I saw the movie a few months ago and agree with you completely. It was an excellent movie that managed to tie in a bit of historical fiction with a fantasy story.

Hard to find good movies these days.

Hope you saw "The Artist", it is impossible to give an informative review without revealing the ending, but it is one of the best movies I have seen in a long time.


Ralph Deeds profile image

Ralph Deeds 4 years ago Author

Larry, thanks for your comment. I did see "The Artist" and I agree with your opinion. (I did a Hub Review on it. I only bother to do reviews on movies that I like.)

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages Network account.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your articles or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    working